We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Phare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Phare Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Phare Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,216 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed because they advertised parking, and had reasonable reviews. It was a horrible experience. The toilet ran all night, and when the manager came upstairs to see, he told me to just live with it. There was no parking, not even for a motorcycle. The people were not nice at all.

I awoke the next morning covered in bug bites and went to an emergency room to treat whatever had touched my skin the night before.

I left and found another hotel. It was a vacation to remember!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, or, maybe request a room without bedbugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    147
    83
    39
    29
See reviews for
27
169
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is well located, there is a super side, outside subway station, walk to the Eiffel Tower, the rooms are super small like the hotel,i recomended for i stay in there thank you very much..................

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Perfectly located - you can see the Eiffel tower twinkle from your room at night. The website says its 2-star but i'd rate it at 3.5 :)

Very compact - don't book if your claustrophobic - the luggage lift is tiny. but we found it to be quaint, beautiful and full of old-world Paris charm.
I strongly reccommend - the price when I travelled was very good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the eifell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel does offer a great rate and it is located close to the metro and must see sights. However, the decor is dated and the rooms cramped. I found it noise too but more from the paper thin walls and creaking floors. The staff was helpful though. Bring ear plugs just in case.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location especially for a solo travelling female. Rooms are what you'd expect in terms of size for Paris. Clean hotel right next to a Metro station & Eiffel Tower. Breakfast isn't very good value though so the only recommendation i have is go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed in Paris many time, usually in the Rue Cler area but we booked late and the hotel we usually use was full. We chose the Royal Phare because Rick Steves recommends it and because its location is the best for a stay in Paris. Rick recommends it as one of the least expensive hotels in the best location in Paris. He is right on. The location is perfect. There is a metro stop right outside the front door and, depending how much you like to walk, many of the sites in Paris are within walking distance. The Eiffel Tower is an easy 10 min. stroll, as is Les Invalides (Napolean's Tomb and beautiful gardens), the Seine and the Bateaux Mouche boat cruises are about the same distance, as is the RER train stop (direct link to Versaille). We also walked to the Musee D'Orsay, the Louvre, and the Left Bank to do a walking tour all within about 20 min. walk. The breakfasts at the hotel are typical (7.5 Euros) of most hotels. If you want more than one coffee and a croissant it is a better deal than the local cafes, if not, try the bakeshops and cafes. This ares also has MANY fine restaurants within five minutes walk.

As to the hotel itself, the rooms are small and plain. There is an elevator (holds two people or one person and luggage) and it is very slow. If you don't like stairs this is not the place for you. We booked two rooms and we did not find any uncleanliness in either room. We also found the people at the front desk to be pleasant and helpful. This is probably not a hotel that we will use in Paris next time simply because we are willing to pay a little more for more comfortable surroundings. However, the location is excellent and we did not feel cheated. We simply paid less and got what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for an upper room away from the street. They are quiet and have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Apparently "phare" is French for "dump." The threadbare carpeting hasn't been changed since the German occupation. The locale is nice, but dozens of other hotels in the vicinity make this a place of last resort. A better option is to find a clean, modern hotel a little farther out. Ten minutes on the Metro puts you on the doorstep of far superior accommodations at a comparable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#1,307 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber Mars
Hotel Eber Mars
#564 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,099 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Malar
Hotel Malar
#1,416 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Amelie
Hotel Amelie
#944 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Derby Eiffel Hotel
#988 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phare Hotel

Address: 40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,216 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Phare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Phare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phare Paris
Hotel Royal Phare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Phare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.