We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Motte Picquet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Motte Picquet to your Saves list
Hotel Motte Picquet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #60 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
QLD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Home in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I spent a lot of time searching for somewhere for our family of 5 to stay 4 nights in Paris - I selected Hotel Motte Picquet mostly on the reviews published here. I have to say it completely lived up to my high expectations. From the early enquiry email which was quickly answered, through our whole stay, we were very happy with our choice.... both the hotel itself and it's location. The hotel offered to arrange the airport transfers and it was well worth it, they were there waiting for us, it was so easy; and the shuttle had barely pulled into the street and Mo was at the door ready to help us with the luggage and offered to keep my young daughters stroller downstairs for us. We were there when there was some wild weather and found ourselves walking back with snow swirling around us; and when we arrived back at the hotel, wet, sniffly and bedrangled, Mo said .." well you're home now." He did show us what bus to catch if it should happen again! but we persisted in walking as much as possible to take in the sights. We wanted to walk as much as possible to see the sights - the Eiffel Tower, Avenue des Champs-Élysées, the Louvre - discovering the neighbourhood. The Rue Cler just round the corner is incredible and when we didn't dine out with our friends we bought the most delicious deli items from here as you could avail yourself of plates etc from the kitchen in the hotel. Some of the most well known pâtisserie are near here. There are numerous restaurants nearby ... two we went to in the area were welcoming of children and reasonably priced (for Paris!). My teenagers were very happy with their room, as were we in the duplex with our youngest. The rooms are pretty, quiet and clean. We all had the breakfast in the hotel each day as it was very convenient for us. We left the hotel for the airport when Europe was in chaos with all the snow, with our flight eventually cancelled. I needed to ring our next accommodation from the airport, but couldn't get through on the number given, in desperation I rang Mo, he was so helpful, and he quickly realised I needed to ring the international access code and gave that to me. We had a wonderful stay in Paris, reuniting with friends, but also because we had a wonderful place to stay. Thank you Mo and Hotel Motte Picquet for being part of our memorable trip to Paris!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very very much for this long and precise review. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you and your children liked your rooms, our hotel, the service offered from the hotel and the location with rue cler just around the corner. We hope that we can welcome you and your children back in our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    197
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
166
334
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

The hotel is small and relatively quiet with small, but very clean and comfortable rooms. The location is good for either walking or taking the metro. It was very easy to get just about anywhere. The highlight of the hotel was Mo in reception. From the moment we arrived, he was welcoming and helpful. His English is impeccable and his suggestions and directions were wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Motte Picquet for four nights in November. Tina and Mo lived up to all of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Mo helped us with various arrangements and advice. Tina worked diligently to get us a taxi on the morning we left despite several companies not showing up as promised. We were at Gare Montparnasse in plenty of time for our train.

The location in the Rue Cler area is ideal. We often returned from sightseeing in busier areas thankful that we were in more of a neighborhood area. Yet the metro is very close and the Eiffel Tower is not far. The many restaurants and good boulangeries and shops make the hotel a great base for touring.

We highly recommend the Hotel Motte Picquet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for this review. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked the location of our hotel and its charming neighbourhood. We are happy to hear that you arrived at the trainstation in plenty of time for your train and it would be great to welcome you back in our hotel one day. We wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2011, Best regards, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Tina and Mo make staying at la Motte Picquet like staying with good friends. They are gracious, helpful and truly friendly. Just what every front desk person should be and so often is not. The hotel is small, but charmingly decorated. There are some areas (the entrance) that could use a little refreshing, but there is so much good about this hotel (including very reasonable rates) that that is easy to overlook. The location is great -- near the Eiffel Tower and steps away from the Metro and Rue Cler with its interesting markets. Good restaurants nearby, as well as Invalides and the Rodin Museum. This was my second stay there and I will return.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for that kind review. It makes us very happy to hear that you felt like staying with friends, this is a big compliment for us and, of course, it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Paris. Best regards, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Great service, lovely rooms, good location. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this short but precise review. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay in our hotel and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back as our guests in the future. Best regards, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in early Dec. and had a great stay once we moved into a better room. Now -its Paris and the rooms are small and each extra sq. ft. of space is precious. I knew this before we booked BUT the room we had for the first 2 nights was miserably small-I think it was #301-next to the elevator. Leaky shower and no room for luggage or storage-- we put the suitcases in the bath tub at night so we could get in the bed.
Finally one of the nicer , larger rooms became available #304 and the next 4 nights were fine--maybe some slight street noise because it faced a busy road but tolerable. Just a shower but no leaks on floor. This is a 3* hotel but the receptionists - Moe and Tina make it a 5* experience. Perfect English and above all, they care about your stay. I thought they were co- owners but that is not the case. I hope the true owners appreciate these guys because they are ALL that separates the hotel from your typical mediocre Paris 3* stay in a GREAT location at a fair price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for leaving us this review. Thank you as well for this big compliment, we feel very honored. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't feel comfortable in the first room but the room size (bathroom and room) is exactly the same as your second room. The only difference is that the bathroom in the first room is bigger and the room itself a little bit smaller and in the second room it is the other way round, the bathroom is smaller but the room is a tiny bit bigger. We checked the shower in the room and couldn't find a leak but then we saw what you meant. We think you meant that the plastic front of the bathtub with shower sometimes moves because it is not fixed on the bathtub and that's why sometimes water comes out a little bit but unfortunately it is not possible to fix the plastic front on the bathtub because then it is not movable anymore and people which are a little bit bigger would have a hard time to get in the shower. We are also sorry to hear that you had to put your luggage in the bathtub, it is true that there is not much of storage room due to the size of the rooms in Paris but in each room you'll find a luggage rack for suitcases and also a little shelf for storage.
It is true what you said in your review, we care about your stay and that's why we will discuss everything you mentioned with the director and try to make improvements as soon as possible. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel on your next trip to Paris, Best regars, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We could not have asked for a better Hotel experience. Our room was perfect, not too bitg, just what we needed. The staff was very helpful and assisted us with our questions and suggestions for transportation. It was like we were guest in their home and their city and they were dellightful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Reception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for this kind review. We are very happy to read that we succeeded in making you feel at home in our hotel. It is also a pleasure to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and your room. We hope that you will come back to our hotel, your second home, one day. Kind regards, Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Motte Picquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.