We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll know you're in Paris!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Jacques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Hotel Saint-Jacques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 1,773 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“You'll know you're in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you're staying in Paris for a short time, you need somewhere handy to the main sights and the Hotel St Jacques fits the bill. Unlike the uniformity of many hotels, the artistic decor will remind you that you're in this wonderful city. My room was small, as expected, but had all I needed, the staff were friendly and there was always someone at the desk. The lift is a bonus! Apart from the nearby famous landmarks, it's a short walk to the metro and on one morning I was pleased to discover a market. A special 'merci' to the room attendant and the staff for reuniting me with a scarf I'd left behind. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    345
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
147
374
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel was suggested by a friend. Booked in for 3 nights in Paris. Great location and charming room. Ideally placed for Notre Dame, Le Louvre, Metro & RER.
The staff are helpful and friendly. Reccommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked largely based on Tripadvisor recommendations, and on location. Having spent an idyllic week on Ile de St Louis just four weeks prior, the idea was to spend two final nights in Paris in a different area (the Latin Quarter) before returning home from our European holiday.
The pick-up arranged by the hotel got lost and I felt he was still lost when he pulled up at our hotel as the pictures led me to expect a more impressive street appearance. My disappointment continued as we were shown to a ground-floor, street-facing room. The room itself was a great size, as was the bathroom, but the impression was dim and drab as the windows were darkly shuttered to keep out street (two-way) view.
I'd booked three months prior and requested "a view, if possible". I pleaded for a more pleasant outlook but was told none was available and that we'd been given that room because I'd requested a room near the elevator due to my husband's bad back. All similar rooms are equal but - judging by the reviews - some must most definitely be more equal than others! On the positive side, there were no street noises at all to disturb our sleep on the comfortable bed.
Perhaps we were given such a room because there is no porter (!) although the concierge somewhat reluctantly carried our bags in for us. Not so on departure, when it was up to us (both over 70) to ask the driver to do the job.
We love staying in boutique hotels and don't expect grandeur, but this was a let-down.

Room Tip: Be very careful what you wish for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaintjacques, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir,
We take note of your comments about your stay in our hotel, and we are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate your stay with us. As well as we are sorry if you did'nt like our street appearance, which is the first time that someone do not like the street which is clean, safe and bright.
We apologize about the bad experience about the pick-up that we have organized with you in May. It never happens, but we cannot say "never". For sure, from now on we'll work with another company as we do not want this happens again.
Concerning the view, we never confirme to our guests that they will have the view requested or balcony,( or other request) for the simple reason that it is impossible to promise the requests as it is always "depending of availability" even if you book 3 months in advance. Our guests usually understand this. Sorry if we tried to keep you on the street side and not on the back where there is no view at all.
This is right that we do not have porter, may be because we are not a 5 stars hotel where you would pay for. In our hotel we never say "no" to a guest that need a little help.
We always do our best for our guests, and we are sorry if you do not find our hotel as you expected.
Regards,
Fabienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have just returned from an excellent stay in a triple room at Hotel St Jacques. We've stayed in Paris several times but never before in this area and we were delighted to find this small but very friendly hotel. The team were particularly kind to my daughter, who was visiting Paris specifically to speak French and so was tasked with checking us in and out, asking for anything we needed, getting a restaurant recommendation etc. Merci bien a tous! As a typical teenager, she also really appreciated the free WiFi....

We booked ahead and would strongly recommend doing this as the rate we paid was significantly below the high season rate advertised on arrival. Our room was certainly big enough for three, with crisp linens, efficient air conditioning and a very modern shower room with good quality toiletries. The bed was very firm indeed and the room overlooked the main road but we all slept very well so no complaints there.

We had breakfast out of the hotel (for practice speaking to different people) and found there were several good local cafes, restaurants and shops within 5 minutes' walk. Not French at all but either breakfast or a burger at Breakfast In America is definitely recommended!

The walk to St Michel/Cluny la Sorbonne Metro/RER took only 5 minutes and although Line B on the RER is not exactly a salubrious experience, it took only 2 stops to get us back to the Gare du Nord for the return Eurostar home. On other days we walked (15 minutes across the river to Ile de la Cite, 40 minutes across Paris to watch the 14th July fireworks from Montparnasse).

Hotel St Jacques proved to be a great base and we would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed with the family in early July and just loved it. Very central location with two Metro Stations in close walking distance. Room had absolutely everything you needed and windows were well soundproofed, very modern bathroom! What really stood out was the service we received, and it did not matter which staff-member we came across with. A special mention goes to all that manned the front desk during th dy and night - always smiling, friendly and more than ready to assist! Breakfast is something you should not miss, it has everything you need and of excellent quality.
Thank you for a lovely stay
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our stay at Hotel SAINT-JACQUES was truly perfect. It is a small hotel that is romantic and everything you imagine when you think of Paris. Good location, close to lots of cafes and we plan on returning to Hotel SAINT-JACQUES on our next Paris vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Saint Jacques two nights in July. It is in a very good location for all the things we wanted to do. The room and bathroom were a good size and updated. The room did have a blow dryer and nice toiletries and lots of towels. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Our room looked out over the street and was a great view. I read complaints of the noise in other reviews, but we had no problem and left our window open all night. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but there are great places all around for breakfast. The man that was at the desk in the early afternoon was very rude, but the woman in the morning and the man in the late evening were both great. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaintjacques, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and your stay in our hotel.
Regarding the person at the reception desk in the early the afternoon, we apologize if something went wrong. I would be very grateful to write to me privately to tell me exactly what happened and what day is it happened so that it does not recur. We want our relationship with our clients remain cordial and respectful.
We look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Fabienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#227 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#272 Family Hotel in Paris
#324 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.