We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night sleep, great location, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caulaincourt Square Hostel to your Saves list
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,164 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good night sleep, great location, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my time in this hostel, it is located in Montmartre very close to the Basilique du Sacre-Coeur and is walkable from Garde du Norde (around 25 mins, its only a little shorter if you take the metro and it is a nice walk especially when you get away from the slightly dodgy area of
Boulevard de Magenta). I had a female only dorm room for 6 people but luckily it was only the 4 of us, it would have been a bit too crowded for 6 people but for 4 it was pretty good. The view from the window was sensational with overlooking thr rooftops of Paris, this is exactly how tourists imagine Paris I think. The beds were ok and they do give you a blanket but if you do need more you can get more at reception along with towels for €1. The bathroom in the room is tiny with a toilet and a shower but it was a nice surprise as I was under the impression that the bathroom was shared with other rooms like in some other hostels so it was wonderful to have it in the room. Sometimes they run out of hot water in the evening so try to have a shower in the morning or early in the evening. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is pretty good, a small baguette, a croissant, butter, 3-4 kinds of preserves, coffee, selection of tea, orange juice and a selection of cereals. It is surpringly good quality but if you stay for a longer period you might want to try something else but there are a few nice bakeries and cafes nearby so you do not have to go far to get some proper nice brunch, lunch or dinner. The breakfast room transforms into a bar at night and is open until 2 apparently although I never tried. I highly reccommend this hotel, it is an honest place with some nice touches, a great option for a hostel stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    100
    70
    30
    20
See reviews for
15
54
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for Easter weekend. Cheap rooms on the top floor with excellent views. Had a 6 person dorm for 5 people, luckily no one else occupied the remaining bed. Room had a toilet and shower. 3 bunk beds with minimal squeaks. Breakfast of croissants, bread with spreads, hot drinks, juice and an assortment of cereals available but there is a very good bakery right outside if you want more options. Within walking distance of Montmarte attractions too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The place offers small rooms that are gokd enough overall, however they only give you one blanket, if you want two, bring one yourself! Breakfast is great, definitely much better then what you can have even in more expensive hotels. The place is silent at night, you are going to realize how many, from all around the world, slept here only in the morning at the metro bar for breakfast :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Right up the hill in Montmarte, very easy walk to the Sacre Coeur which has the most amazing views over Paris especially at night. Was lucky enough to get a room on one of the top floors at first and the view over the city was awesome, (although I did ask to get switched to another room as one of my fellow guests snored quite a bit, something one of the receptionists helped me out with). Everything else was decent but not that great of an atmosphere. Even though this was my first time travelling it seemed like everyone else here was also a novice backpacker too and it showed, so don't expect to meet a whole bunch of worldly and experienced travellers here at all. Some of the other guests were simply rude, I was extending my stay with the receptionist and some girl walked in with her friends and just smacked her credit card down on the desk, which got the immediate attention of the receptionist and I had to really fight to get it back !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I am writing this review write now as I sit in the hallway some ways down from my room. Although the people at the front desk are pleasant, the hostel offers a free breakfast that's more than adequate, a daily cleaning service and the rooms are clean enough, my major problem is with the wifi situation which I find unbearable.

Now I know that some may find this complaint silly, but I also know that there are those who travel like I do-- connected. I am not a person to roam streets aimlessly, wasting time. I don't plan in advance, so when I get to a city, the first item of business for me is to get a SIM, data access, bring up 'Gmaps' maps/ 'translate' and start searching for things I want to do see in the local language.

My data situation in Paris was not ideal, as the French are apparently weird about internet access. A kind SFR representative hacked the SFR network, allowing for an unpaid data connection, but I could use 'maps'; tethering, email and all the other stuff were just not possible without an extended commitment. This is why I NEEDED wifi in my room so that I could do research, figure out what I wanted to do, keep in touch with friends, etc, etc. Not possible in this hostel, unless you're either sitting in the hallway, in the lobby, or are lucky enough to have gotten a room that is close enough to their weak routers.

As a point of fact, when you first walk in you'll see a ton of people milling about on their devices; I almost tripped over a young girl sitting on the stairs leading down to my room, No of the poor poor souls can access the internet from their rooms. Just be warned, this could happen to you. Ask for a room with wifi access if it's important to you.

On the other hand, if none of this stuff matters to you, then welcome to an excellently situated and cheap hostel that should suit your needs nicely!

Room Tip: Ask about wifi access at the front desk, reserve the right to change rooms if you can't connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in May '12 for a few days. The place was clean and the staff helpful. Enjoyed the free breakfast and WiFi. The hostel is a pleasant few minutes walk from the metro and convenient to get to/from just about anywhere in Paris. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really good hostel with a great breakfast. The room could be cleaner, but it was not so bad. Every room has a shower, and the common toilets were very clean all the time. The decoration is also good and the location is good (has a metro station very close)

Seriously reccomend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caulaincourt Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Address: 2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,164 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caulaincourt Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caulaincourt Square Hotel Paris
Caulaincourt Square Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caulaincourt Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.