We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortuny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Fortuny to your Saves list
Hotel Fortuny
35, rue de l'Arcade | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,564 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
España
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

It is a great lovely hotel in Paris.
Wonderful staff, small but good breaftast, great location.
Wide rooms, very clean.

  • Liked — Rooms, staff, location.
  • Disliked — Mmm, lift very small.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

This hotel's in a great central location for shopping but situated in a quiet street just off Haussman Boulevard. The rooms are comfortable but a little small (the sizes do vary though), and the decor is a bit tired. The showers are good with plenty of hot water although no bathtubs. There is no room service and no information in rooms about the hotel. The staff are welcoming and helpful and all speak English. I will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget and who wants accessibility to all central attractions.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of information (check-in, check-out, facilities etc) in rooms
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

I just got back from a weekend in Paris and stayed at the Fortuny for one night.

The hotel is very central and ideally located for the big department stores - Printemps and Lafayette. Unlike other reviewers, I didn't encounter any tramps outside the hotel (and even if I had, that wouldn't have been the hotel's fault) but there was a group of homeless people at the top of the road sitting on one of the Metro vents to keep warm. To put things in perspective though - I spotted homeless people near the Ritz so that really shouldn't be a factor when selecting the hotel.

When I arrived and asked to check in, the guy on reception said he would see if my room was ready - which I wasn't too happy about since it was 2.30pm and check-in was from 2pm according to the information I'd received. Luckily the room was ready but I would've have been mightlily annoyed if it hadn't been.

They only have one small lift (for a max of 4 people) so I opted to take the stairs instead.

The room was very small. Actually, size-wise the bedroom was fine but the bathroom would not suit everyone. The room looked decent enough though and was clean as was the bathroom.

The walls were quite thin which was a little bit annoying since there was a family with a baby in the room next door. Luckily, there wasn't too much crying and I didn't hve any problems sleepin but it could be a problem for some people - depending on who's staying in the room next door.

Overall, for a 3-star hotel, the room was fine. 5 out of 10

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

After our wedding we spent a week end in Paris. When looking for accommodation, I filtered my search for hotels that included breakfast. The search returned this hotel. The prices were reasonable and we paid 258 GBP for 3 nights stay. However upon check-in , we were told that breakfast is not included and that it costs 13 euros per person. This was considered bit of a disappointment. the rooms are really really small. However, this was made up for the brilliant location. It is right by the Madeleine, which is a big tourist attraction and the stop off of one of the toutrist buses. If one feels like a long walk, it is close enough to the Champs Elysees. Overall the location is great , but if one can afford a bit more, I would have chosen another hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

We were very concerned about taking our parents on their first trip abroad and particularly concerned about the hotel. The Fortuny allayed all our fears. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms were very clean and spacious enough and two of the three rooms we occupied faced on to the street with large windows. The night was quiet. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Just before we left, we encountered a few problems in getting all our party to the train home on time and the staff were of great assistance. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortuny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuny

Address: 35, rue de l'Arcade | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,564 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fortuny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuny Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortuny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.