We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True - Real - Excellent Italian Food - wonderful Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo 42

L'Angolo 42
42 Rue Broca, 75005 Paris, France
01 43 36 14 74
Improve this listing
Ranked #910 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Megeve, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“True - Real - Excellent Italian Food - wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I did not imagine that such a wonderful place could exist in Paris. Everything was perfecto : polenta, pizza, carpaccio and wine. Deserves a detour to meet the true italian ambiance. Nice people providing all information you need with a very kind service. We will be back. An incredible discovery thanks to Tripadvisor. Now it is on my own favorite list.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have not been to Italy yet so not sure what to expect out there. However this place brought Italy to me. I really like Italian food but this place has made me fall in love with Italian food. This place is very humble, in fact they do not even have printed menus but boy they can cook. They serve fresh olives and bread sticks as complimentary appetizers to go along with your drink.

I ordered a mushroom Pasta starter (on special request) and Pizza for my main course. The two best plate of Italian food I have ever had. Pasta was served with some superb home made bread and flavor full Parmesan cheese. The pizza had artichoke, aubergine, peppers and tomato. This place is heaven for people who prefer vegetarian food: ample selection. The only negative is that this place is hidden but if you are lucky enough to spot it then you are on for a treat.

I will definitely visit this place again when I am in Paris and ask my friends to visit this place when they are travelling to Paris. A must place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely find, unfortunately we ate here on our last night otherwise we would definitely have been more than once. A very quaint restaurant with chalkboard menus, service was exceptionnal and the food was authentic italian! Would recommend to anyone staying in the latin quarter but you want to go early or make a reservation as it is a small venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Italy in Paris not what you would expect but great helpful staff and amazing food. Probabily the best meal in paris! Thank you....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yellowknife
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious, affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Paris for 10 days in May. We went to this restaurant three times. I speak French, but most of the staff speak English (even if it's just a little bit) and do their absolute best to make sure that you understand their delicious menu.
My favourite appetizer was the huge ball of soft cheese on a bed of fresh greens. I don't remember what it was called (I don't speak Italian) but the cheese may have been called buffalo.
We had drinks, wine, two appetizers and two meals and I don't think we ever paid more than 60 euros.
I know Paris is full of delicious restaurants, but this hidden gem is an absolute must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo 42 also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Angolo 42? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo 42, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.