We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuisine de bar

Cuisine de bar
8 rue du Cherche-Midi, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
+33 1 45 48 45 69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #750 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Pretty good for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We chose this place for a light morning meal after coming from a transatlantic flight that arrived in Paris at 7 AM. We were looking for a place where you could actually sit down with morning pastries and coffee, since it was winter and we wanted to be inside. In the past we had gone to Paul's for this, but we wanted to take it up a notch!
Here's my summary:
Pros: Poilane bread is wonderful and is served here with jam and butter. The croissants (plain and chocolate) were also fantastic. One other plus: the cafe creme was served in a large bowl so it was equivalent to about 2 cups of coffee, a nice thing since you don't ever get free refills in Paris.
Cons: Pricey (well, what isn't in Paris?). Service was a little slow and staff not particularly friendly. Also, the menu for "breakfast" is very limited since Poilane does not make every patisserie (example: no pain au raisin).
I'm sure this place would be great for lunch. It's very small, however, so I don't know how crowded it gets.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had to wait in line in the rain to get into this sandwich shop, but it was worth it. Our open-faced sandwiches (San Marcellin cheese and ham with emphasis on the cheese and pastrami) were quite good. I would say that the ham and cheese sandwich was more delicious than the pastrami, but both were very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Cuisine de bar is the place to come for a taste of the world famous poilane bread, as this little gem is just next door to Poilane. They use Poilane sourdough bread to make the tartine (open face sandwiches) here.
We came here at 2pm, after the lunch crowd and easily got a table without waiting.

There is lunch set which at Eur13.50, which offers great value for money, as it comes with a choice of soup or salad, tartine, wine or water and coffee or tea. We had the Tartine For'Bon and Tartine Saumon and both were excellent. We finished the meal with an excellent apple tart.
This is best tartine we ever had in Paris, and yes, the Poilane sourdough bread is very good.
This is one of our most memorable meal in Paris !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently visited this charming restaurant twice, once for Sunday brunch and once for a quick lunch. We ate a wonderful egg dish with salmon, a salmon tartine, and a tartine made with foie gras and fig conserve. I love their simple salad with the fresh vinaigrette. The staff was very helpful and friendly and recommended a perfect glass of wine to have with the meal. Located just a couple of blocks from the Sevres Babylone metro stop, it's easy to get to. You can also purchase some punitions and bread from Poilane.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Petit dejeuner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a lovely Sunday brunch here. Wonderful egg dish, "eggs in a blanket" with a side of the famous bread from Poilane next door. A great neighborhood spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuisine de bar also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cuisine de bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuisine de bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.