We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Always Have Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel SAINT-JACQUES to your Saves list
Hotel SAINT-JACQUES
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We'll Always Have Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Hotel St. Jacques is a wonderful hotel in the midst of the Quartier Latin in the 5th arrondisement--5 minutes from the Pantheon and the Musee Cluny and 10 minutes from Notre Dame. The neighborhood was fascinating! We would rank the hotel high in terms of value, ambience, and location (we look for reasonably priced places that are comfortable and centrally located; we don't go to cities to hang out in a hotel). The lobby and our room were very attractive and the breakfast room is a real treasure. The hotel staff were OUTSTANDING--friendly and helpful. The different people at the desk went out of their way to help us with a problem (not involving the hotel), to find a nearby place for a light supper, and in securing the most convenient shuttle to the airport. We would DEFINITELY stay here again and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    315
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
127
344
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Ideal location, steps to the Metro, Notre Dame, Seine. The staff was wonderful, spoke several languages, very accommodating. My husband was ill during our visit and the staff assisted us with obtaining medication, supplies and anything else we needed-we felt like we were at home! Would definately stay there again, and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

This was my second time staying at the Hotel St Jacques. It was still just as nice a hotel as it was the last time I stayed there but the price has gone up. They were having a “November promo” of 70€ x 3night = 210€ paid in advance but the normal price for a single is now 97€. If money is not an issue then definitely stay here. There are other hotels in the same area for a bit less money that are perfectly OK though. But if you want a "little" luxury this hotel has an ambiance the more budget options do not. Rooms are all ensuite very nice bathroom, TV with CNN, double bed, roomier than some European singles, lift goes to the 5th floor then walk one more flight for top floor. Tiny windows with not much view on top floor. The location is about as good as you can get – ten minutes to Place St Mich, Notre Dame, Ile st Louis.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town,South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

On arrival reception immediately knew that we had enquired at the time of booking about a possible early check in. Service and assistance were super friendly and efficient at all times.
Central location close to Metro and RER B train station so travelling to the Maison &Objet trade show was quick. Also close to Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens and Notre Dame, thus ideal for an early morning stroll or jog.
Room spacious and beautifully decorated for the rate that is charged.
Will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Quartier Latin, but very close to Notre Dame and Saint Germain. The decoration is very good, with its Belle Epoque style. Rooms confortable and clean. All the peple were very nice and proactive.
Just something better could be done for breakfast, which is good but could be a bit more. On this side maybe a buffet serving could make it perfect as the quality was anyway good ( I really appreciated the tea form Mariage Freres !). There is no restairant, but this isn't really an issue. A very cosy place for a relaxing week end or for a transit night for a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Given the cost of Paris in the low value pound era and freezing weather this hotel proved to be a good base and certainly is an ideal location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a slightly delayed review of the Hotel St. Jacques, stayed here in Sept. 2009. If I travel to Paris again, I would definitely return to St. Jacques. This hotel exceeded all of our expectations in charm and location. This was my first trip to Paris and I will be back!

In my opinion, this is really the place to be to feel all of the young energy from students at the nearby Sorbonne and excellent, affordable bistros and dinner spots all within walking distance of St. Jacques. Right down the street, we caught the Metro to shuttle us to all of the Parisian sights. What a treat it was to step out on our balcony and see Notre Dame down one street view, and then the gloriously lit Pantheon in the other direction. I would highly recommend reserving a room with the balcony, it just adds so much to the experience. Additionally, this hotel is quite close to the Rue Mouffetard, which is a quaint little street lined with shops. Also dined at Cafe Delmas and had gelato at Amorino on the square Place de la Contrescarpe.

My boyfriend and I were very pleased with our room, although it was on the smaller side (this is Europe after all). It had all of the charming Parisian touches that made it a great homebase after a day of sightseeing. We loved our balcony! We stayed in a corner standard room which was at the very top floor (ride the elevator up, and then walk up one more flight). Only downside of staying at the very top was that the roof starts to angle in throughout the bathroom. This room did not have a stand-up shower, tub and handheld head only. Only complaint there would be that while I was in the bath, the water would turn from ice cold to scalding hot in a second (no exaggeration). Had good pressure, nonetheless.

There are several boulangeries within walking distance on Rue des Ecoles, as well as a breakfast spot, where we ate every morning, right down the street on Rue des Carnes, on your way to the Maubert-Mutualite Metro stop. Some mentioned the antique market, which was very fun to browse. St. Jacques is also, very close to some affordable women's clothing & accessories shopping down Blvd Saint-Michel, to the west. I stopped at NafNaf & Promod.

We were very pleased with the friendly service we experienced at St. Jacques, given our limited French. We arranged an airport shuttle (which i would not recommend) and the front desk was very prompt in relaying the message of when they would be arriving to pick us up. They also helped us secure dinner reservations, which again was very appreciated.

Thank you, Hotel St. Jacques for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SAINT-JACQUES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#164 Business Hotel in Paris
#193 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#276 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SAINT-JACQUES 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel SAINT-JACQUES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SAINT-JACQUES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;