We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT, Nice little friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai
31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,099 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“PERFECT, Nice little friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was centrally located and looked nice. I was concerned because there were some fairly scathing reviews particularly regarding some of the staff- I didnt see a hint of unfriendliness, In fact I was offered sweets, bottled water, maps and all sorts. These guys were VERY patient and really helpful. One lady in particular had such a dry sense of humour that I was giggling for hours afterward. After a couple of fine glasses of wine I can't remember what it was about.

Being in an historic & central area of Paris the property is tall, narrow and traditional- this means townhouse size rooms (compact) but the room (43 i think!) was great, Perfectly functional, perfectly acceptable and well appointed. We were on the fourth floor of the building and found the water pressure on the shower absolutely fine- (other reviewers mention this regularly) The bathrooms are small but perfectly functional and the fittings haven't been scrimped on.

Another regular mention is outside noise- I have to say the windows there seem quite new and when closed these stopped all of the noise. When they were open there is just some street chatter from the cafes nearby- Even coming from a near silent area I found this chatter lovely, relaxing and I had no trouble sleeping with the windows open. (It was 41 degrees C outside and I kept getting asked if I wanted a cooling fan in my room everytime i passed reception) I declined as I love the experience of sight, sound and smell

The breakfast is served in the basement vaulted room which was fascinating, It comprised 2 croissants each, 2 danish pastries each, 2 large pieces of baguette, butter, jams, yoghurt, cereal and a fruit puree (which was really refreshing) There was a choice of strong coffee, tea or chocolate and fresh orange brought over also. We paid 7 euro each for this - even going to tesco or similar you would pay more.

The lift is very up to date- more so than many I have been in in the UK and certainly is not anywhere as dramatic as some have claimed. Overall this Hotel was PERFECT, but if you then consider the price and you want somewhere clean, comfortable, secure and well run- AND you want to be close to the centre- look no further, really.

You should only consider another hotel if you intend to wallow around in your room all day doing nothing but ordering room service or sitting in a jacuzzi being chilled by Air-con- the generic chain hotels in out of town new builds may be more for you.

If you go to paris to cruise the river, walk, eat properly and really experience it properly - you should seriously consider the Compostile- it delighted us both. Paris is a delightfully formal city, if you don't try to talk to the denizens you'll be left alone. Interact with them and you get SO much more warmth- Even with my language skills (which are terrible) I managed to have such a giggle and REALLY enjoyed the whole experience.

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise perhaps ask for a room at the rear. We were at the front and had no issue at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
10
51
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, close to many famous places, such as Hotel de Ville, Centre Pompidou, Les Halles, Bastille Opera, Notre Dame, even Louvre is reachable by feet in 30 minutes. Staff is nice and prices are reasonable. Absolutely recommended for budget trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the silent inner yard, some rooms - to the crowdy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel for four nights in our seven night trip as we wanted to stay in Le Marais area. Compared to other hotels in the area the price was just right for us.

Situated just a block from picturesque Rue des Rosiers and it's superb falafel restaurants (I think the one opposite the place that Lenny Kravitz recommends gets our points) this hotel is basically at the best location in Le Marais. Step out of the hotel entrance and go left one block and you will find a boulangerie with 1€ breakfast croissants. Step out, go right and from the next block down the same road where your hotel is situated you find a perfumerie Sense Unique with it's specialist staff who seem to know pretty much everything about scents. As you are pretty much in the middle of it all it's probably needless to say that good restaurants are everywhere... and Notre Dame just 10 minutes away so you can beat the crowds in the morning with no sweat at all.

We had a room on the first floor (ground floor +1) with an inner courtyard view. So in theory some might see you doing your morning excersises from the comfort of their own room but for us that was really not a problem. More of a problem can be that the tiny yard is shared 50/50 with a restaurant's back door and it's trash bins. Late opening hours mean lots of noise at the trash cans all night long, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to reconsider especially as the room might get guite warm in the summer and you might want to keep the windows open.

The room was also quite dark. There's actually only three lamps in the room and no ceiling lamp at all. They probably wanted to save the old (and really cool looking) ceiling decorative beams from getting damaged. And because of the inner courtyard the two large windows do not bring much natural light either.

The room is reasonably sized for two persons and a large open suitcase or even more leaving enough room to move about without breaking something. There's also a safe in the room but it is too small to contain for example an iPad but you can probably fit you dslr in if a need for some strange reason rises. TV contains couple of channels to keep you up on latest news and events on True Blood. In room wi-fi works nicely although you have to pay for it but the price is not bad.

This review might seem to include a lot of rant about the actual hotel room but the case really is not so. Everything depends on how light a sleeper one is and are you worried to show your dangling parts to other persons in the same building. There are earplugs for noice and self esteem for nudity (and curtains). In overall we really enjoyed staying in this clean hotell and even if the area wouldn't have been as center as it is we would have been happy with the hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I booked a room here for my second honeymoon based solely on tripadvisor reviews. This place is affordable, in an incredible location in Marais near cafes, restaurants, boutiques, and Parisian life! The staff is friendly and they spoke English without us asking them to. Our room faces the street looking over the cafe le picks clops. The windows open to a wonderful view but it can be noisy with garbage collection or scooter engines. The view and breeze are worth it. Yes, taking a long American shower and steaming up the bathroom is not likely with the handheld shower head and no curtain around the tub but that is Paris. I've noticed more greasy hair stinky folks here than anywhere I've been. Just deal with it. You can easily get clean.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is walking distance to so many things and there are great cafes and pubs nearby that stay open and lively late, even during the week. The elevator is tiny and scary so we used the stairs...my only minor complaint.

We found the hotel easily from the airport - from cdg take the rer b train into Paris and then the metro line 1 to chatelet or hotel de ville. 18 euro per person.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The location was awesome... right in the heart of la marais district.. close to the metro.. walking distance from the jewish quarter, louvre, notre dame, sienne river and the best falafel ever! Loved the location.. tons of bars and restaurants all around. The room was okay.. clean, small, good view, small shower with no curtain so it made it challenging.
It was quite at night (which i was actually nervous about based on other reviewers) and we were facing Le pick clop which was a cafe across the street. It does the trick if all you are using this place for is sight seeing and you won't spend much time there. They charge for wifi. 10 euro for your whole stay. you are better off getting it free at a local cafe. Taking a taxi from CDG to this hotel will cost around 50 euro. It would be wise to research in advance how to get there using the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, for work. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was old and not too big (as most hotel rooms are in Paris). The bathroom was very poorly lit, and the shower did not work in the morning, not enough water pressure. But what really spoilt it was my neighbours, they kept me up all night talking, arguing, laughing, they just sounded very drunk. Not the hotel's fault really, but that and not being able to shower properly did not make it very good. Would I go back? Don't think so, but I must say that the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great location, near everything, good price for your money, very friendy staff, clean. Small Hotel with big heart. Metro stations a walk away, as well as Notre Dame, Pompideu, the Sein, Hotel De Ville, restaurants, bars and shops. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for the interior ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai

Address: 31, rue du Roi de Sicile, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Hôtel-de-Ville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#167 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Compostelle Marai
Le Compostelle Le Marais
Le Compostelle Marai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Compostelle Le Marai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.