We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Motte Picquet

Save Saved
You added Hotel Motte Picquet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Motte Picquet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A lovely boutique hotel in a fantastic location. There are lots of cafes and restaurants around it and it's just a short walk to the Eiffel Tower. Our room was small but so pretty and clean it wasn't a problem. Also had a lovely view. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. If I'm ever lucky enough to go to Paris again I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your brief but straight-to-the-point message that summup everything one could say about the Hotel de la Motte-Picquet ;)! We wish that you will have the luck and opportunity to fly again all the way from Beautiful New Zealand to Magical Paris. You know beside the restaurants and cafés, we are also surrounded by amazing bakeries and chocolate.....just saying :).
Take care,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    185
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
153
298
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

"Put the bed under the bed to make room in the room" was the quote from one of our soon to be 12 year old twins girls. It's small; hard to turn around in the shower and not a place you want to do anything in but sleep. But it's Paris right? From memory there is no lift either, so you're carrying your bags up the small stair well.

Staff are fantastic, location is superb and the price is right. The breakfast, while expensive, was possibly the best we ate in Paris - fresh bread and pastries that I couldn't stop eating! And it's next to Rue Cler, a tasty market street. You can also break fast on Rue Cler.

We walked to galleries every day. A stroll of 20 minutes gets you to the Sein and about the same to the Eiffel tower. There is a metro station you can hop on to 2 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guests,

First let us assure you that we were very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay among us, at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet. You came all the way froml New Zealand so it is very important for us tobe certain that we did our very best to make your travel the best possible ! It is funny how people often notice the great location of the Hotel (walking distance from Eiffel tower, by rue Cler and the metro stop) and the fantastic amount of wonderful places for gourmands around us : cafes, bakeries, restaurants, chocolate shops, cremeries, fresh market... We are glad you were delighted by the hotel breakfast, we try to offer the larger choice we can.
Best regards dear guests,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel Motte Picquet in Paris is a very small hotel located within a short walk to the Eiffel Tower and the Invalides and is convenient to a number of shops and restaurants. I have never stayed in a hotel where the entire staff is as friendly and helpful as at this hotel.
With this said the double room we had (room 205) was tiny and lacked storage space. There was no bureau of any kind and the "closet" was divided up so you couldn't even hang a sport coat in it. I have stayed in small rooms before but never one that used it limited space so poorly. A couple of suggestions, remove the desk that has little to no use and build in a bureau, the desk won't be missed and the bureau would be much appreciated. Add a small closet to the right of the bathroom door allowing one to hang up a sports jacket or a long dress.
In the bathroom add a soap dish in the shower as there is absolutely no place to put soap or shampoo. Add a coat hook on the back of the door so one can hang a robe. Build in an open shelves above the radiator and over the toilet so one has a reasonable spot to put a shaving kit. These suggestions may only work in room 205 as I would imagine each room is unique in size in shape. I don't want to be too harsh but seeing how little it would take to make an ideally located hotel, staffed by the best people you could possibly have working at a hotel, far more livable was frustrating.
I would definitely stay here again but would opt for the junior suite.

Room Tip: Opt for a junior suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to write this review. We thank you also for all your advices about the room 205 : we will definetedly take them in consideration to make it better. Certain points have already been changed since your visit. You are absolutely right with you about the sensational location of the Hotel de la Motte Picquet and you are absolutely kind about the helpful and friendly staff :)!
Anyway, we appreciate that you help us try to ameliorate ! Be sure we wait for your return with impatience,

Cordially,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a quaint little boutique hotel!! The rooms are small but comfy and the hotel staff are wonderful. The hotel is so close to the Eiffel Tower that we walked to it every day of our 5 day stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting inexpensive pleasant accommodation. Cafes' all around and the metro virtually next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your adorable review pointing out all the great advantages of a nice stay in the Hotel de la Motte Picquet : warm atmosfear, amazing location, good price and ..... our neighborhood of cafes, restaurants, delis, bakeries, chocolate shops (the best : Jean Paul Hevin, La maison du chocolat, Lenôtre, Jeff de Bruges). We wait for the opening of a new cheese shop, yummmmmy!
See you soon all the way from Australia !

Sincerely,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet for two nights on our stop in Paris. What a great location! It was very near the Eiffel Tower and also walking distance to the Louvre. Also, the Rue Cler is just around the corner, where you will find small restaurants, bars, shops and best of all ... bakeries!

The staff is excellent...Mo and Venessa were friendly and very helpful with regard to giving us directions and ideas of what to see and do. The room is small by American standards, but very typical European. We had two single beds which was all we needed.

We felt the price was very fair for the time of year and the type of hotel. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guests,
The whole staff of the Hotel de la Motte Picquet wants to thank you for your comment. We are happy to be part of your experience of Paris and understand your sweet memories of the bakeries ;) !!! Eiffel Tower, croissant, Louvre museum, pain au chocolat, versailles castle, brioche, Orsay museum, religieuse au chocolat !!! What a program !
We really hope to see you back soon ,

Sincerely,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rooms are very small. We are both thin and there was still a little maneuvering to get past each other. But that is the only quibble. The staff is helpful and friendly to the extreme. (One went to buy a big glass vase after I was sent a bouquet of roses for my birthday.) The neighborhood is great, although the metro line nearest is one that will almost always require you to change trains. It is not exactly cheap, but for Paris it seems reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guests,
First let me thank you for having taken the time to write this review. The Hotel de la Motte Picquet is , you're right, very luckily situated on a fantastic disctrict and just in front of a metro stop "Ecole Militaire" moreover, we are at walking distance from all the most beautiful places of Paris, above all, the Eiffel Tower!! We are very happy that you enjoyed a wonderful stay for your birthday and proud if we were of any help !

Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is excellent for the metro and just wandering to all the famous parts of the city. The owners and all their staff were utterly charming and went out their way to help and offer advice. The room was a very fair price given the going rate in Paris and we had an enjoyable stay start to finish. As expected in any city centre hotel the room was cosy but well fitted out and clean. The only issue was the tiny shower which made showering challenging but it didn't effect our stay to any significant degree.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind review ! It is great to read about your stay which seems great memories ! The Hotel de la Motte Picquet is indeed affordable for such an amazing location, with cosy but confortable bedrooms and bathrooms and a family-like ambiant !
We hope to see you back soon,

Cordially,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Paris
#89 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Motte Picquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.