We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Motte Picquet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Motte Picquet to your Saves list
Hotel Motte Picquet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #109 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Motte Picquet during our first trip to Paris. We stayed the weekend of 1 & 2 October, and returned the following weekend before traveling home. The hotel exceeded all of our expectations for location, service, and room quality. Located less than 10 steps from the beginning of the Rue Cler and a 10 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower, I can't imagine a better place to base a trip to Paris. The area around the hotel is clean and safe. You can walk anywhere you want without anyone noticing you. The Rue Cler is a microcosm of Parisian life - outdoor cafes, bread & cheese shops, pastry shops, flower shops, etc...My wife and I spent every night sitting at one of the outdoor cafes, having a drink, and people watching. The Eiffel Tower and the Rive Seine are an easy 10 minute walk. Paris is best experienced walking around. My wife and I walked from the Hotel Motte Picquet to Notre Dame Cathedral, the Latin Quarter, and the Louvre.

While the location is fantastic, what really made this hotel special for us was the level of personal service provided by Mo. I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in many of the top hotels. I have never experienced a hotel staff member who is as committed to making your stay perfect as Mo. On checking-in, Mo asked us if we had plans. We had some ideas, but nothing concrete. Mo pulled out a map, marked all the places to see, gave us a quick description, and told us when to go to avoid the crowds. Every day when we walked through reception, Mo asked if there was anything we needed. He enthusiastically answered every question, in perfect English, and never seemed bothered by any question. When we asked him for the best way to travel to Versailles, Mo told us to go to the RER C train, take the train to Versailles River Gauche, exit the station, and walk up the hill to the palace. He asked if we wanted to pre-purchase a ticket before we left to avoid the queue and beat the crowds. His exact instructions made the trip to Versailles as easy as could be.

As far as the rooms, expect small rooms that are typical for a 3-star French hotel. The rooms are clean and have a very strong wireless signal. The wireless is free. Just make sure you let Mo know you need a code on arrival. I strongly suggest you use the Shuttle Service from the airport. The shuttle cost 36 euros and is arranged by the hotel. Just email the hotel that you need to be picked up and they (Mo) will make the arrangements. When you email Mo, he will send you instructions on how to contact the Shuttle Service when you arrive.

Room Tip: Room 201 - right next to elevator, window without much of a view, bath with tub Room 304 - away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear guests,
What we love about our job is that it offers us the chance to meet extraordinary people from all around the world... We are not saying that because you wrote such a kind and sweet review but because you took a lot of your time to do so, to detail all that you enjoyed and experienced during your stay. It is always amazing for us.
We have to admit that we were specially moved reading your comment also because we remember you very well and were already happy to have met you. To know that we contribute in making your holidays good memories is more than a satisfaction, it is a pride.
We can't wait to see you again and share more about Paris (and also about Pennsylvania, USA ;-) ).

Thank you from all our heart,

Warmest regards,

Sincerely,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Staying in Paris is a joy in itself: but Mo and Tina made our visit exceptional! The rooms are small and cozy,clean, and well appointed. The mattresses could use a quilted topper for better comfort but generally ok.
The location next to the Rue Cler is ideal for joining in with the life style of the Paris citizens and great for eating, shopping and just enjoying the markets and neighbors.
Many questions were answered by Mo and Tina and always with a smile and pleasant response. We were able to store our bags at the hotel until our train to Venice. On a very hot day, while waiting for our airport shuttle, Mo offered us some chilled orange juice that hit the spot! This staff is exceptional in every way!

Room Tip: Check the comfort of the mattresses. Some better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupgnolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear guests,

We can tell by your review that you fell in love with Paris and the rue Cler. All the staff of the hotel de la Motte Picquet is proud and happy to participate in making your stay a wonderful memory. Thank you for your nice comment. Be sure we will welcome you next time with great happiness!!

When do you come back ;-)) ?!!!

Best regards,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CAlifornia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We could not have picked a better location for our first trip to Paris. Cafes, restaurants, buses and underground extremely convenient to this location. Room a tad small but what I have been told to expect for Europe - bathroom quite large. Mo at the front desk was extremely helpful with maps, directions, reservations and overall information. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Just across street from some of the best Chocolate in Paris !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnVwJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear guests,

You underlined all the things that make our location in central Paris exceptional : cafés, restaurants, convenient transportation and a place that not everybody had the luck to discover : the chocolate boutiques of Jean-Paul Hevin and also La Maison du Chocolat just across the street. For your next visit, try also the macarons and small pastries of Jean-Paul Hevin, they are beyond comparison!!!!

We all hope you will come back soon, we wait for you ...

Warm regards,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our first trip to France. We wanted a smaller hotel so we would experience some of the Parisian charm, and we wanted help with restaurants, getting around etc. I don't think Mo and Tina could have done anything more to make our stay remarkable. We purchase a duplex suite which did give us a little more room than most european rooms. It did not have a view, but that was not important to us. The room was very clean, and was maintained daily. The comforter on the bed was too warm for that time of year, so I asked for a blanket instead. When we came back to the room the bed was double sheeted with a blanket. The location was excellent; on the Rue Cler neighborhood and walking distance to the Eiffel Tower. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, using the cafes along the way to the sights, but acquired a pot of coffee in our room in the mornings. I look forward to going back to Paris and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear guests,

Reading your review today is a great satisfaction! We are glad that you looked for the pure typical Parisian charm and found it in our small but cosy hotel. We hope the City Light provided you with all its perfume of romance. We will transmit your review to the housekeeping staff that is doing a good job and tries to be efficient (the blanket change. Thank you for spending some time to write your impressions, it helps us in doing better.
Hope we will see you soon again,

Best regards to the two of you,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Its a very small hotel with less than 10 rooms I believe. The room was pretty small, the bed basically takes up about 80% of the room. However, it was comfortable, and the front staff were very friendly and helpful. The best part about this place is the location, it is around the corner from the eiffel tower, and right next to avenue rue cler and a lot of good restaurants. Also, the Ecole Militare station is a few steps away. Though a tad expensive than other places nearby, it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkfirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have been to Paris five times. Without doubt our best hotel. Mo is a first class hotellier who anticipates, askes great questions, incredibly tactful and is dedicated to the traveller.

If he changes hotels, we go with him.

Room Tip: The corner rooms facing Avenue Motte Piquet and Rue Cler terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandRMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear guests,

What can we say ? thank you, thank you so much and thank you again !! People like you give meaning to our work. We certainly are lucky to get the chance to meet wonderful people from all around the world, share with them and learn from them. We hope you will come back from Minneapolis a sixth time to be welcome like family among us. We are impatient to see you again.

Best regards dear guests and friends,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

After arriving with all our luggage and having to leave it and run to return our hire car, Mo at reception took our things and made us comfortable from the first second. Our luggage was in our room upon our return, our food placed in the fridge, our papers neatly put on the desk. Mo and almost all the other staff were absolutely lovey. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we were delighted with our stay there. One of the older staff members was a bit abrupt in his manner (but it may be a cultural thing rather than intentionally abrupt - he was not French by the way). Otherwise, flawless and seamless stay. Recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picquet, Responsable réception at Hotel Motte Picquet, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear guests,

what a pleasure to read reviews like yours, we feel happy and proud to have been useful in making your stay easier and full of good memories !!
Now that you came once, come again, you will be welcomed as family among us. We will do even better next time to make your stay in the magical city Light unforgettable for ever !

Warmest regards dear guests,

Tina and Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#64 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#52 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Valadon Colors
Hotel Valadon Colors
#192 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#129 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#27 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motte Picquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motte Picquet

Address: 30 av de la Motte Picquet | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motte Picquet 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Motte Picquet, a hotel of Charm, is a very well groomed and well renovated hotel, lying in a unique district: the 7th district, near the main business centres, a short walk from the Champ-de-Mars, the Eiffel Tower, the Trocadero, the Invalides and the Rodin Museum. It is an oasis of peace in the heart of Paris, with many transport opportunities which make it easily accessible. Its location is outstanding: at the corner of Rue Cler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Motte Picquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motte Picquet Hotel
Motte Picquet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing