We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - good location (Paying the recommendation forward)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Val Girard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Val Girard to your Saves list
Hotel Val Girard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue Petel, 75015 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - good location (Paying the recommendation forward)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best recommendation we have been given. Stayed here for a week. The staff were so friendly and willing to assist. They even held onto Sim cards I had ordered to be delivered to the hotel, which arrived about 3 months too early.
Great location - very close to everything you may need - The Metro, Laundry, Cafes, Restaurants, Bakery, supermarkets, and a view of the Eiffel Tower as soon as you walk out the door.
We were treated with a free upgrade and were not disappointed. The main bedroom was very large by Parisian standards and the bathroom was bigger than the entire hotel room we stayed in when we were in Paris last. Beautifully refurbished and the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
Only downside was that we did not really have a view. But to be honest, it was Autumn/Winter with fewer daylight hours, we spent barely any time during the day in the hotel and the room was completely buffered from all street noise.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    166
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
44
172
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, taxi to the expo costs around 8 euros. The room is small but clean and just what you need. Hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast is basic. All in all its a nice hotel and good location for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Very friendly reception staff. Helped us with getting around Paris. only thing disappointing with the hotel is the breakfast but that might be because we're used to breakfast in the uk

Metro station very near the hotel and lots of restaurants and shops in lovely location

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Val Girard is a nice hotel with excellent location. The room I had was very small but functional. The bathroom had recently been beautifully refurbished. Breakfast is quite simple but ok. The only thing that needed improvement was my bed. It felt like it had had its best days long before. With a new bed I would give five stars.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

The standard of the room and hotel itself was great, our room felt newly reconstructed and refurnished. The breakfast was an American buffé with French elements such as croissants. Not vast choices but more than well fulfilled the purpose and our days were off to a good start. The front desk was always very service-minded and helpful and so we were a little disappointed to feel that the person in charge of the breakfast some mornings were not as service-minded.

The hotel is near the Eiffel tower but getting back and forth to the city centre like Saint Michel galleries like Lafayette and Printemps was not all that smooth.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Just 20 minutes walk from Eifel Tower,in a quiet zone of Paris.There are a lot of small restaurants in the area,a super market and subway station near.we were lucky because from our window you could see the tower.

Room Tip: When you are making the booking ask for a room with the tower view,don't cost nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrJaudy, Directeur général at Hotel Val Girard, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you so much for leaving a feedback of your stay on tripadvisor!

Yes one of our hotel's assets it's a great location. Away from the frenziness of the center of the city but still very well connected by subway and bus to all the major sites.

Decent french restaurants and exquisite boulangeries are 2 minutes walking distance;

Thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed in Paris for 3 nights with my mum & sister... Fell in love with Paris.

Hotel Val Girard was lovely, small & cute with comfy beds & the family room was spacious. Slight improvement required in the cleaning department.

The hotel is a few tube stops from the main attractions including Eiffel Tower, Louvre etc.. If you don't like tubes/underground/metropolitan I would recommend you stay a bit closer to the attractions. A hotel near the Eiffel Tower would be ideal, however this area was a nice quiet residential area with cafés, bars, shops where you got to see a slice of the real Paris.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrJaudy, Directeur général at Hotel Val Girard, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Sophie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at our hotel.
It's very much appreciated since this allows us to get an authentic feedback from our guests and then improve ourselves by responding to the failures that were pointed out.

I would really love if you can send me an email with the room number you were statying in so I can check with the housekeeping what went wrong in the cleaning process of your room.

I am really happy that the overall impression was positive and that you have enjoyed your stay. And I am also sincerely sorry for the cleaning lack of efficiency. This issue will be dealt with.

Should you need anything from Paris please do let me know and myself and the team will be happy to assist you in any query.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Val Girard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val Girard

Address: 14 rue Petel, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Val Girard 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Val Girard is a haven of peace in the centre of Paris, ideally located in the heart of the Vaugirard area, between the exhibition centre at the Porte de Versailles, the Eiffel Tower, and Montparnasse.Surrounded by three town parks, our hotel is just a short distance from the famous shopping venue of the Rue du Commerce, where you will find all the big names and a host of small shops, from the Rue Vaugirard with its brasserie restaurants, and from the lively Convention area.The hotel is close to the ‘Vaugirard’ metro station, so you can reach most of the best tourist sites in Paris very quickly. (Direct routes to the Montparnasse, Madeleine, and Pigalle areas and to Montmartre-Sacré Cœur.)Hotel Val Girard has been refurbished throughout in a contemporary style, in bright colours, with modern furnishings. It offers 38 quiet, comfortable rooms, with views of either the Eiffel Tower or a tree-planted courtyard.Our team is at your disposal, ready to help you and to make sure you enjoy your stay in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Val Girard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Val Girard Paris
Hotel Modern Val Girard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Val Girard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.