We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a one night crash pad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Canettes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Des Canettes to your Saves list
Hotel Des Canettes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17, rue des Canettes | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,649 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a one night crash pad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a great place to stay in Paris. Just off the Boulevard St Germain, three mins walk from the Saint Germain des-Pres stop on the No.4 Metro line.

If you need a crash pad for a quick overnight stay in Paris then this place is inexpensive, clean, good showers, pretty quiet considering the street outside is pretty busy late into the evening.

Definitely recommend it for a quick overnight stop.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    18
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
16
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Situated close to the center of the 6th Arr., this two star pension is great. You definitely get what you pay for (tiny rooms, no frills) but I'd recommend this to heartier, more experienced travelers that understand you spend little time in your room when visiting Paris.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but darker. Bring earplugs for the brighter rooms that are right on Rue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

It is located in a street full of bars with loud music. Even though closing the windows help, you still hear everything. You hear also the other guests shouting at 7:30 am. There is no elevator to the first floor, just to the others floors. The furniture is very cheap and old. You pay 8 euros for a breakfast that has just a coffee, an orange juice and a croissant. This is the kind of hotel you feel you don't want to come back at the end of your day. Although there are not so many budget hotels in Paris, I felt fooled.
I was very badly impressed by this hotel because I had stayed in another one during the same week, which was the same price but was much better. I had payed 130 Euros in a small but cozy, elegant and brand new hotel in the Quartier Latin, which I highly recommend (Europe St Severin). Their breakfast was 12 Euros, but had everything you could wish for. Excellent location, very near Notre Dame.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel is located where you want to be in Paris. The St-Germain-des-Pre area has many good restaurants, shops, Metro stops, and other amenities that allow you - if for only a few days - to imagine what it would be like to be a Parisian. And many of the sites for which you go to Paris to see, such as the du musée du Louvre and Notre Dame Cathedral, are within a reasonable walking distance.

The accommodations are basic and many of the rooms (mine included) face inwards towards a large, open roof airshaft. Although this sounds 19th century tenement-ish it actually is a real benefit if you don't want to hear the late night revelers that are omnipresent on the street below.

Lots of narrows stairs can be avoided if you don't minds taking the small, if not claustrophobic elevator.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Great location in the St. Germain des Pres neighborhood. On a street with a bunch of bars, restaurants and small shops.

The actual hotel was pretty basic -- rooms that had beds and some supplemental furniture (chairs, side tables, closet). I was staying with three friends and we were given the "apartment" on the top floor which turned out to be a little like a duplex. There was one single bedroom downstairs near the bathroom. There was a little staircase up to the second floor of the apartment which featured another single bed and a double bed.

The rooms were clean but could have had newer linens; but for the price, it made sense for our trip. Daily, the rooms were cleaned and new towels were provided. The staff was accommodating of our requests, but it was helpful that we had a native French speaker in the group who could converse with the staff.

Would definitely stay here again due to the location and pricing, if I was with friends or a younger family who could handle the stairs.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone who cannot climb stairs. When entering the hotel, there is a flight up to the lobby and reception desk. There is no elevator up to this floor that I was aware of. Also, if staying on the top floor, there is a flight of stairs without elevator access.

Also wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a spacious, luxurious hotel. This is a pretty basic place to drop your luggage, take a shower and sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

Pros;
-Excellent location.-Resonable price. -Quite clean.
-Easy to use the microwave oven if you need to heat something (we travelled with a baby)

Cons;
-Lift starts from the 1st floor wich means that you have to carry your bags yourself to the reception (located on the 1st floor) the stairs are narrow and steep. Lift is very small.-No air condition. -Very simple rooms. -Room should have been recently renovated, but ours were not!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2005

Good location!

But a mad manager.

I recently attended the MEP conference at the Institut Henri Poincaré. While at this conference I stayed at the Hotel des Canettes which was on the list of recommended hotels. The manager knew there to be people attending a conference at a hotel and knew that I was one of these people.

Upon leaving both myself and an additional conference attendee (from Germany) had difficulties paying the hotel bill with our credit cards. Due to a temporary fault on the hotels payments machine, this could be deduced by any logically minded person.

As neither of my two cards nor his would clear. Both of my cards having plenty of available credit and I have no reason to believe that the German attendee would be insolvent either. After several attempts to get the cards to work I called my bank who assured me that there was not a problem with my account. The hotel manger then called the German’s card group and insisted on speaking to them himself. This conversation descended into shouting culminating in a short burst of expletives and him slamming the phone. Waving his arms in an aggressive fashion he then lunched into a tirade aimed at myself and the German attendee.

Calling us sh*ts (in French) who should not come on vacation if they can’t pay their bills, among other things I did not catch everything. Much of this tirade was in French with highlights repeated in English. The situation was in the end resolved after considerable difficulty caused wholly by the unreasonable behaviour of the hotel manager.

In full flow he made Basil Fawlty look meek!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Canettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Canettes

Address: 17, rue des Canettes | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,649 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des Canettes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel des Canettes is located on rue des Canettes, just opposite the prestigious private residence whose name and history reverberate in the street today.The hotel lies within a picturesque area of Paris where restaurants, boutiques, cinemas and entertainment abound : there is everything you need for a perfect vacation !Two steps from Saint-Germain des Prés : the historic heart of old Paris, the Paris of artists, writers, poets and musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Des Canettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Canettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.