We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location especially for a solo travelling female” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Phare Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Phare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Royal Phare Hotel
40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #979 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location especially for a solo travelling female”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location especially for a solo travelling female. Rooms are what you'd expect in terms of size for Paris. Clean hotel right next to a Metro station & Eiffel Tower. Breakfast isn't very good value though so the only recommendation i have is go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    132
    69
    35
    22
See reviews for
17
116
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed in Paris many time, usually in the Rue Cler area but we booked late and the hotel we usually use was full. We chose the Royal Phare because Rick Steves recommends it and because its location is the best for a stay in Paris. Rick recommends it as one of the least expensive hotels in the best location in Paris. He is right on. The location is perfect. There is a metro stop right outside the front door and, depending how much you like to walk, many of the sites in Paris are within walking distance. The Eiffel Tower is an easy 10 min. stroll, as is Les Invalides (Napolean's Tomb and beautiful gardens), the Seine and the Bateaux Mouche boat cruises are about the same distance, as is the RER train stop (direct link to Versaille). We also walked to the Musee D'Orsay, the Louvre, and the Left Bank to do a walking tour all within about 20 min. walk. The breakfasts at the hotel are typical (7.5 Euros) of most hotels. If you want more than one coffee and a croissant it is a better deal than the local cafes, if not, try the bakeshops and cafes. This ares also has MANY fine restaurants within five minutes walk.

As to the hotel itself, the rooms are small and plain. There is an elevator (holds two people or one person and luggage) and it is very slow. If you don't like stairs this is not the place for you. We booked two rooms and we did not find any uncleanliness in either room. We also found the people at the front desk to be pleasant and helpful. This is probably not a hotel that we will use in Paris next time simply because we are willing to pay a little more for more comfortable surroundings. However, the location is excellent and we did not feel cheated. We simply paid less and got what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for an upper room away from the street. They are quiet and have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Apparently "phare" is French for "dump." The threadbare carpeting hasn't been changed since the German occupation. The locale is nice, but dozens of other hotels in the vicinity make this a place of last resort. A better option is to find a clean, modern hotel a little farther out. Ten minutes on the Metro puts you on the doorstep of far superior accommodations at a comparable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Phare for just one evening in March, 2012. We stayed at a Marriott for 4 days but wanted to be close to the Metro for an early morning flight home so I booked 1 night here. We stayed here 3 years ago and agree the location was excellent. Rick Steeves lists this hotel in his guide book and we chose it to be close to the Eiffel Tower, transportation, shopping etc. We didn't expect much more than basic accommodations, which is what we got. Tight shower & elevator but at least it was clean. That was Sept. 2009, this time we were afraid to remove our shoes or sit on the bedspread! We wanted to be sure not to miss our flight so we requested a wake up call upon check-in and again before going up for the night. NO WAKE-UP CALL!! My inner clock was the only thing working and as we scrambled out the door and to the Metro, we saw the hotel clerk just arriving! There are ALOT of other hotels in a 1/2 mile radius of this place for the same price so if you plan a couple months in advance, you should have no problem getting a reservation elsewhere. They say you aren't in Paris to stay in your hotel but you will have to at least sleep in your room and just the look of the place could keep you awake! Only good thing I can report about this place is the internet service and the staff helping me sign on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Royal Phare on Ave. de la Motte Picquet:
1. Good location with Metro Stop in front of it and near Eiffel Tower
2. Awfully old room
3. Awfully moldy bathroom with black mold in the grout ( and they charge extra for a bath too)
4. Paper-thin walls so I could hear the American lady in the next room go on and on complaining about Viber
5. You hear drunks and breaking bottles from the street
6. The worst thing about this hotel is the surly and rude manager/ receptionist who insisted on charging me for two rooms (when I requested to switch so I checked out and moved) and was just rude and short-tempered and generally unfit to manning the reception. Beware of him... He is there during the day!

Do not book this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZAGREB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

great location
bellow the average service
good for less demanding visitors

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I would give an excellant rating but refrained only because there may be a better one available out there in the price range. But I have no complaints. For the price we paid and the room we got (partial view of the Eiffel tower), the generous continental breakfast that was served for about 10 Euros and a great location, I am very happy with this hotel. When I go to Paris again, I will definitely stay here.
About the room - was surprised that the room and the bathroom were more spacious than I was expecting. The room window faced the Eiffel tower ( I don't exactly remember the room number but it was on the 6th floor. Make sure you tell the hotel you want a room facing the tower. I think the rooms across from ours face the street. There is a charge for Internet connection.
The buffet style continental breakfast served every morning included tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juice, milk, cereal, eggs, cold cuts, cheese and a variety of fresh rolls and bread. All this for about $10 Euros! Outside the hotel, you'd get a cup of espresso and a croissant or less for that price.
The hotel is above a pharmacy, a market and an ATM machine (very convenient). It is minutes from a subway station and Eiffel tower grounds.
The only negative thing about this hotel - the lift (elevator) is so small, you may have to make a few trips up and down just to get your luggage and yourself to the room. The winding stairs don't help either. Being on the 6th floor, walking up the stairs was quite a challenge for tired legs after my day trips but a great fat burner for my overstuffed belly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Phare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phare Hotel

Also Known As:
Royal Phare Paris
Hotel Royal Phare
Address: 40 avenue de la Motte Picquet, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Royal Phare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Phare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.