We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation in a top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marignan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marignan to your Saves list
Hotel Marignan
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #403 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good accomodation in a top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marignan as our first stop of our European adventure based on recommendations from a friend. The first thing to be said about this accomodation is that it basic. That being said it is comfortable, clean, affordable and in a top spot and what more could you ask for in the very expensive city of Paris.

After getting very lost (for an hour and a half) coming off the metro we finally checked in to the Hotel Marignan. It is in the middle of the Latin Quarter (a tourist hotspot) but down a side street so you don't get the hustle and bustle or noise. The owner (I think his name was Pierre) was very helpful and friendly. One down side, which is pretty much the norm for Paris anyway, was that there was no evevator in the hotel and alot of stairs. You are informed off this upon booking so it is just a case of praying for room on one of the lower floors.

The location really can't be faulted. There were many attractions nearby that were close enough to walk to. Walking around the Latin Quarter was an adventure in itself. We did not feel ''únsafe'' at any stage. For attractions that were further away, the metro was an easy enough option to take.

Although this hotel is quite basic, the little extras provided made it all the while worth it staying at this hotel. There was free wifi, laundry and breakfast which sometimes feel like lttle luxuries when travelling. Upon first glance the breakfast appeared to be very basic. How we were wrong! Breakfast consisted of a baguette, cheese, chocolate spread and fruit in syrup. It was soo good I actually started waking up thinking about it and it was the perfect meal to keep you going for a day of exploring paris.

For our first few nights we stayed in a room that had a share bathroom and toilet in the hallway. There was nothing wrong with this, it can just sometimes be irritating when you have to go to the toilet in the middle of the night. We ended up wanting to stay at Hotel Marignan for an extra night which was easily arranged. The only room they had available was one with an ensuite (for a slightly higher cost). This new room felt much bigger and it was well worth the extra to have your own shower and toilet. Both rooms were very comfortable and although they did not have much of a view it was lovely to open the window and check out the everyday life going on below you.

Overall we would highly reccomend this hotel. Please don't anticipate that it is going to be some super fancy hotel because it definitely isn't. Although it is basic it ticks all the boxes in terms of location, price, comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I would probably recommend getting a room with an ensuite but it depends on people's needs and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    221
    56
    23
    19
See reviews for
164
105
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were recommended this Hotel by friends and weren't disappointed. Value for money you can't fault Hotel Marignan. Friendly, helpful staff. Situated in a great area close to shops, markets and metro stops. The rooms were clean, with great facillities like free laundry, free wifi and breakfast. We stayed 5 nights and will certainly recommended this lovely Hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: If quieter rooms are what you want make sure you ask when booking. We had the room by the entrance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and will certainly return. The service was first class. The hotel has been renovated and is fresh and modern. The breakfast menu included a good range of choices. The bar was relaxing and intimate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my 5th time @ the Marignan. It is a great little family-run, no-frills hotel situated in the most convenient position. It doesn't have a lift and the facilities are basic but it does have charm, atmosphere, firendliness, delicious continental breakfasts and helpful staff. It is only a few paces from the Place Maubert which has an awesome food market 3 times a week (as well as fabulous, permanent providores) and a Metro. It is in a quiet street near the junction of Boulevardes St Michel and St Germaine and is just below the Sorbonne and the Pantheon. I love this place....it is my 'home' away from home in Paris and I keep coming back......and not only to see my son's drawing of the Sydney Harbour Bridge which is still gracing the check-in desk since our very first stay in 1995!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite and on a lower floor if possible....especially if you have heavy bags to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This review is VERY overdue! My mother and I spent a delightful four days in Paris in July 2011 (the first trip there for both of us) en route to a trip to Tehran. Hotel Marignan was a wonderful base from which to explore Paris. The room was simple and clean, as were the shared bathrooms. We LOVED the breakfast (wonderful baguette!) that was prepared every morning. The staff were truly warm, funny and very hospitable. I would definitely stay here again, as this hotel offers excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Delightful, characterful budget hotel in the heart of the Latin quarter. A truly unbeatable location, in a quiet side street, but never more than a few minutes walk to Notre Dame, Metro and RER lines, and many restaurant options in the St Michel area. We had an ensuite family room, and while somewhat small, had all the essential amenities - comfortable beds, clean linen, plentiful towels and a perfectly adequate shower/bathroom.
Breakfast is basic, but the baguettes and coffee are fresh and tasty. It is usually the people that make the most impression, and the owner and staff at the Marignan could not be more relaxed, helpful or friendly.
No elevator, so the elderly or infirm may find the stairs a bit tricky. If you want luxury or a soulless hotel chain look elsewhere, but this was perfect for us. Hopefully we will be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For my weeklong trip to Paris, I could not have asked for a better hotel! These are a few reasons why I feel Hotel Marginan is the perfect hotel for any visitor to paris:
-5 minute walk from metro stop!
-quaint market about a block away filled with fresh breads, cheeses, and scarves galore!
-I don't speak a bit of French, but the hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating!
-free breakfast has delicious coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cheese, fruit, bread, jam, orange juice...and the lady who serves it is so pleasant!
-generously sized room for two people with a true double sized bed
-we opted to share a restroom/shower on our hall and it was always clean and we never had to wait to use either (shower is in a separate room from toilet)
-safe area
-free wifi! with a good connection
-staff is happy to make dinner recommendations and reservations for you
-quiet and great for much needed nights of sleep!

I hope you enjoy your trip to Paris, and I know Hotel Marignan is the perfect place to make your trip as wonderful as possible!

Room Tip: sharing a bathroom with others is not a big deal! Makes it cheaper and is always clean. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marignan

Address: 13, rue du Sommerard | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#277 Family Hotel in Paris
#458 Business Hotel in Paris
#511 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marignan 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marignan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marignan Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marignan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.