We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a horrible Place!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caulaincourt Square Hostel to your Saves list
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,153 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a horrible Place!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Apart from one english speaking guy behind the desk, all of the desk staff were arrogant and very unhelpful. They forget that the "F" word means the same in english as it does on french. The bathrooms were disgusting and the mould on the walls should pay the nightly fee as it seems it has taken residency! This was my first visit to Paris and this place certainly made me have a negative view on Paris and the french in general. Beware NZlders who are travelling to Paris, they have no tolerance to english speaking tourists.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    100
    70
    30
    20
See reviews for
15
54
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Very very noisy, plumbing designed to wake you up throughout the night if anyone uses the toilet, no air-conditioning at all so windows must be opened in order to breathe. Local very noisy bar open till early hours so prepare yourself for a minimum 3am potential head down unless you're a very very heavy sleeper.

No sound proofing and with the hostels target audience of backpackers, not renowned for their considerate nature, banging doors reverberate around the building also till the early hours.

Very small and very run down rooms, time and money has obviously been spent on the communal areas to the detriment of the bedrooms with their peeling wallpaper, grubby sheets, unwashed blankets, lighting not working and sporadic cleaning.

Stay at your peril!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in a room with 2 bunk beds (4 people) and bathroom ensuite. The bathroom was pretty nice, and the room was small but fine. Staff spoke good English when I couldn't figure out what I wanted to say in French and were pretty helpful although I really didn't need their help very much since I had already been in Paris for a while. The room could have been cleaner, but overall it wasn't gross or anything (and there was no evidence of anything like bedbugs that I ever saw). Breakfast was really good by Paris hostel standards-- cereal, croissants, bread, orange juice, hot drinks (good hot chocolate)-- and free for everyone who stays in their dorm rooms. Free internet was also nice, but there are only a few computers and some people seem to stay on them forever so it's hard to catch one open. The neighborhood is not the most exciting place in Paris but the metro is less than a five minute walk away. All in all, I had a fun time and met lots of cool people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

I have had good experiences in the past with clean, welcoming hostels but this was not the case in Caulaincourt Square. I booked a double, which turned out to be a twin, it was damp, paper peeling from the walls, horrible, horrible smell in the room and twice came out of the room to find some one had vomited in the corridor. if you want to book a smelly dorm bed for a cheap price and spend all your time in Paris drunk then this could be the place for you.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — rising damp
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Reasonable prices for a fantastic hostel based in a great location in Paris. Easy to find and easy to get to and from. Bathroom small but brand new and very clean. Double room was of a good size and we had clean sheets and towels everyday of our stay. Inclusive breakfast is pretty standard but worth trying. Free internet access is awesome and the reception staff are helpful.

  • Liked — Location, prices, cleanliness and free internet access
  • Disliked — The stressy guy on front desk
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

we stayed here for two nights and to be honest I could not wait to get away. There is no air con and it has been boiling in paris and whilst I dont mind being in a mixed dorm we were practically on top of one another and the heat was stifling. The breqkfast was terrible too. if you like stale bread then great.

One good thing is the f'ree internet access.

  • Liked — free internet access
  • Disliked — tiny rooms and no AC
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

This was an excellent hostile. They were very friendly and nice. The rooms weren't 5 star hotels but what did you expect from a hostile. It's a great place to sleep and meet new people in the lobby area. The bed were comfy and the bathroom was good. Only 25 euro per person and included a delicious big breakfast. All in all an amazing hostile.

  • Liked — It had a very home and welcoming feeling. No akwardness, it felt like home and they treated you that way too.
  • Disliked — It would of been nice if you could stay out later. I enjoyed partying and curfews aren't fun.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caulaincourt Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Address: 2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,153 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caulaincourt Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caulaincourt Square Hotel Paris
Caulaincourt Square Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caulaincourt Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.