We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, but a lovely hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Nell

Save Saved
You added Residence Nell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Nell
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   60 Rue Richer, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but a lovely hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having spent four nights at Disneyland Paris with the four kids, we wanted to show them a little of Paris itself, so we booked 2 nights in a Luxe apartment at Residence Nell.

A Luxe apartment comprises two adjoining apartments - one larger than the other - with the connecting doors opened up. It therefore had two double bedrooms, a living room area with a double sofa bed, two shower rooms, and two kitchenettes (each with a fridge, small hob, Nespresso machine, microwave, ironing board, and iron, as well as a couple of pans, crockery, cutlery, and basic utensils).

There was loads of space for the six of us. All the beds were very comfortable, including the sofa bed. The apartment was very well equipped, although you'd struggle to cook a meal for six I'd imagine (we didn't try). The shower rooms were a good size. The decor and cleanliness throughout was of a high standard in my view.

The hotel is located in an area of Paris that seems to have "buzz". This can mean some traffic noise, but it is central Paris, after all...

There is very easy access (short walk) to various Metro stations with direct connections to all the major sites: Notre-Dame de-Lorettes for Sacre Coeur; Le Peletier for the Louvre and Notre Dame; Grands Boulevards for the Eiffel Tower. Also just a short walk to Galeries Lafayette.

We found two boulangeries, two mini-markets, and numerous reasonable-looking restaurants within a five-minute walk of the hotel. There are also numerous bars and cafes. The hotel has no restaurant itself.

We drove, and there is a public car park about a five-minute walk from the hotel. When we were there it cost 31 euros per day - not cheap, but not extortionate for central Paris either. The only slight problem we had in this respect was finding somewhere to stop near the hotel temporarily while we unloaded the car, but that was partly because we hadn't done a great job of repacking when we left Disneyland - it wasn't simply a case of dragging a couple of suitcases.

All in all, a really good place to stay if you want to experience Paris and you want a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor (101+102). It didn't cause us any problem at all (even with the kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Brian,


What a wonderful and complete review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the team join me to thank you so much.

You said everything, you're almost local now, a kind of parisian. ;)

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you and your family again in a near future.


All my team and I stay at your disposal by phone or email for any booking or information.


Warm regards,

Arnaud Valary
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    41
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
28
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Firstly, we arrived after a week in the south of France where we had self catered in a house.
We had lots of stuff. The room was a Classic Apartment, and it was small. I was disappointed at first particularly as it was not at all cheap and was billed as v luxe.It wasn't luxurious, it was functional. The space has apparently been designed by Patrick Jouot. Well, maybe Patrick has good taste, but he can't design a small space. There was a severe lack of storage in the living area- there was a cupboard which was tall enough to fit clothes in etc, with just a pole and the table mats for the dining table precariously balanced on that pole! And it would have been the perfect place for coat hooks. The bedside tables are black perspex boxes- no drawers. Only proper cupboard in Kitchenette is the one with the bin in under the sink. We had loads of food for our two children and no-where to put it meaning we ended up with bags everywhere. When I'm at home or away, I like everything neat and out of the way. Maybe that's just me. It was very clean and the housekeeping was excellent but it was also very soul-less.There were a few tiles missing in the shower which really in a 4 star property should be replaced.
Having said all of the above, I warmed to our tiny pied a terre. We put our children to bed in the bedroom with door shut so that we could sit and chat and then transplanted them into the sofa bed later. The airconditioning in Paris in July is fabulous. We really looked forward to the icy blast every time we got back and opened the door!
I do take issue with the Brian94010 reviewer who said it was a gritty area. It's not really gritty. We felt very safe there. Yes, it's kind of Pigalle, but Pigalle has really come up in the past couple of years or so. In fact I stayed 2 streets away a few years ago before I was married and I felt totally safe even then. We loved the local restaurants, the Metro line 8 is really handy- no changes to the Trocadero which is the best view of the Eiffel Tower, walking distance to Opera and Galeries Lafayette plus we walked to Rue des Martyrs and Monmartre and honestly we walked miles from there all over Paris with 2 small children in tow most of the time! There are some fantastic restaurants nearby- not all of them the usual tourist traps- eg Albion is fantastic, Buvette too, we found a great bistro called Coinstot Vino in Passages Panorama just off the nearest Boulevard- all locals. The Chocolate Shop across the road from the hotel is an absolute gem. You are also 5 minutes from Chartier- awful food, but cheap and the surroundings and experience of old Paris are not to be missed.The staff here were great and we had a babysitter twice so we could go to dinner and celebrate husband's birthday. Overall, the 9th is a great base. A little pricey for what it is- but it did the job and we can recommend.

Room Tip: We had 402- no problem with noise although we overlooked the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Maudey,

We thank you for your complete review.

I can see that you did many things in Paris and you know the area well!
As you said, the area is safe and we can walk everywhere.

We are glad that you recommend our establishment.

Don't hesitate to send us an email for your next trip in Paris, or book on our website.

Best regards,

Arnaud Valary
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel was located in an area similar to Tenderloin section of San Francisco, Hotel was fine but remote from major attractions. Major problem was hotel was located in area we found to be gritty. Find another hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are surprised that you leaved this comment because we are in a touristic area: 10 minutes walk from Opera-Galeries Lafayette, 20 minutes from Montmartre-Sacré Coeur and from Le Louvre.

There are many activities and many things to see in this district.
Our conciergerie could make you some recommendations..

Kind regards,

Arnaud Valary

Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked this hotel after reading good reviews about the hotel and that the hotel rooms were bigger than they usually are in Paris. A day before our arrival, we received an email from the hotel saying that the reservation did not exist. The reason that the reservation did not exist was because of a computer problem. The hotel was very accommodating and helped us in their best way. After a few e-mail to resolve this in the best way they booked the first night at another hotel nearby and then they arranged so that we could stay with them the rest of the time. Once we arrived in Paris, they had solved so that we could stay at the hotel throughout our stay which was very good and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel upgraded us to a very nice apartment with a balcony and we are very grateful for this as it was our honeymoon. The hotel has friendly staff, a really good location in central Paris and the apartments are nice and clean. It is walking distance to several metro stations nearby. We can really recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear C.K,


We thank you so much for this nice review.

I apologize again about this problem and I am glad that we solved this to welcome you.

It was a real pleasure to have you here and we sincerely hope to welcome you again for your nest trip in Paris.

All the staff stay at your disposal by email, for any booking or information and we wish you much happiness in your life together ! :)


Warm regards,

Arnaud Valary, Chief Operating Officer
Josselin Hutter, Front Office & Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good location. 10 min walk to Cadet metro station, 25 min walk to Opera or Louvre musee. Service was good. Rooms are nicely decorated, though VERY SMALL, apartrmant is about 25-30 m2. Kitchinette has a nesspressso machine, hotplate and a MW, small fridge. Misses utensils, tea-towelles, cooking pots- don't expect anything more than a coffie or a boiled egg in the morning. Hotel offers breakfast- overpriced for what you get- there's more better ans less expencive choices in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear sophia m,

We thank you for your comment.

Indeed, apartments are from 26 to 37 square meters which is a nice area for an establishment in the heart of Paris.

Also, there is cooking pots, dishes and cutlery in the apartments and we have many guests who cook in their apartment.

Anyway, we hope you enjoyed your trip in Paris.

Kind regards,

Arnaud Valary
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Picking a hotel for your very first stay in Paris is a gamble. The neighborhoods are numerous and one can be easily intimidated by making such a choice. I picked Residence Nell based solely on what I could read it about it online. As it turns out I was very lucky. RN was exactly what I had hoped for: a discreet, quiet, clean and elegant pied-a-terre in the heart of Paris with all the modern conveniences we have come to expect. The location is very central. The monuments that aren’t walking distance are a very fast Metro ride away. The staff is courteous, bi-lingual and always ready to help. The rooms are very comfortable fully furnished apartments with full kitchens. I see no reason to try elsewhere. Residence Nell will be my home base from now on whenever I stay in Paris.

Room Tip: My only recommendation: ask for one of the two rooms on the 6th floor as they are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear JPEAZY2014 ,

What a wonderful review. Thank you so much!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be a pleasure to be your home base for your next trips in Paris.

Don't hesitate to contact us by email to have the best deal.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Valary
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Room 103 in June 2014. This room is directly above a bar / cafe and just across from another. The patrons were up till well past 2am each night and it sounded like they were in our room with us. 4 nights of no sleep. We were told the hotel was full and no other rooms were available. It is unacceptable that they would put anyone in that room (not to mention a family with children). The room itself was nice - but we were there in the evenings to sleep not party with the world cup in the bar below. This was a BAD experience and not what you would expect and certainly not what you pay for when booking an expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from any hotel that has "bad rooms" as you might get stuck in one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NELL09, Directeur général at Residence Nell, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Gary H,

We thank you for your comment.

As your arrived at 5 people instead of 4 on your booking (and 4 people maximum per room), exceptionally we have accommodated you in a Deluxe Apartment which is bigger, but the last one was on the first floor.

We feel sorry that you didn't sleep because of the noise of the restaurant and the bar next door.
Indeed, we are in a lively area with many restaurants, bars, café... so unfortunately we cannot avoid all the noise from the street.

Be sure we will check often with our neighborhood to avoid this kind of problem.

We stay at your disposal.

Kind regards,
Arnaud valary
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Nell

Address: 60 Rue Richer, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Nell 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Paris's 9th arrondissement, Residence NELL **** welcomes you to the intimacy of a private mansion. This unique setting contains 17 apartments and studios designed by Patrick Jouin, available to you for stays of a night, a week or a month... Welcome to Residence NELL ****, combining the luxury of a pied a terre with the carefully designed decor and comfort of a four-star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Nell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.