We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star but a good 2/3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Royale Montsouris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Royale Montsouris to your Saves list
Villa Royale Montsouris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 rue de la Tombe Issoire, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #513 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not 4 star but a good 2/3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July in the middle of the heatwave. Decor is Arabian and dated and public areas small (especially the lift which had a very strange smell and was shoddy). However we found the staff to be very friendly and very helpful and they all spoke some English. Our sons had ordered champagne and chocolates for the room which were there when we arrived and very nicely presented. Our room (4th floor) was spotlessly clean, not large but ok with fridge, safe and adequate storage though no hospitality tray. Wi fi worked fine as did the air con. The location is quiet and convenient for metro (10 mins into Cite) and has bars, restaurants and supermarkets close by. Not 4 star but a good 2 or even 3 star. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    208
    68
    49
    48
See reviews for
34
201
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was wholly misled by the four star rating. It was on the basis of that misleading rating that I mistakenly chose this out-of-the-way place.
Arriving on a blisteringly hot night, I found the air-conditioning did not operate anywhere in the hotel. There was only a night porter on duty. He said he could not reach the manager, could not refund my money, could not help to find another hotel. The very small size of the room, sub-standard bed, curious smell in the narrow corridor, shabby furnishings, small public area, lack of staff all were to be expected from a one-star hotel.
Despite being very tired, I felt unable to use the previously-booked room and went away at 11 pm to search for somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sébastien D, Responsable relations publiques at Villa Royale Montsouris, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are sorry for the misunderstanding, but we must inform our clients that the hotel La villa Royale Montsouris is a 3 stars hotel. We understand the disappointment of our client, if he was expecting a 4 stars hotel.
All our Rooms are corresponding to 3 stars official Level, as per as our services, for example, only one night porter is in duty at night. Also, in order to save the environment, we cut off the Air-conditioning during the day. It is true that the night our client arrived, temperatures outside where very hot (35°C), but we have checked the air conditioning system and it was operating well, but it is not strong enough to cold down the room to 18°C, when outside, temperatures are 35°C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was very beautifully done in a Moroccan style. The decorating style flowed from bedroom to bathroom and throughout the hotel. Nice colors, lot of work was put in to maintain the theme. The rooms were cleaned daily, staff accommodating, moved us to a room for better Wi-Fi service. Supermarkets close by, and a restaurant close to the hotlel. Montsoursis park is in walking distance, as well as the tram service into Porte de Versailles and the Expo centre. We actually walked one day, took about twenty mins of leisurely walking. It is not the centre of Paris so the area is quiet at nights. We had a nice stay, most of the staff spoke English, and those who didn't tried hard to communicate with us the best they could.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floors up are quieter and have better Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked two rooms and when we landed up in Hotel ..we were quite surprised to see the Interiors...it's like Arabian Nights ...quite congested Hotel ...and rooms were quite small...bathroom gates were having a center glass window so not much privacy if you are with friend...or with family....breakfast was okay but the chef was not at all co-operative...I didn't see any welcome smile on his face during my stay for almost a week...reception guys were okay and quite helpful...we had to suffer problem with Hot Water ...in freezing temperature we had to took bath in cold water for almost two days ....later they fixed up this problem...on the last day I ask for late check out bcoz my flight was late evening ...earlier they agreed but on the final day they refused ...but after lots of discussion they finally agreed to allow me for some hours ....I booked taxi from the Hotel for Airport and this taxi guy took me on ride and ended up with huge 98 Euros bill from Hotel to Airport ...which was quite high and moreover I ended of losing my carry bag...he stole my bag and runaway ....I sent a mail to the Hotel but no answer... may be this is not in there control...but they should have answered me and have arranged the contact details of the taxi company to trace this taxi driver ....but anyway the stay was okay comfortable but last day was not very good ....Hotel in general was okay for a business travelers.....central location ..near to Metro ....and close to Exposition ...I appreciate the support from Reception Guys ...one Gentlemen from some African country was the best ....a perfect front office manager ....I appreciate his customer handling ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we got to the hotel, there was 1 person there and he barely spoke English. Our room was outdated and had a crazy design that was not attractive at all (my opinion). The bathroom door had a window in it giving my sister and I no privacy. We had to wrap a towel over the window. The wifi barely worked. The rooms were cold and a little dirty and did not have much lighting at all. There is 1 restaurant next door and that is it! Nothing else around. When we were leaving I was waiting for 15 minutes in the lobby for my sister and then we were going to go to the airport (we were in a rush). It wasn't until we were walking out the door that the staff member decided to ask for a signature for the credit card! Completely unprofessional to wait 15 minutes and then ask when we were rushing out the door. This hotel is a complete headache. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Two days before travelling to Paris, we had booked a double room at Hotel. Fortunately we haven't paid in advance, due to some problems with online banking. I had contact with the staff to report this problem and they confirmed firmly that we could stay for the weekend and pay at our arrival. When we checked in at the hotel, the receptionist was very unkind, almost rude. He made a very unprofessional impression and knew nothing about the agreement we made on telephone. When we saw our room we were actually relieved not having paid in advance. The whole place looked not well cleaned at all, the walls were even really dirty, the bed small and dusty, the furniture worn-out, the curtains torn by moths. Moreover the room was extremely small, almost claustrophobic, and very dark. Some of the lights didn't even work.
We went complaining at the reception, where there was another couple unsatisfied with their room. Since we expected a four-star hotel, this stuffy, dusty place was a huge disappointment; we finally took our luggage and left, searching for another place to sleep (which we eventually found, a little cheaper but at least twice worth the price).
I want to warn everybody for this hotel. This hotel is hardly worth a three-star rating and the price is much too high for what you get. It's maybe close to a (even distant) metrostation, but you'll find a much better deal in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very Poor quality overall. The reception staff should be taught to smile ( send them to the east ) dirty carpets and floor, bathroom and toilet dirty. No assistance from the staff at all they should be given training to smile. Never will we stay here again and will not recommend at all.

Room Tip: nothing good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Royale Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Montsouris

Address: 144 rue de la Tombe Issoire, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#129 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#168 Business Hotel in Paris
#509 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you know, before actually entering the Villa Royale Montsouris, that you would be crossing the Mediterranean? The lobby, decorated in Andalusian-Moorish style, is a perfect representation of the charms of the Orient. Colonnades and vaulted ceilings, copper, zelliges and wrought iron make the hotel look like a traditional Moroccan riad. Combine the stories of One Thousand and One Nights with draperies, sheer curtains and precious fabrics and the rooms seem to jump straight of oriental palaces. The elements of the decor bring brightly-coloured touches to the place: the reds of the floor tiles and the ochres of the earthenware, the Majorelle blue of the doors, which, when closed, make Paris seem very far away. In this exotic and wonderful universe, the service provided by the attentive staff add a personal note to the unique charm of the establishment, located in a peaceful district of the Capital, near the Parc de Montsouris and the tram that’s a direct connection with the Porte de Versailles Convention and Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Royale Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Montsouris Hotel Paris
Hotel Royal Montsouris
Royal Montsouris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Royale Montsouris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.