We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for my requirements on a business trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Save Saved
You added Hotel SAINT-JACQUES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SAINT-JACQUES
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for my requirements on a business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Saint Jacques for one night whilst on a business trip.
The hotel is small, and room 7 where I stayed was on the first floor. As with many hotel rooms in Paris, the room was not the biggest but it was clean, well-appointed with free wifi, desk, two seater sofa and a flat screen TV. The room also had a small balcony overlooking the street below.
The bathroom was on the small side, with only a shower cubicle(no bath), in addition to the w/c and sink, but the décor was very good and it was nice to see good quality complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast was pricey at €14, and at 10:30am I was the only diner there. Breakfast is served until 11am. The staff were very polite and helpful.
There is a metro station less than 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel and the RER is few minutes’ walk from the metro station, and there are restaurants and grocery stores in direct vicinity of the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would have no issues staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    314
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
127
341
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the St. Jacques very recently. The pictures we've seen don't do the place justice. It was beautiful, charming, and a perfect representation of everything Paris and the Latin Quarter are supposed to be. It's in a great location; close to the Metro and restaurants, but a just little bit off the beaten path. The staff were very helpful, and our room was breathtaking. We loved our little balcony, the molding on the ceiling, and the painting on our wall. We never had breakfast there; the crepes on the street just called my name every morning. All in all, I just can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Get the superior room; It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Well located in the Latin Quarter, near the Panthéon and the Sorbonne, this charming hotel is great value for money in Paris. Of course the building is old, but it is clean and organized, with staff polite and helpful. The rooms are small but very welcoming, with heating and air conditioning, although lacking a fridge ... The bathrooms are small but functional. The price is well worth it!

Room Tip: Warning: The elevator does not reach the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at the St. Jacques and the experience was magical. The staff was extremely attentive to our needs, spoke very good English, and were helpful. We had a nice room (the bed was very comfortable) with a balcony and seating area overlooking the Rue de Ecoles. We ate breakfast one morning at the hotel and it was fine. This hotel is a very short walk to the Latin Quarter and the Pantheon is two blocks away. The location is in the heart of the University of Paris, so the vibrancy of the young population is evident in the surrounding area. The greatest assets of the location - a Metro stop (Maubert), wine shop, fromagerie, and boulangerie are within a block of the hotel. Bottom line - guests are treated well at the St. Jacques and the central location is superb, yet one does not feel as if you are surrounded by tourists! We will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were very happy with our choice of Hotel Saint Jacques in Paris. It is located in an extremely great area for easy walking - just a few blocks from the Ile de la Cite. We used the HOHO bus and could catch it right in front of the Notre Dame Cathedral. We walked throughout the Latin Quarter, Saint Germain, Ile de la Cite, and also the Louvre area without using any means of transportation. We especially enjoyed evening strolls through the Latin Quarter area very close to the hotel. The subway also was very convenient to the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel for breakfast as we wanted to experience the fresh breakfast pastries each day at a local bakery. There was one right on the way to the Ile de la Cite area from the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, although on the small side. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms were well equipped. Lighting could have been better. The rooms were decorated exactly how we would picture a French hotel to be - very much French ambiance. If we went back we would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel was very accommodating to our group needs. Rooms were air conditioned almost too well (we froze the first night). Perfect location just blocks from Notre Dame. Just a few blocks from the metro. Easy metro access to the airport and all major train stations. Hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. Beds were comfortable, rooms spacious enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a great stay - a hotel with loads of character and the staff were helpful and friendly. It was easy to explore Paris from here and the surrounding streets were great to explore. I liked the fact that we could leave our luggage on the last day 'til it was time to go to the station. The only thing I didn't like (being English) was the lack of kettle/tea in the room (I do appreciate that this isn't the French custom but it would be a nice touch).
I would happily go back to the Hotel Saint-Jacques.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SAINT-JACQUES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SAINT-JACQUES

Address: 35, rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#212 Business Hotel in Paris
#278 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SAINT-JACQUES 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Jacques Hotel welcomes you in its elegant 19th century building.You will discover its style staircase, its frescoes and its spacious rooms with molded ceilings and for some of them viewing Notre-Dame or with balcony.For an original drink, you can try an Absinthe tasting proposed by ourbar Le Toulouse-Lautrec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel SAINT-JACQUES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jacques Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SAINT-JACQUES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;