We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location, just fine everything else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai to your Saves list
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,053 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Incredible location, just fine everything else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Compostelle for 5 nights. I would definitely go back, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends (and strangers!).

The Good
- Incredible location. A couple of blocks away from the 1 line (St. Paul stop), which is arguably the most helpful line to be on as a tourist. - A few blocks from sights (e.g., Notre Dame, Pompidou)
- Great area during the day (e.g., boulangeries, stores, entertainment), and safe
- Great area during the night (e.g., restaurants, bars, entertainment), and safe
- Everything you could need (e.g., bed, private bathroom, front desk that is open and kind)
- Internet for 10euros for your whole stay. It's not free, but it's quite affordable
- An elevator if you want it - Price. We paid 120euros a night (for the middle of October). That doesn't sound cheap, exactly, but it WAS cheap compared to other options in the area
- Our very large windows overlooked the street, and we could open the windows all the way. So, not a balcony exactly, but almost

The Bad
- The internet connection was VERY shoddy
- The bathroom was a little cramped, and the shower had (a) no curtain, and (b) no hanging shower-head... so it was a fun little game to shower without getting water everywhere
- Soap and shampoo were provided. But both seemed designed to pull moisture out of everything they touched.

Room Tip: I loved having a room that faced the street. We could open up the window to check the weather and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
10
53
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The complainers like to complain so I feel compelled to report that we loved this little place in the heart of beautiful Marais! Our teeny, tiny (get used to it...it's Paris, and you want an affordable place, right? ) double room was on the 3rd floor in the front with floor to ceiling windows that, unlike claustrophobic American hotels, actually open. Not the most comfortable bed in the world so if you are a Princess and the Pea sort of person forget this place I guess. If you have trouble sleeping with city noise do ask for a room at the back though as Paris IS after all a city and this is a lively neghborhood. This is a budget hotel so our room was not fancy but it was fresh smelling, bright, airy and clean. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Yes, the lift is small but as someone else stated, any lift in Paris is a plus and two of us with two large suitcases had no trouble getting up and down in it together. We did take the breakfast option on our first day and it was lovely with excellent rolls and croissants, meats,cheeses, yoghurts granolas, coffee (Americano!) and fruit juices. Plenty to get you started for the day. Le Pick Clops across the street is good for breakfast too with homemade breakfast breads....unless you want Coffee Americano. We ordered "coffee" there and got teeny tiny espresso and were told to ask for "long coffee" instead....which turned out to be two shots of espresso. Not "long" enough for us! Starbucks is not far away so we opted for this on our third morning in beautiful Paris. All in all we loved this little cost-effective hotel as well as its location in a most charming part of Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you can't sleep with city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great basic hotel in the heart of the hip Marais district. Which does have a lift, albeit very small, but its a added bonus for Paris. Staff very friendly & helpful, rooms neat & clean. We didn't take the breakfast option, as we preferred to go across the road to Le Pick Clops. The area is very safe & on the metro number one line, stop Saint Paul, that takes in Louvre, Champs Élysées & Bastille. Shopping in this area is very cool - hip & quirky, with a number of Vintage stores. Eating out is great, so many choices. Or grab a baguette, some cheese & a bottle of wine, to make a picnic on the Seine (Summer is best for this though), with many other locals, taking in the end of the day.

Highly recommend the location & the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was centrally located and looked nice. I was concerned because there were some fairly scathing reviews particularly regarding some of the staff- I didnt see a hint of unfriendliness, In fact I was offered sweets, bottled water, maps and all sorts. These guys were VERY patient and really helpful. One lady in particular had such a dry sense of humour that I was giggling for hours afterward. After a couple of fine glasses of wine I can't remember what it was about.

Being in an historic & central area of Paris the property is tall, narrow and traditional- this means townhouse size rooms (compact) but the room (43 i think!) was great, Perfectly functional, perfectly acceptable and well appointed. We were on the fourth floor of the building and found the water pressure on the shower absolutely fine- (other reviewers mention this regularly) The bathrooms are small but perfectly functional and the fittings haven't been scrimped on.

Another regular mention is outside noise- I have to say the windows there seem quite new and when closed these stopped all of the noise. When they were open there is just some street chatter from the cafes nearby- Even coming from a near silent area I found this chatter lovely, relaxing and I had no trouble sleeping with the windows open. (It was 41 degrees C outside and I kept getting asked if I wanted a cooling fan in my room everytime i passed reception) I declined as I love the experience of sight, sound and smell

The breakfast is served in the basement vaulted room which was fascinating, It comprised 2 croissants each, 2 danish pastries each, 2 large pieces of baguette, butter, jams, yoghurt, cereal and a fruit puree (which was really refreshing) There was a choice of strong coffee, tea or chocolate and fresh orange brought over also. We paid 7 euro each for this - even going to tesco or similar you would pay more.

The lift is very up to date- more so than many I have been in in the UK and certainly is not anywhere as dramatic as some have claimed. Overall this Hotel was PERFECT, but if you then consider the price and you want somewhere clean, comfortable, secure and well run- AND you want to be close to the centre- look no further, really.

You should only consider another hotel if you intend to wallow around in your room all day doing nothing but ordering room service or sitting in a jacuzzi being chilled by Air-con- the generic chain hotels in out of town new builds may be more for you.

If you go to paris to cruise the river, walk, eat properly and really experience it properly - you should seriously consider the Compostile- it delighted us both. Paris is a delightfully formal city, if you don't try to talk to the denizens you'll be left alone. Interact with them and you get SO much more warmth- Even with my language skills (which are terrible) I managed to have such a giggle and REALLY enjoyed the whole experience.

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise perhaps ask for a room at the rear. We were at the front and had no issue at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, close to many famous places, such as Hotel de Ville, Centre Pompidou, Les Halles, Bastille Opera, Notre Dame, even Louvre is reachable by feet in 30 minutes. Staff is nice and prices are reasonable. Absolutely recommended for budget trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the silent inner yard, some rooms - to the crowdy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel for four nights in our seven night trip as we wanted to stay in Le Marais area. Compared to other hotels in the area the price was just right for us.

Situated just a block from picturesque Rue des Rosiers and it's superb falafel restaurants (I think the one opposite the place that Lenny Kravitz recommends gets our points) this hotel is basically at the best location in Le Marais. Step out of the hotel entrance and go left one block and you will find a boulangerie with 1€ breakfast croissants. Step out, go right and from the next block down the same road where your hotel is situated you find a perfumerie Sense Unique with it's specialist staff who seem to know pretty much everything about scents. As you are pretty much in the middle of it all it's probably needless to say that good restaurants are everywhere... and Notre Dame just 10 minutes away so you can beat the crowds in the morning with no sweat at all.

We had a room on the first floor (ground floor +1) with an inner courtyard view. So in theory some might see you doing your morning excersises from the comfort of their own room but for us that was really not a problem. More of a problem can be that the tiny yard is shared 50/50 with a restaurant's back door and it's trash bins. Late opening hours mean lots of noise at the trash cans all night long, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to reconsider especially as the room might get guite warm in the summer and you might want to keep the windows open.

The room was also quite dark. There's actually only three lamps in the room and no ceiling lamp at all. They probably wanted to save the old (and really cool looking) ceiling decorative beams from getting damaged. And because of the inner courtyard the two large windows do not bring much natural light either.

The room is reasonably sized for two persons and a large open suitcase or even more leaving enough room to move about without breaking something. There's also a safe in the room but it is too small to contain for example an iPad but you can probably fit you dslr in if a need for some strange reason rises. TV contains couple of channels to keep you up on latest news and events on True Blood. In room wi-fi works nicely although you have to pay for it but the price is not bad.

This review might seem to include a lot of rant about the actual hotel room but the case really is not so. Everything depends on how light a sleeper one is and are you worried to show your dangling parts to other persons in the same building. There are earplugs for noice and self esteem for nudity (and curtains). In overall we really enjoyed staying in this clean hotell and even if the area wouldn't have been as center as it is we would have been happy with the hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked a room here for my second honeymoon based solely on tripadvisor reviews. This place is affordable, in an incredible location in Marais near cafes, restaurants, boutiques, and Parisian life! The staff is friendly and they spoke English without us asking them to. Our room faces the street looking over the cafe le picks clops. The windows open to a wonderful view but it can be noisy with garbage collection or scooter engines. The view and breeze are worth it. Yes, taking a long American shower and steaming up the bathroom is not likely with the handheld shower head and no curtain around the tub but that is Paris. I've noticed more greasy hair stinky folks here than anywhere I've been. Just deal with it. You can easily get clean.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is walking distance to so many things and there are great cafes and pubs nearby that stay open and lively late, even during the week. The elevator is tiny and scary so we used the stairs...my only minor complaint.

We found the hotel easily from the airport - from cdg take the rer b train into Paris and then the metro line 1 to chatelet or hotel de ville. 18 euro per person.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Address: 31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.