We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and dingy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Jacques

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Hotel Saint-Jacques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Far
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Small and dingy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in a double deluxe, which I thought would be one of the highest grade rooms. It was on the fifth floor. The "balcony" was not a balcony, it was a one foot wide edging outside of the windows - so that was a bit of a misrepresentation. The bedspread was a ribbed chenille item that looked like it hadn't been washed in years - I took it off each night when I slept. (I actually took a photo of it, but it's a bit hard to see in the photos). Same with the cheap cotton/polyester "drapes" - why don't they just throw them in the wash and iron them? They're literally grey with exhaust and dirt from street grime - none of that shows in the online photos. The website highlights all the beautiful canvas wall paintings, which are indeed lovely and appear throughout the hotel - they just don't make up for the rest of the issues. Also, speaking of walls; the walls are so thin, I could literally hear my neighbors snoring throughout the night! It was incredible! The bathroom is tiny and has no shower, only the old fashioned hand held sprayer in a tub (with no shower curtain). I'm all for going native when you travel to another country, but really? Do we have to be that coordinated every morning? I've been to Europe a million times and most places have upgraded to regular showers at this point, recognizing the comfort in not having to balance, shower one handed and not flood your floor at the same time.
There is a breakfast that's included each morning, very basic even for France, but there's no room service available at any other time. That thing on the website about drinks etc. in the evening in some kind of lounge at the hotel, is a myth: no such thing occurs at the Hotel Saint Jacques. I agree that the location was nice, very close to the Maubert Metro stop, but other than that, I really, really regretted booking this hotel. I don't know why I decided to try a new place thinking I could save some money; you usually do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaintjacques, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Jacques, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very surprised when reading your review as you stayed one week in our hotel and never complained to the desk.
We inform you that you reserved and stayed in a superior double room and not a deluxe double room, and that you had a lovely balcony as pictured on our website where you can relax viewing the parisian way of life.
We thank you for all your pictures showing that the bedsread is new and clean, that the bathroom is comfortable and equiped with a shower and is spacious according to the parisian standards.
We regret that you found our breakfast basic as our buffet offers freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit salad, smoked salmon, coldcuts, differents varieties of cheeses and yoghurts, organic breads and pastries, cereals, teas Mariage Frères,...
For your information, our bar Toulouse Lautrec is proposing a large variety of drinks as soon as you order your drink to the desk, you are served immediately.
Anyway, we thank you for choosing our 3star as you selected the Plaza Athénée for your previous stay which is a 5star deluxe hotel.
We understand your disappointment when you hoped a 5star service for a 3star price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    352
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
156
385
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm pleased to say we were not disappointed. A very comfortable bed in a reasonable sized room, and for a reasonable cost.The hotel staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent, close to Notre Dame and the Boulevard St Germain. We walked everywhere! My only criticism would be that the breakfasts seemed expensive for a basic continental breakfast so we ate out for better value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A lovely old Parisien hotel which I have been to many times before. Convenient location, close to great little bistros and the latin quarter, Notre Dame area. I would recommend this little hotel for a pleasant stay with very friendl helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A wonderful little hotel, close to a Metro Station. The service was very good. The rooms whilst copact were tastefully decorated with scenes that evoked a real Parisian atmosphere. Just the right palce well located for the Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter with some nice local restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was an excellent find. Great location, just a block up fro Boulevard St Germain, two blocks from the Ile de la Cite (Notre Dame etc); an easy walk to the Louvre. In fact, we walked most places. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Our room was small (not unusual in Europe) but charming with a very good bathroom. We got an excellent rate online, having booked from Australia). We chose to stay on the 6th floor which meant we had to walk up one flight of stairs from the 5th. We had only two cabin wheel-ons, so this was no problem. (It also meant that we came and went from Orly by train and metro direct to the hotel - very easy.) hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful, making one restaurant booking and confirming another. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Our room was 28 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family of five stayed in this hotel for a second time. We visited in October 2011 and felt happy with the quality and service so we booked it again for a return trip in December 2012. The location is so convenient to the Metro- less than three blocks. The breakfast is plentiful with a continental buffet of breads, meats, yogurts and fruit. The rooms are traditional and old fashioned, but all the bathrooms are updated. Most importantly the hotel is clean and safe. We were able to leave our luggage there on our last day without any trouble. I would happily stay here again next time I am in Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff persons were helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. We liked the location..the Latin Quarter, the ease of getting transportation and it was easy to walk to so many places. Prices were reasonable. I would recommend to travelers who like small hotels. It was just right for us.

Room Tip: get a room with view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#83 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Quartier Latin
BEST WESTERN Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#119 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design de la Sorbonne
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#73 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#583 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Jacques

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#213 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#369 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.