We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL IN THE CENTER OF PARIS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,095 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HOTEL IN THE CENTER OF PARIS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A hotel that was close to Notre Dame and in the Louvre Museum.There was a metro station close by.It was worth because of it's location.The rooms were very small but clean.The receptionist were quite helpful.No mini bar in the room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    35
    16
    5
See reviews for
10
51
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from three days here. I'm a frequent visitor to Paris, my favourite city in the world, so have stayed in a lot of hotels, both for business and pleasure. This place is in an excellent location, three minutes to Hotel de Ville and right in the heart of the lovely Marais district. The reception staff were efficient and knowledgeable. I'm used to small Parisian bedrooms, and this is no different, but the quality of the rooms at Compostelle is not great. It feels more like a 2-star to me, with very plain furniture and fittings. Our bathroom was missing a tile by the sink, the beautiful French windows didn't close securely (allowing a fair amount of noise into the room), and our bedroom was right beside the lift which meant that sleep was disturbed with people coming and going (literally every inch of space is utilised in this hotel!). While it was clean, you really didn't want to spend time here other than for sleeping as the place is rather claustrophobic. Overall, Compostelle is OK, but I know from experience that you can find a better price-to-quality ratio especially if you book ahead and are not tied to staying in the Marais which is among the most expensive areas in Paris for hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid being beside the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My trip middle of February 2013
-------------------------------------------
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is in the gay area of Paris called Marais. If you are gay, it is a Mecca. If you are not, you might find it a little disconcerting. The hotel is clean but it is extremely cramped! This time, I stayed in room 63 & 63bis which has a connecting door. Room 63 faces the main street and 63bis faces the back courtyard. Both rooms are tiny and both bathrooms were microscopic. I could hardly move in the shower! The hotel is noisy, when guests are coming back in the early hours of the morning. All the bedroom doors have very strong closing mechanisms, which make the door slam shut!! I, being considerate, close the door quietly. Unfortunately, most people just let it slam, which wakes you up at 3.00am in the morning! The lift is also noisy going up and down, so bring some decent earplugs with you.

There are 2 ladies on reception during the day. One lady with grey hair and glasses is very friendly, helpful and speaks fluent English. The other lady with short-cropped hair and heavy makeup who is about 70+, is an absolute cow!! I don't speak French, except for bonjour, bonsoir and merci. The nicer you try to be to her, the more beligerant she becomes and seems to enjoy being rude! I suppose you would say, she's a typical Parisienne. She is obviously in the wrong job. We paid Euro125 a night, which is cheap, for such an interesting area. There are lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Plus you are a short walk from the 'Bazar Hotel d'Ville' dept. store. The mens dept. is in a seperate building across the road. It's on about 5 floors and is fantastic for clothes shopping. It is expensive though.

How anyone can rate this hotel as 'Amazing', beggars belief? The only thing Amazing, is the location.

All in all, if you are on a budget stay here. If you are not, choose somewhere else. You'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the block are less noisy. Although, staff seem to go into the back courtyard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel scores 10/10 for location, it is in the epicentre of the Marias and as such it is a fantastic location for exploring and visiting everything Paris has to offer. Dont expect much and you will enjoy this quaint and very Parisienne hotel. Yes, the rooms are small and you need to be a contortionist to use the bathrooms, but like the 3 person (just!) lift with a mind of its own, it all adds to the charm of the place.
Rooms are clean, beds on 6th floor comfy, and the view of the street below will keep you entertained day and night. Our floor to celing french windows were double glazed and blocked almost all of the street noise, i had no trouble at all sleeping. Perhaps assisted by a few glasses of wine with dinner!
You are spoilt for choice with a veritable pandoras box of interesting shops, restaurants, cafes and boulangeries all on you doorstep.
Public bicycle hire is just around the corner which is a fun way to explore this charming area and get to the major attractions. Why anyone would want to use the metro and miss all the sights you get to see while riding, I do not know.
If, like us, you intend to sightsee all day, then this hotel is more than adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The location is great! The hotel clean, rooms little small but its ok! Very recomande on this hotel!! Everything is clean, dont take the breakfast not very good and a little pricy, but in the ganeral it was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Compostelle for 5 nights. I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends (and strangers!).

The Good
- Incredible location. A couple of blocks away from the 1 line (St. Paul stop), which is arguably the most helpful line to be on as a tourist. - A few blocks from sights (e.g., Notre Dame, Pompidou)
- Great area during the day (e.g., boulangeries, stores, entertainment), and safe
- Great area during the night (e.g., restaurants, bars, entertainment), and safe
- Everything you could need (e.g., bed, private bathroom, front desk that is open and kind)
- Internet for 10euros for your whole stay. It's not free, but it's quite affordable
- An elevator if you want it - Price. We paid 120euros a night (for the middle of October). That doesn't sound cheap, exactly, but it WAS cheap compared to other options in the area
- Our very large windows overlooked the street, and we could open the windows all the way. So, not a balcony exactly, but almost

The Bad
- The internet connection was VERY shoddy
- The bathroom was a little cramped, and the shower had (a) no curtain, and (b) no hanging shower-head... so it was a fun little game to shower without getting water everywhere
- Soap and shampoo were provided. But both seemed designed to pull moisture out of everything they touched.

Room Tip: I loved having a room that faced the street. We could open up the window to check the weather and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The complainers like to complain so I feel compelled to report that we loved this little place in the heart of beautiful Marais! Our teeny, tiny (get used to it...it's Paris, and you want an affordable place, right? ) double room was on the 3rd floor in the front with floor to ceiling windows that, unlike claustrophobic American hotels, actually open. Not the most comfortable bed in the world so if you are a Princess and the Pea sort of person forget this place I guess. If you have trouble sleeping with city noise do ask for a room at the back though as Paris IS after all a city and this is a lively neghborhood. This is a budget hotel so our room was not fancy but it was fresh smelling, bright, airy and clean. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Yes, the lift is small but as someone else stated, any lift in Paris is a plus and two of us with two large suitcases had no trouble getting up and down in it together. We did take the breakfast option on our first day and it was lovely with excellent rolls and croissants, meats,cheeses, yoghurts granolas, coffee (Americano!) and fruit juices. Plenty to get you started for the day. Le Pick Clops across the street is good for breakfast too with homemade breakfast breads....unless you want Coffee Americano. We ordered "coffee" there and got teeny tiny espresso and were told to ask for "long coffee" instead....which turned out to be two shots of espresso. Not "long" enough for us! Starbucks is not far away so we opted for this on our third morning in beautiful Paris. All in all we loved this little cost-effective hotel as well as its location in a most charming part of Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you can't sleep with city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Address: 31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#176 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.