We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Phare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Phare Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Phare Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,247 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It feels like Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Perfectly located - you can see the Eiffel tower twinkle from your room at night. The website says its 2-star but i'd rate it at 3.5 :)

Very compact - don't book if your claustrophobic - the luggage lift is tiny. but we found it to be quaint, beautiful and full of old-world Paris charm.
I strongly reccommend - the price when I travelled was very good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the eifell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel does offer a great rate and it is located close to the metro and must see sights. However, the decor is dated and the rooms cramped. I found it noise too but more from the paper thin walls and creaking floors. The staff was helpful though. Bring ear plugs just in case.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location especially for a solo travelling female. Rooms are what you'd expect in terms of size for Paris. Clean hotel right next to a Metro station & Eiffel Tower. Breakfast isn't very good value though so the only recommendation i have is go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed in Paris many time, usually in the Rue Cler area but we booked late and the hotel we usually use was full. We chose the Royal Phare because Rick Steves recommends it and because its location is the best for a stay in Paris. Rick recommends it as one of the least expensive hotels in the best location in Paris. He is right on. The location is perfect. There is a metro stop right outside the front door and, depending how much you like to walk, many of the sites in Paris are within walking distance. The Eiffel Tower is an easy 10 min. stroll, as is Les Invalides (Napolean's Tomb and beautiful gardens), the Seine and the Bateaux Mouche boat cruises are about the same distance, as is the RER train stop (direct link to Versaille). We also walked to the Musee D'Orsay, the Louvre, and the Left Bank to do a walking tour all within about 20 min. walk. The breakfasts at the hotel are typical (7.5 Euros) of most hotels. If you want more than one coffee and a croissant it is a better deal than the local cafes, if not, try the bakeshops and cafes. This ares also has MANY fine restaurants within five minutes walk.

As to the hotel itself, the rooms are small and plain. There is an elevator (holds two people or one person and luggage) and it is very slow. If you don't like stairs this is not the place for you. We booked two rooms and we did not find any uncleanliness in either room. We also found the people at the front desk to be pleasant and helpful. This is probably not a hotel that we will use in Paris next time simply because we are willing to pay a little more for more comfortable surroundings. However, the location is excellent and we did not feel cheated. We simply paid less and got what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for an upper room away from the street. They are quiet and have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Apparently "phare" is French for "dump." The threadbare carpeting hasn't been changed since the German occupation. The locale is nice, but dozens of other hotels in the vicinity make this a place of last resort. A better option is to find a clean, modern hotel a little farther out. Ten minutes on the Metro puts you on the doorstep of far superior accommodations at a comparable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudadalurBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Phare for just one evening in March, 2012. We stayed at a Marriott for 4 days but wanted to be close to the Metro for an early morning flight home so I booked 1 night here. We stayed here 3 years ago and agree the location was excellent. Rick Steeves lists this hotel in his guide book and we chose it to be close to the Eiffel Tower, transportation, shopping etc. We didn't expect much more than basic accommodations, which is what we got. Tight shower & elevator but at least it was clean. That was Sept. 2009, this time we were afraid to remove our shoes or sit on the bedspread! We wanted to be sure not to miss our flight so we requested a wake up call upon check-in and again before going up for the night. NO WAKE-UP CALL!! My inner clock was the only thing working and as we scrambled out the door and to the Metro, we saw the hotel clerk just arriving! There are ALOT of other hotels in a 1/2 mile radius of this place for the same price so if you plan a couple months in advance, you should have no problem getting a reservation elsewhere. They say you aren't in Paris to stay in your hotel but you will have to at least sleep in your room and just the look of the place could keep you awake! Only good thing I can report about this place is the internet service and the staff helping me sign on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redcavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel Royal Phare on Ave. de la Motte Picquet:
1. Good location with Metro Stop in front of it and near Eiffel Tower
2. Awfully old room
3. Awfully moldy bathroom with black mold in the grout ( and they charge extra for a bath too)
4. Paper-thin walls so I could hear the American lady in the next room go on and on complaining about Viber
5. You hear drunks and breaking bottles from the street
6. The worst thing about this hotel is the surly and rude manager/ receptionist who insisted on charging me for two rooms (when I requested to switch so I checked out and moved) and was just rude and short-tempered and generally unfit to manning the reception. Beware of him... He is there during the day!

Do not book this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadget_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber Mars
Hotel Eber Mars
#513 of 1,809 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#1,349 of 1,809 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Motte Picquet
Hotel Motte Picquet
#109 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#61 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#50 of 1,809 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phare Hotel

Address: 40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,247 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Phare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Phare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phare Paris
Hotel Royal Phare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing