We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Motte Picquet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Motte Picquet to your Saves list
Hotel Motte Picquet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews from Trip Advisor. We only had 1 night in Paris so it was important that the front desk have good reviews about helpfulness. We were not disappointed...staff was helpful, friendly, and gave great suggestions about dining and best times to visit Eiffel Tower. The Motte Picquet is ideally located on the corner of Ave. de la Motte-Picquet and Rue Cler. For a one night Parisian experience, this location is perfect! Rue Cler is a wonderful street with fruit and flower stands, cafes, cheese shops and bakeries. The hotel is within walking distance of the Eiffel Tower (which we climbed at night) and not far from the Champs Elysees. The rooms are clean and have nice big windows that open to the street. The family suite (we were in rm. 204) was perfect for a one night stay with our 3 children. Would definitely stay here again...hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear guests,

It is a pleasure to read your review this morning and guess that you spent great time in Paris! This one night in the Hotel de la Motte Picquet was definitely not enough and be certain you are more that welcome for your next journey from Massachussetts to France :-) , there are so many other beauties to see : the Louvre, the Opera, the museum of Orsay, the Pantheon, the Quai Branly, the Concorde.... So when do you come back ;-)?

Cordially,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    196
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
166
333
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a great little hotel. Hotel is very clean, great shower and the air conditioning works perfectly!!! The location is excellent but what sets the Hotel Motte Picquet apart from other hotels in which I have stayed is the front desk staff. They were so incredibly helpful and always with a smile. The only problem was the lack of storage for clothes in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear guests ,

Thank you for your nice review that motivates us to do even better! We love the idea that our job is to welcome people from every place in the world in this amazing city of Paris !! What a great job ! We do hope you will come back soon in the City Light !!

Sincerely,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was raised to say something positive before any shortcomings are mentioned. So, I'll start by saying simply that Mo's front desk welcome, ongoing effusive helpfulness and infectious smile would support the previous raves, but the justification for TripAdvisor's rating ends there.

We surely appreciated the arranged pick up service from De Gaulle, even if the driver was 20 minutes late. Mo unruffled the feathers with his unrivaled curbside welcome. Followed by a seamless check in and complete briefing on the excellent neighborhood and transportation options.

Turning to the property itself, we had opted for the "Junior Suite" based on the self-congratulatory description in the hotel's puffy website: "The Junior Suite has no comparison thanks to the luxury of its decoration. You will be charmed by your stay in the Junior Suite and its unreachable comfort." While the room was a tad larger than Paris' typical smallish room size, calling it a "Suite" is beyond a stretch. It is a single room, smaller than any in a Holiday Inn, and its only claim to anything approaching a suite is the addition of a trundle bed stuck on the long wall just in front of a very cramped bathroom.

While the decor is clean and even somewhat charming in spots, calling it "luxury decoration" takes hospitality hyperbole to a fine art.

The negatives were tired common hallway/stairs, hot and stuffy (in spite of cooler weather), which were very basic even when new. The maintenance is 1-star. Our bathroom faucet, a tall modern valve apparatus, was listing badly, and flopped around, loose on it's footing. When I looked under the simple vanity cabinet, it seemed to have been installed by a creative not-so handy man, anchored to a small switch-plate! The plastic shower valve was also less than robust in its functionality. It's hard to imagine that staff was unaware of these issues.

If my comments seem unduly critical, it stems from a sense of let down, given the price paid for the "junior suite" -- something approaching $300/night, based on its rating and pumped website.

Having read the many rave reviews herein, and been led to temptation in going the extra budget "mile" for the Suite (no breakfast included, by the way), I felt duty bound to my fellow travelers to temper their expectations.

It leaves me to wonder if the greatest talent of some member of Hotel Motte Picquet's staff, is not their prodigious and prolific review-writing skill.

Had Mo's personality and effusiveness not captured our hearts, we would have panned this otherwise over-priced uninspiring property. Thankfully, we booked only for one night.

Room Tip: Skip the "Junior Suite" unless it's a free upgrade. Our room was facing busy Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your constructive commentaries that will help us to be better. Be certain that your message had our full consideration and that we will do our best to fix what you mention. We sincerely hope that you will come back soon to the Hotel de la Motte Picquet where you are truly welcome.
Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I had a great time staying at the hotel motte picquet for 3 days last week. Perfect location, central to almost all the sights, lovely staff ever willing to lend the extra hand. The asian restaurant on Rue Cler was the icing on the cake for me, an avid lover of Chinese food. Thanks to Mo, even after checking out we could leave our luggage and do a final afternoon at the Eiffel tower before our flight. We would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guests,

You can be certain that it will be a great pleasure to welcome you soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet in Paris ! We are very satisfied to read that you had a great time in France !! You know we do have some other great addresses of Asian gastronomy ;-)!
thank you very much for your comment and your enthusiasm !

Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Paris and it is very much a little Parisien hotel room! It's very small and my husband could barely fit in the shower, but overall a nice place. I don't know if I'd stay there long term due to the size but it's very close to the Eiffel Tower and other great sights so that's a plus. The young lady concierge was helpful and nice to chat with, which is always a plus in another country!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for your message. We are delighted to read that you loved your stay among us at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet! The size of the bedroom in Paris and especially in the center of the Capital are often a surprise for our American guests ;) but it is a part of the charm of Paris. But you are right we are located in a perfect district : the more luxuous one due to all the monuments that surrounded us !

We hope to see you back soon at the Hotel de la Motte Picquet and have thousand of suggestions for your next visit to Paris!

Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon in Paris and were extremely happy with our hotel choice. The location is wonderful- close the metro, supermarket, bus lines, Eiffel Tower, and Rue Cler. The service from the front desk was tremendous as we had a lot of questions and services to ask- dinner reservations (almost a must!), cooking classes, how to navigate the metro, and coordinating transportation to Charles de Gaulle. All of the front desk staff spoke English and were able to help us with a few phrases and sayings to help us while in France too. We highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a cute, romantic stay in a wonderful part of Paris.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Rue Cler to enjoy the wonderful view of the market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your sweet review. It would have been a shame not to help a couple in honeymoon to have a magical journey in a romantic city like Paris. We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed the location and the restaurants. We are very lucky with both as we are situated in a district loaded with the most extraordinary gastronomie restaurants belonging to some of the best french Chefs and you had the fantastic idea to take cooking class. We know some for different budget and with different personalities. So next time you could try another ;-) !
We all wish you a lot of happiness !

Best regards,

Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent restaurants, markets and an easy stroll to the Eiffel Tower ever night - doesn't get much better than that!! There were 3 of us so we actually got two rooms. Our room was small, but nice and the bathroom was fine. We had some problems with the a/c - did not cool the room and not much on tv in the evening in english - but who was in the room enough to care about that!! We were out exploring our wonderful neighborhood.
Had good breakfast in the hotel - there were some cheaper places in the neighborhood, but they had some grumpy servers in the morning.
The morning staff at the hotel was fantastic - really helped us with our site seeing and planning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your comment. Apparently you had a great time in Paris :-)!
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel de la Motte-Picquet in the seventh district, by the rue cler with all the restaurants, bakeries, cheese and chocolate shops, fresh typical market with products from the whole France...
We are satisfied if you liked your rooms. About the breakfast, we know that we are surrounded by beautiful little gems of cafés serving great coffees and hot chocolate (yummy) but we propose too a breakfast with a very large variety of choice to be sure that our customers will have what they want : cereals, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juices, milk, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, cakes, fresh bread and bakeries (from a very good bakery ), ham, eggs...
Incredible, this message is just about food :-)!

ps: about the grumpy waiters, hopefully they are not all like that but we have to admit that it looks like it is a tradition in Paris...;-)!!!!

Take care,

Sincerely,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Motte Picquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.