We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel SAINT-JACQUES to your Saves list
Hotel SAINT-JACQUES
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #285 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An excellent find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was an excellent find. Great location, just a block up fro Boulevard St Germain, two blocks from the Ile de la Cite (Notre Dame etc); an easy walk to the Louvre. In fact, we walked most places. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Our room was small (not unusual in Europe) but charming with a very good bathroom. We got an excellent rate online, having booked from Australia). We chose to stay on the 6th floor which meant we had to walk up one flight of stairs from the 5th. We had only two cabin wheel-ons, so this was no problem. (It also meant that we came and went from Orly by train and metro direct to the hotel - very easy.) hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful, making one restaurant booking and confirming another. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Our room was 28 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    338
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
142
364
52
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family of five stayed in this hotel for a second time. We visited in October 2011 and felt happy with the quality and service so we booked it again for a return trip in December 2012. The location is so convenient to the Metro- less than three blocks. The breakfast is plentiful with a continental buffet of breads, meats, yogurts and fruit. The rooms are traditional and old fashioned, but all the bathrooms are updated. Most importantly the hotel is clean and safe. We were able to leave our luggage there on our last day without any trouble. I would happily stay here again next time I am in Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff persons were helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. We liked the location..the Latin Quarter, the ease of getting transportation and it was easy to walk to so many places. Prices were reasonable. I would recommend to travelers who like small hotels. It was just right for us.

Room Tip: get a room with view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been staying at the St Jacques since 1983 during frequent visits to our favorite city.
It has always a been a very pleasant experience. The location, comfort and assistance from an always attentive staff keep us coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Saint Jacques for one night whilst on a business trip.
The hotel is small, and room 7 where I stayed was on the first floor. As with many hotel rooms in Paris, the room was not the biggest but it was clean, well-appointed with free wifi, desk, two seater sofa and a flat screen TV. The room also had a small balcony overlooking the street below.
The bathroom was on the small side, with only a shower cubicle(no bath), in addition to the w/c and sink, but the décor was very good and it was nice to see good quality complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast was pricey at €14, and at 10:30am I was the only diner there. Breakfast is served until 11am. The staff were very polite and helpful.
There is a metro station less than 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel and the RER is few minutes’ walk from the metro station, and there are restaurants and grocery stores in direct vicinity of the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would have no issues staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the St. Jacques very recently. The pictures we've seen don't do the place justice. It was beautiful, charming, and a perfect representation of everything Paris and the Latin Quarter are supposed to be. It's in a great location; close to the Metro and restaurants, but a just little bit off the beaten path. The staff were very helpful, and our room was breathtaking. We loved our little balcony, the molding on the ceiling, and the painting on our wall. We never had breakfast there; the crepes on the street just called my name every morning. All in all, I just can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Get the superior room; It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Well located in the Latin Quarter, near the Panthéon and the Sorbonne, this charming hotel is great value for money in Paris. Of course the building is old, but it is clean and organized, with staff polite and helpful. The rooms are small but very welcoming, with heating and air conditioning, although lacking a fridge ... The bathrooms are small but functional. The price is well worth it!

Room Tip: Warning: The elevator does not reach the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SAINT-JACQUES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#213 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
#304 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SAINT-JACQUES 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel SAINT-JACQUES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SAINT-JACQUES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.