We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always pop in, always get something.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare and Company Bookstore

Shakespeare and Company Bookstore
37 rue de la Bucherie | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)
33 1 43 25 40 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 637 Attractions in Paris
Type: Libraries, Specialty Shops, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous bookstore located across from Notre Dame features several floors of books and Paris literary history.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always pop in, always get something.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love this bookstore. The last three years i have been to paris I have tried to buy a book from them, and it seems they are always sold out of the one I am after, and i find something else instead. its becoming a tradition of not getting one thing and getting something else instead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    265
    66
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WestMids, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pefect bookshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love bookshops at the best of times, but when we went to Paris I had to seek this one out. It is world famous and has a charm all of its own. It always seems quite busy as it has a nice seating/courtyard area at the front allowing people to sit, rest, chat or whatever.

They sell both new and second hand books in English, you have to buy something - anything! You get your book stamped to say you purchased it from Shakespeare and Co - a nice touch I thought.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The place to meet your intellectual mate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Some people go to bars - some to clubs but if you like books and art here is the place to discuss life and meet like minded souls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“just as I remembered it 7 years ago...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Meant to return before now, we actually stumbled across it on our walks and we're pleasantly surprised... it hasn't changed a bit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Neat bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

There is so much to see and read, and they have books from 5 euros to 5000 euros!!! For a book!
The charm of the book store is beats it all and a must see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare and Company Bookstore also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare and Company Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare and Company Bookstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.