We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Slice of Paris in Montmartre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caulaincourt Square Hostel to your Saves list
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,167 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Sweet Slice of Paris in Montmartre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Belated review from my 1 week stay in Paris Aug 2010.

- Overall: Enjoyed my stay here, good value for money. Definitely not a hotel but excellent for a hostel. Very atmospherically French. Love the free breakfast! Free wifi.

- People: Generally quite lovely and helpful. Great place to meet different travellers every single day.
- Room: Asked for a 6 people room but got a 3 people room which was a bonus. Single beds, reasonably clean and comfortable. No cupboards however, so bring your own lock for your luggage. BEAUtiful view out the window, feels like Amelie.
- Bathroom: very small but does the job.
- Breakfast: was pleasantly surprised! Free and a great selection including croissants, cereals, milk and juice.
- Internet access: free internet, however, downside was no usb port to transfer my photos! Spent my first whole evening looking for an internet cafe as my camera was full :( Recommend to bring your own laptop to save the hassle.
Location: a little out of the way in Montmartre (20mins by metro from centre), but very pretty little place.

Room Tip: Free breakfast, free wifi! Bring your own laptop and lock. Higher rooms for the view, lower rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    100
    70
    30
    20
See reviews for
15
54
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I read reviews on tripadvisor before booking and thought this would be on ok choice. I was wrong. In 2008 there was a review about bedbugs, suffice to say they are still residing at the hostel. There are also no lockers and while there a roommates money was stolen. On top of getting bit by bedbugs and paranoid about my luggage being out all day, I was happy to leave. The breakfast is definately the best thing about the hostel. The location is decent, there are better hostels/hotels in better locations for the same price. The front desk staff could definately work on customer service. When the roommate reported the money stolen, they denied that it was stolen on their property and refused to contact local police. There is no air conditioning, so the window needs to stay open which has lots of noise outside, the beds are not stable, so not much fun when you have the top bed. Also, not the cleanest hostel I have been in. Not scary but not pleasant either. I don't think I will be back and I definately would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Located on a tree lined flight of steps, this hotel is situated in a quiet part of Montmartre. The atmosphere is laid back and I found the reception staff helpful and efficient. My room was good value, newly decorated and quiet. Most of the people staying there were young americans and australians and I'd particularly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants somewhere close to the arty cafes of Montmartre. It's fabulously located for evening strolls in one of the most beautiful parts of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Caulaincourt has a not-so-clean environment and the air in the hostel smelt stale cos there seemed no ventilation. And it is located far from city area. Ok for those who want to be in a more secluded place away from tourists. The receptionists were lousy and one of them was very rude towards a lady when she asked for some forks. The pantry area was pathetically small. The dorm for six was so small we had to squeeze around in the tiny room and not particularly clean, blanket full of hair. The shower door came off after a few sliding to and fro. Only the breakfast was good. Definitely not a preferred choice if there is elsewhere to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

I booked a private room with shower with my friend but there was no door to the shower/ bathroom which was a bit uncomfortable. The room itself was very, very small. There were hair in the bedding, dust and spiderwebs everywhere in the room. The next morning I heard other traveller complaining about BEDBUGS. They showed the receptionist the bites on their arms, but he wouldn't do anything about it. He just said "you'll have to contact the manager on Monday". I felt sorry for the girls. They are probably re-use the room tonight.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The hostel was really nice and clean and it offered a good breakfast but the recepcionist was awful!!! the one who is in the mornings...
He even gave us wrong directions and wasnt helpful at all. It made me a bad idea about french people. Please dont let anybody like him work in a costumer service area.
Apart from that, everything was great!!


Flor and Gaston from Argentina!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

being that this is my first hostel experience, I don't have much to compare it to/a good feel for the typical hostel.. but I really enjoyed my time at the Caulaincourt Square Hostel. First and very important- it's a great location, you can walk about 2-3 minutes to a metro station to get to other places in the city, and I felt safe walking (in a group) at night in this area. There's free wi-fi, and 6 computers to use. The dining area is very cute, and I was pleased with the free breakfast options (cereal, coffee, tea, bread, croissants, etc) The common area is pretty small, but I imagine like me, the intention of most travelers is not to stay put in the hostel all day. The rooms were decent (I stayed with a friend in a 4 person room), and the bathroom in our room was clean. Kind of frustrating that you can clearly hear noisy people outside the hostel but it's really not a big deal. Would have liked a locker to keep my valuables, but again, it wasn't an issue. Overall very good experience!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caulaincourt Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caulaincourt Square Hostel

Address: 2 Square Caulaincourt | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,167 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caulaincourt Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caulaincourt Square Hotel Paris
Caulaincourt Square Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caulaincourt Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.