We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel SAINT-JACQUES to your Saves list
Hotel SAINT-JACQUES
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quaint, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We spent 5 nights in room #2 on the 2nd floor of the Hotel St. Jacques in late June/early July and had a pleasant stay. Room was of a decent size, had a very quaint decor and, more importantly, had an excellent working air conditioner which my always-too-warm husband appreciated. A/C was quiet, had a digital thermostat with high and low fan setting and individually controlled per room.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, all seemed to speak English well enough. They helped us to book a shuttle to take us to the airport.

Location was great. Close to metro station and lots of restaurants. Within walking distance to the Notre Dame, Pantheon and Luxembourg gardens. Groceries, ATM, and everything you need nearby.

The walls aren't very thick and we heard people in the adjoining rooms once (as they were loud) and a fair amount of noise in the morning (we're not early risers) from inside and outside the hotel but it wasn't a big problem for us.

We did have to pick up and drop of keys at the check-in desk in the lobby every time we came back and left the hotel. They always keep the keys to the room and this also wasn't a problem for us.

Our photos of this hotel are posted at http://travel.webshots.com/album/573356922nkPuFU

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    315
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
127
344
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

My wife and I spent five nights in room 26 on the fifth floor at Hotel St. Jacques June 26 - July 1 and had a wonderful time. The room is a Deluxe Double (189 Euros per night) with a nice queen size bed, a small closet, safe, a couple of desks and a small sitting area. The bathroom is small but has a large tub with hand held shower and new fixtures. One person at a time but very nice. My favorite part of the room was the balcony from which we could see Notre Dame to the right and the Pantheon to the left. Though the Hotel offers breakfast, we went to a different cafe every day, and there is no shortage within easy walking distance from the hotel. One block off of Avenue St. Germain and three blocks from the Seine at Notre Dame, the location can't be beat. Though the street can been noisy, the windows are pretty much sound proof so we slept well through the night. Air conditioning was a welcome bonus as the weather was hot a sunny for our entire stay. I would definitely (and already have) recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

A comfortable, charming, character hotel in a great central location. The room was tastefully decorated with a renovated bathrom and the shuttered balcony just completed the whole Paris feel. You are walking distance to everything including the train station which takes you to the airport. This is a real bonus! Staff were most hospitable. The only criticism was that the lovely breakfast room was in a cellar with an additional cost for breakfast which was highly overpriced and therefore not utilised. Consequently everyone just went across the road to the local cafe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Exactly what I wanted from an small intimate hotel that is perfectly located in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I am a senior who traveled alone and who loves the romanticism of Paris. I have been to Paris five time before and always stayed in beloved Montparnasse , either in a friend's apartment or in a small hotel. I was familiar with the area and chose carefully for my first stay outside Montparnasse. I was spot on. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The rooms are pleasant , quiet [my room faced the alley and not Rue d' Ecoles], was a good size for a single, and had plenty of hot water. The location is great. There is a wonderful old Parisian bar/restaurant around the corner, "Les Pipos" and the Mouffetard is is right past it. Within a few blocks of the hotel, in either direction, you have the beginning of Blvd. St Germain, Blvd. St. Michel, the divine "Luxembourg Gardens", gorgeous "St. Sulpice", near where you can eat magnificently in "Au Bon St. Pourcain". Montparnasse in all it's glory is a short walk through and past the Gardens. For those who have the need to ride the Metro there are a few stations very close to the hotel. There are cafes and other good restaurants all around the hotel and a nice little park on Rue d' Ecoles, across the street from the "Sorbonne." If you like old movies Rue d'Ecoles is the street of small retrospective movie theaters. The week I was there one theater had a Hitchcock retrospective, another Almodovar, and a third featured Sidney Lumet flicks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

My niece and I were in Paris for the first time, to celebrate her graduation from law school, so it was very important for our hotel to be a comfortable, convenient base. The St. Jacques certainly met the bill. And the staff were very helpful and very friendly. They met all our needs. Based on what I've seen online for the rates for other hotels, the St. Jacques is very good value and I'd be very happy to return. It's a charming, lovely place and I have no qualms at all in recommending it! (There isn't a restaurant, but they do serve breakfast and you can also use room service to get your breakfast.)

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We were upgraded for some reason and loved our spacious 4th floor room,much bigger than we expected and views to the street from two windows.Location is very ,very the best in Paris for transport access to Metro or CDG. Also great cafes and nightlife nearby,yet still quiet at night for sleeping. We paid 110E per night and this was good value with free inet access in room and good shower,and inroom safe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

On my recent trip to Paris (spent time living here too, so I'm familiar with the city), I stayed in 4 different hotels. The Saint Jacques was my favorite of the four. The neighborhood is perfect; a short walk down the hill to the nearest Metro; close to St. Michel and Notre Dame but just far enough away that you can escape the student and tourist traffic if you want to. A short walk up the hill to the Panthéon and the church of Saint Etienne du Mont, resting place of St Genevieve, patron saint of Paris!
The lobby of the hotel is lovely and very welcoming. Friendly staff and they even have a computer you can use to check your email. I paid 97 euros for a single on the second floor, room 37. A great price for a nice hotel in this area and I felt it was more than worth it. Similar hotels in this neighborhood can easily be twice as expensive and I was so pleased to get this kind of a hotel room and service for under 100 euros.
I loved my room although if they hadn't been sold-out I would've loved a room up high with a nice view. But no complaints as my room was breezy and quiet. The room was spacious (relative to similar hotel rooms in this price category), beautifully furnished, nice flat-screen tv, desk, plenty of room for suitcases. Everything was very clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was very nice! Shower was small, as was expected, but I loved the sliding doors and it was largest bathroom I'd experienced so I was thrilled. It was a pleasure to come home to this hotel room and I plan on staying here again when I return to Paris. The Saint Jacques is my new favorite hotel in Paris! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SAINT-JACQUES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#164 Business Hotel in Paris
#191 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#280 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SAINT-JACQUES 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel SAINT-JACQUES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SAINT-JACQUES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.