We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Massena to your Saves list
Hotel Massena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, rue Tronchet, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #689 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean modern and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was recently renovated and has double thermal paned windows which block out noise (essential in Paris) if you are sensitive to street noise. The room I stayed in was small but well equipped and pleasantly decorated. My only complaint was the desk chair which was too low compared to the desk which did not make it too comfortable to work at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
38
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very convenient walking distance to all big name brands and Madeline metro station. However, one should be aware that the room is just enough for one big luggage only with 6 steps staircase before your get to an elevator. Hallway is very narrow. If you have little kids, this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am french guy living in Hong Kong since few years and during last food show SIAL in Paris 2012 , we decided with 3 other Chinese companies to rent our rooms for 1 week (big budget) . One day before we quit , when i arrived in my room i realized that the window was open and my computer disappeared so i went to the lobby to announce my surprise but nobody believed me ! The owner was there ( so i was wondering that she would play attention to me ) and finally she told me that it was impossible that somebody entered in my room and even i call the Police nobody will answer to me ! So,to finish i spent my afternoon in Police station and The scientific police came in my room night time to check it and discovered fingerprint in the windows and also be inform that the Video is fake as it is not working . I haven't been reimburse by their "insurance" because they said that no windows have been broken !!! Enjoy !AND MANY THANKS TO MME DELAPASSE ( the owner ) .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16Massena, Propriétaire at Hotel Massena, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Google Translation
proprietaire de l hotel depuis de nombreuses annees c est la premiere fois que nous avons ce genre de situation a gerer nous n avons jamis de vols dans l hotel par respect pour le client j ai moi meme telephoner à l assurance qui m a certifie qu elle dedommagerai ce client nommer la proprietaire sur un site international n est pas tres fair play chez nous nous faisons tout pour que chacun puisse profiter de son sejour en toute quietude caroline la receptionniste est au petit soin pour les clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Paris is a really expensive city and I was glad to have found this hotel near metro Madeleine. It's really convenient cos you can walk to all the shopping areas like Champs-Élysées, Rue du Faubourg St-Honoré and Galeries Lafayette. The rooms are a little small but I was fine with it -- it's Paris after all... The toilet was newly renovated so it was really clean, though it had a bit of paint or glue smell (not sure what smell that was but it wasn't that strong anyway). Apparently the hairdryer wasnt installed yet due to the renovation, which was a pity. There are still some renovation works going on cos the stairs were lined with plastic. Breakfast wasn't included though and it was 15€ (wasnt informed about this during check-in). Don't get it unless you need to leave the hotel early and can't find a boulangerie nearby. Overall, it was a good hotel and I'd come back again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

A nice quaint hotel. Rooms clean and nice bathroom. The location is spectacular. We were close to the Opera House where the Roissy bus which comes directly from the airport, droppped us. We walked to the hotel. We were in close walking distance to everything! Perfect!! WE did not do the breakfast as there is a bakery/breakfast place just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just stayed there for a couple of days in a tripple room. The room is small but newly renovated and a nice bathroom. The hotel is situated in the Opera area close to Madeleine Metro Station (lots of shops - rather expensive). The breakfast is okay - though you might have to wait for a table as there is only 6-7 tables. You can also have breakfast at the cafés nearby but the prices are quite high so the breakfast at the hotel is actually good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had a great experience staying at Hotel Massena and would highly recommend it! The facility is very clean and modern w/ fast free WiFi. I found the room size to be typical for Europe (not large, but spacious enough) and with a huge renovated bathroom. It is on a relatively quiet street so noise was not an issue at all during the day or at night. The Louvre, etc. is about a 15-20 min walk away or one stop on the metro. I loved being so close to the attractions, but then being able to retreat to the non-touristy and quiet area of the Hotel afterwards. A+

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massena

Address: 16, rue Tronchet, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massena 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Masséna benefits from a superb location right in the heart of Paris, between the famous Madeleine church, the renowned Printemps and Galéries Lafayette department stores and the truly magnificent Opéra Garnier, all a short walk away. Ideal for shopping or sightseeing, we are also near the finance district and have excellent public transport links to all parts of the French capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Massena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massena Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.