We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt to your Saves list
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue Clement Marot | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is really perfect, in the middle of the Parisian "Golden Triangle". But obviously, when I stayed there, the hotel had nothing more to provide.
The WiFi was not working in the hotel (I don't mind this when I am told about it, but I don't like to discover it by myself) and of course, no wired internet possible (for a business trip, this is quite uncomfortable). The AC was off as it is not summer and it was not possible to turn off the heater. There was no room service available and I received no information about the possible breakfast or available service.
One night was enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt.

We are deeply sorry for the wifi access problems you had during your stay. Please note that this unexpected problem has been solved within 48 hours.

Regarding air conditioning, we inform you that, for environmental reasons, our air conditioning did not provide hot and cold air at the same time.

Finally, we are surprised to read that our hotel has no room service because we provide a room service, 7/7 and from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm.

We put a lot of efforts in making each of our guest feel at home and not just “looked after”, so we are sincerely sorry to learn that you did not feel totally the sense of hospitality.

We all hope that you will give us a second chance and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next business trip in Paris.

Yours Sincerely,

Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    109
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
103
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lovely traditional boutique hotel with perfect location. Large rooms, very clean and well kept. Enormous bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Many excellent restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Would definitely stay again. Even had reasonable rate during Fashion Week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were very satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words for our staff are very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for us.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel in excellent location and very pleasant staff. Having booked a superior room I was a little
disappointed at the size (Room 52) although very clean and well appointed, I expected a room
a little larger as per the website photographs. It was more on the lines of a standard room, will have to check for a slightly larger room next time! The beds have quite a hard mattress but that is personal preference. Nice breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and luxurious for a great price. There were always staff members to help, greet and be available. Extremely clean and roomy for Paris standards. I would definitely stay again. A gem with nice places to eat across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your positive comment regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt.

Your satisfaction reflects our ambition to serve you, and all the points you mentioned are part of specific points of interest and priorities to make your stay memorable.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again for your next Parisian stay.

Warm regards,
Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The most helpful staff. Perfect location. Beautiful boutique hotel in french style can't wait to stay here again. Breakfast was superb with an excellent selection something for everyone

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt.

Your satisfaction reflects our ambition to serve you, and all the points you mentioned are part of specific points of interest and priorities to make your stay memorable.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again for your next Parisian stay.

Warm regards,
Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our Paris Shuttle driver informed us that this was an excellent location to stay in Paris, central to everything and a very safe area. We were not disappointed. The rooms were very well appointed and clean with gorgeous wrought iron balconies and potted red geraniums. The decor is typically French with dark timber, striped wallpaper and chandeliers. We had a good sized flat screen tv, room safe and fast free wifi. Our bathroom was internal but had good lighting and high quality toiletries, towels and robes. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was fresh with a good variety, both hot and cold and there is a nice private bar area downstairs to have a drink before heading out to one of the many restaurants nearby.

We loved how handy the hotel was to all the main Paris attractions. The Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Champs Elysees, Seine and Metro were all within easy walking distance. We enjoyed our 3 night stay here and would love to stay here again if we return to Paris.

The only complaint I had was that the bed, although of good quality, was extremely hard. Having back problems I would have preferred something a little softer.

Room Tip: We had a room fronting the street and it was quiet with a lovely view of the surrounding buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay amongst us.

We were truly delighted to read such a positive review.
Thank you for being such a wonderful ambassador through your generous comments.

Once again, thank you for sharing your findings, and allow me to take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Though there was some confusion over our rooms as to whether we wanted twin or double beds, the reception person sorted it out pretty quickly and we setlled in to what is a very comfortable hotel, well located with efficient, English speaking staff. I thought the room was pretty big by European standards and the bathroom great. It's a good looking hotel and I would certianly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt!
We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time and we are thrilled to hear that you appreciated our staff and our service.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We hope to see you again soon at the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt!
Warm regards,

Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt

Address: 18, rue Clement Marot | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#116 Business Hotel in Paris
#184 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#198 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Avenue des Champs Elysées and Avenue Montaigne, at the crossroad of business and fashion worlds, the Hotel Franklin Roosevelt, is happy to welcome you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The hotel Franklin Roosevelt, 48 rooms and suites, in the heart of the Golden Triangle, will charm you by its warm setting and refined atmosphere.This free-stone building dating back from the end of the 19th century, benefits from a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Franklin d Roosevelt
Franklin d Roosevelt Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.