We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Opera Garnier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Opera Garnier to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de l'Isly, 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #689 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location; great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is probably the best 'all rounder' for a trip to Paris. It's right next to St Lazare train station, taxi rank, bus stops etc and numerous metro stations are within a minute's walk. It's a stone's throw from many restaurants and cafes, and Boulevard Haussman shops (Printemps and LaFayette) are on your doorstep.

The hotel inside is modern, clean and comfortable. It has a nice, good sized lobby and bar area - much better fitted than many hotels in Paris, which can a bit tacky/dated. The rooms initially appear to be a little basic for a 4* hotel but its modern fittings (excellent bed!) make them pleasant and comfortable, and they are very clean and well maintained.

Most rooms are, indeed, fairly small (I think 'Privilege' rooms are bit more spacious) and have tiny bathrooms and wardrobes but they contain everything you could need. There is a kettle, minibar, free tea and coffee, hairdryer, flat TV and in-room safe. We also requested an iron and ironing board which were immediately supplied. There is free wifi available everywhere in the hotel and there is room service. The porters are sweet and speak English, and the reception staff are generally attentive enough when required.

We did not have the hotel's breakfast but given the cost of eating in Paris generally (not cheap!), I don't think it's especially expensive (hotel food is usually expensive anywhere you go). There is a Starbucks behind the hotel near the station and plenty of cafes around, so a budget breakfast is not hard to find.

Other reviewers have complained about the external noise but it seems ridiculous to expect a hotel in such a (fantastically convenient) location in the middle of a big city like Paris is sound proofed against traffic noise. The windows are double glazed and this blocks out a good deal but if you really can't tolerate a bit of city noise, best go elsewhere than stay here, then complain about it.

Having stayed in a few other 3* and 4* hotels in Paris in the past, I think this is the best I've seen for this level/category. It's a 4* because it is serviced and equipped as such, NOT because it is luxurious. For us, it included everything we needed and we slept very well so we would come back. Our booking was included with our Eurostar ticket which made it a excellent value package.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th/5th floors are quietest or lower floors overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    347
    149
    41
    13
See reviews for
86
292
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you have read my review of the Mercure Royal Madeline “No Room at the Inn”, you will be aware that we were moved from the hotel we had booked many weeks previously to the Mercure Opera Garnier. This hotel was only a three minute walk from the Royal Madeline so no problems there and the receptionist at the Opera Garnier was expecting us when we arrived. We were allocated a room on the second floor and surprised to find that it was ‘tiny’ and cold. I turned up the thermostat and overnight the temperature was fine. As I stay regularly at Accor hotels and am a ‘Platinum card holder’ I was disappointed that we had been allocated such a room but did not complain that evening.
The next day I returned to the room in the afternoon and it was again cold but this time changing the thermostat did not have any affect. It was at this stage that my wife had “had enough” and complained to the receptionist. This had the desired effect. We were moved to a “Privilege” room which was much larger, had more facilities and, importantly, was much warmer.
On a positive note the free Wi-Fi is a real plus (UK hotels please note!) and the breakfast is very good. So, days two and three of our stay were enjoyable; if only the same could be said of all three.

I have awarded an 'average' for the rooms since the two varied between 'poor' and 'very good'.

Room Tip: Ask for a “Privilege” room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stay here several times
the location it is very good near the Grand Magasines and Gare Saint Lazare
It is very ease to use the Roissy bus for the transfer fron CDG AIRPORT
Near RER and Metro
The hotel was renovated recently
The rooms are small-usual for Paris -but clean,the breakfast average but expensive at 18 eur and near by are a lot of cafe includind the famous Cafe de la Paix
The staff helpful

Room Tip: the prestige room are better but not very big difference with free minibar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very good hotel, nice rooms, cosy bar,... If you are looking for a good hotel without the glimmer and glamour, this is the hotel you are looking for. All the basics are there and combined with lovely staff to make your visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay. I took the Roissybus-Opera bus from Charles de Gaulle airport and found it very easy to get to and from the bus stop. The bus itself took nearly an hour since I arrived into terminal 3 (first stop on the bus for pick-up and last to be dropped off). The hotel is very close to Printemps and Galleries Lafayette, which was great because I was in Paris to shop! The rooms are very very small... I was traveling by myself so it was OK, but I can't imagine sharing a room with someone else. The mattress on the bed was more like a thin pad. It was clean though, and that is what's important! The rooms were expensive for the size at 129 EUR/night, but I picked it based on the location and it was one of the most legit economical places at the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Opera Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Opera Garnier

Address: 4 rue de l'Isly, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#439 Family Hotel in Paris
#569 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Opera Garnier 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Paris, near the Opera and the Deparment Stores "Printemps" and "Galeries Lafayette". Soundproofed & air-conditioned rooms. Direct dial-telephone, internet connection.TV, safe. Bar. Flowered courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Paris Opera Garnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Opera Garnier Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Opera Garnier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Opera Garnier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.