We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropol Hotel near Gare du Nord.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropol Hotel to your Saves list
Metropol Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 rue Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France (Entrepôt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,478 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    55
    24
    34
See reviews for
19
55
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Metropol Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was mainly chosen due to price & location to Gard Du Nord,as we travelled over on the Eurostar.
Firstly the good bits..and there are some! The hotel is literally 5 mins walk from the train station,and is easy to find. The area is not half as bad as some have made out on here, and we felt perfectly safe at night (we arrived at 11pm). There is a small,but adequate reception, plus a bar area. We paid only £60 a night (Friday & Saturday) so for Paris, its a bargain. There is,as mentioned the railway station up the road, as well as metro stations a few mins away too.The bus stop is a few steps across the road. So travelling is easy. Breakfast was ok,no more. Delicious croissants..cereal..tea,coffee,juice..average. The hotel did let us leave our bags there all day for free when we had checked out..excellent.
OK..now onto the negative...here we go.
The night porter spoke a little English...the daytime staff NONE. We enquired about bus tickets..and they began to check us out of our room! oops.We tried French, but they were baffled. The lift..to say its small would be an understatement! 2 people squashed together..or 1 person & suitcase. We opened our room door..and the bed is just in front. We had a weird room..an L shape, with everything crammed in one part, and nothing in the other. The bathroom is a squeeze.. just trying to get in the door involves squeezing past the protruding sink. Several stains on the carpet, peeling paint, etc. Our room was at the front of the hotel..and because of not having air conditioning, we left the windows open..and the traffic is as loud as everyone else says on here! There was a fan supplied..but i'm not sure which was loudest, the fan or the traffic.
All in all, it was "ok" , but I will be looking for somewhere a little better next time.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is very close to the Gare du Nord, I got a cheap price on the internet, had I paid full price, then this review would be a lot different.
the room I had, was extremely noisy, I couldn't open the window due to the noise, and I couldn't close it due to the heat. meaning I didn't sleep all night.
The reception manager greeted me with a grumpy moan then told me, "you got this cheap!!!" as if it was my fault.
The corridoors were dirty, evidence of flooding on the bottom of the doors. handles had been moved on the dorrs and the repair job badly done. corridoors were small, and the walls thin so you could hear everything going on in the room 3 doors down, that is if you closed the window.
I didn't even take the breakfast so much so that I just wanted to get out of there.

Room Tip: definately a room at the back and not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay at Metropol Hotel. It may have been our room. The carpet was filthy. The bed and bathroom were clean. Staying near Gare Du Nord is not a great idea. It feels a little dirty and unsafe in the neighbourhood but nothing bad happened to us. The staff were mostly helpful. The WIFI in the room was great. The staircase is not lit and uneven so a little dangerous. The lift is tiny. I would not stay here again. The whole place needs a facelift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

we spent a week in the Metropol Hotel and really enjoyed our stay!!
the staff were very helpful and were always on hand to help, the hairdryer in our room was faulty and on request was replaced immediately, and everybody involved spoke perfect English.
the room was plenty big for the two of us and the en-suite bathroom was beautifully furnished. many hotels we looked at had no en-suite so this was a major selling point!!
the hotel is less than a five minute walk from Gard du Nord which gave us access to the rest of Paris.
the hotel was great and the area was very energetic with plenty of tourists due to Gard du Nord. fantastic holiday and we will definitely be staying again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel Metropol is situated very close to Gare du Nord therefore easily accessible via train and metro. The room was nice and clean, staff very friendly. We did discover a broken hairdryer in the bathroom but were given another one from the reception. We did not have any breakfast at the hotel (so no recommendation about that) as there were many cafés nearby . There is a lovely brasserie at the corner of rue Maubeuge! Be aware of church bells on Sunday morning :).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: 98 rue Maubeuge, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,478 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.