We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARIS STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Nell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Nell to your Saves list
Residence Nell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Rue Richer, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“PARIS STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just return from a wonderful pre Christmas trip to Paris , we stay in the residence Nell .I have to say it was a wonderful experience , the apartments feel big enough to give you a sense that you belong to the city rather than being just a guest . They are very clean and modern ,which we like . The location is perfect if you like to walk to Montmartre , to the Opera and beyond .
The staff were very friendly and efficient certainly on par with 5 star hotel I have stayed in Paris before . I recommend this for what ever your sort of trip it is .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

How pleasant it is to read such a nice feedback from your experience at Résidence NELL.

There cannot be any better reward to us to be qualified as a “wonderful experience” and we are pleased that you had the impression of being a Parisian with us !

We hope to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy new year 2013!

Kind regards,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    52
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
103
36
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I were in Paris for 3 days for a music festival. We stumbled upon the website for Residence Nell and decided to give it a shot due to its proximity to the festival site. We're very happy we did. This hotel, due to its size, feels more like you're staying in an apartment. What immediately struck us was the size. This is never an issue for us as it's part of being in Paris, but rooms tend to be small. However, this is not the case with Nell. Since it's been converted, the rooms seem to retain the sizing of what I imagine was original proportions. Again, not an issue as, if you're in Paris, you're not really looking to stay in your room the whole time. But, it was nice to be able to stretch out a bit.

Upon our arrival, our room was not ready. We had flown overnight and were very tired, so they were very accommodating and offered us a room that was ready, even though the room was an upgrade. This was incredibly gracious and kind of them, and not something they were obligated to do. So, points scored for customer service.

The room itself was beautiful. Wonderful herringbone wood floors, contemporary furniture and decor, modern bathroom and even a small kitchenette.

The location is fantastic, particularly if you're looking to do a lot of things on the right bank as its walking distance from many things. However, getting around is not an issue as there is a metro stop (Cadet) one block away.

The staff was incredibly kind and hospitable, helping us with restaurant recommendations, providing us with a power adapter (we mistakenly left ours back in the US), and helped us with getting a cab at very early hour for our departure.

Overall, this is a wonderful little hotel that is a break from your normal hotel stay. If you want something that feels a little more quaint, a bit more like staying in a home/apartment vs a hotel, I'd highly recommend Residence Nell. Our visit was wonderful and we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay at Résidence Nell in Paris. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share all your concerns.

We are delighted that you liked the Hotel’s style and decoration, its convenient location in the heart of Paris and that you enjoyed your experience with our team and our service exceeded your expectations.

There cannot be any better reward to us to be qualified as a “wonderful hotel” and we thank you very much for this.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Résidence Nell in Paris very soon.

Kind regards,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is an amazing combination of a city hotel in an old and charming building, but modern and fresh while still being intimate and cozy - far from the big newly built hotels.
Reception is open around the clock and please use them for advice on restaurants, places to go etc, because they are both knowledgeable and eager to help. A big plus.
Our room was at the top floor and actually in a rebuilt attic. We had a bedroom and a living room with a kitchenette and a bathroom. The fold-out bed in the living room was very comfortable as was the twin bed in the bedroom.
You are within walking distance of the Metro and restaurants are just outside the door.
But do avoid the minibar since prices are simply stupid. A convenience store is just outside the door, and the fridge has room for plenty.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Résidence NELL and in Paris.

There cannot be any better reward to us to be qualified as an amazing hotel and we thank you very much for this.

We hope to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy new year 2013!

Kind regards,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had stayed first two nights over by Eiffel Tower area at a Best Western. Moving to the Opera district and the Nell saved our impression of Paris as a positive one. Great staff, larger clean rooms, wonderful area that comes alive at night for strolling around and feeling part of Paris vs a tourist. It's higher dollar but so is everything in Paris. Only complaint is the internet, they use a silly system of unique user/pass required every login PER unique device.. so popping in and out of the room to use internet, check email etc was a bit obnoxious as you'd have to find the laminated card and enter the tiny info on the web login screen.. Fix that and I'd say everything else was perfect, great staff, friendly and helpful, spoke english well. We had a 8 month old with us so the extra space was really great. You have to upgrade room to get a tub though, seems like bathing in Paris is a luxury.

Room Tip: the higher floor you go, the quieter the traffic but still expect NYC type honking and noises until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing a positive review regarding your recent stay at Résidence NELL in Paris last November.

Your comments regarding our quality of service is a very nice reward and I will make sure to share your positive feedback with my team.

Still, we understand that the internet service may seem a bit tedious… This system is used in accordance to the French law, for security reasons. We will try to work on it and we thank you for this constructive feedback.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you during another stay in Paris with us in our residence and wish to all your family a happy new year 2013!

Kind regards,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Residence Nell is a recently renovated small hotel, but without restaurant or cafe. Classic rooms were very well appointed, with an IPlayer Dock, Nespresso machine, fridge, 2 TVs and other useful stuff. The bedroom had a double bed and the separate lounge a double sofa bed, which was very comfortable. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The Rue Richer location is close to Gare du Nord (about 15mins in a taxi), and in a good area with lots of bars, restaurants and shops - also close to two Metro stations with easy connections to the sights.
Overall an excellent place for a family stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors enjoy reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind review that we take as an encouragement to keep working on improving our services as well as the homey feeling we try to provide to our guests.

We are located in a nice and lively street of Paris, “rue Richer”. We are lucky to be surrounded by great Parisian bistros & traditional French restaurants that our team likes to recommend and book for you.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again in our Residence or in our 5* hotel, located a few meters away. Don’t hesitate to contact us for any information, we will be pleased to help you.

Kind regards,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyiv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was a great hotel in paris.I was in Paris 5 times and in differents hotels and i can tell that residence Nell is the BEST!Very good bed,furniture.Also very kindly staff.In 15 minutes walk from Grand Opera and Galerie Lafaete.Will stay again)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Iryna,

“спасибо », We would like to thank you for writing such a positive review about the Résidence Nell regarding your stay in Paris.

We are delighted that your experience in our residence was most pleasant and that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments are a very nice reward for all of our staff.

We will share your kind comments with the Front Desk team, everyone having contributed to the success of your stay amongst us. Please, note that it was a pleasure for us too to welcome you and share some time with you.

Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so we are truly happy to that you appreciated your room and the overall quality of our services.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Résidence Nell very soon, we wish you a happy new year 2013!

Sincerely yours,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We currently live in Stuttgart, Germany and after the reviews decided to take the Ice train to Paris. Very glad we did. The Hotel is 10 minutes from the Paris Est stop. The location is Excellent. Restaurants, grocery shopping, fresh fruit everywhere. There is a restaurant next door and probably 20 others within 10 minutes walking. Two metro's were close also. At first I was very skeptical about the 31 meters square room with 2 children, but trust me we had plenty room. The added bonus was the small kitchen. I usually prefer to cook breakfast, but this was the first time I didn't. Paris is awesome. Take the time and bring your family.The Hotel staff was like family, trying to make sure you were comfortable and happy. The Hotel truly deserves it rating 41/2 to 5. The reason I gave it a 4 is there is a lot of noise on the third floor. We originally had the 5th, but we had a small problem with the drainage and received a larger room on the 3rd floor. Take it from me, if you are a light sleeper, stay on 5th or 6th floor. You do not have a view of the city, but you will probably have a balcony which is great for viewing your immediate surroundings. Also this Hotel takes the time and has a welcome letter waiting for you in your room. Not to mention bath robes and house slippers in case you forgotten yours. The Hotel pictures are exactly what the rooms look like.

p.s. If you book with expedia you will save money, but they will not change your dates. Only talk to Hotel staff if you experience any changes.

Room Tip: Do not drive to Paris. Take the train. Higher floor are quieter. Take euros, not u.s. currency. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CecileNell, Responsable réception at Residence Nell, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the nice review you took the time to post on Trip Advisor website about your stay at our residence.

Your comments regarding our location, our apartments and the quality of service are a very nice reward for us and we will make sure to share your positive feedback with the team.

Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, but it is true that the 9th district is a lively one. If you happen to be a “light sleeper” as you say, you can request one of the few classical apartments whose bedroom overlooks the courtyard. Don’t hesitate to contact me personally for a future booking and I will do my best to give you a quiet apartment.

Otherwise, why not try our 5* hotel for your next stay In Paris, located a few streets away in a quieter area?

Nevertheless, we are thrilled to know that you had “a pleasant surprise” with your family and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Résidence NELL.

Yours sincerely,

Cécile, Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Nell

Address: 60 Rue Richer, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Nell 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Paris's 9th arrondissement, Residence NELL **** welcomes you to the intimacy of a private mansion. This unique setting contains 17 apartments and studios designed by Patrick Jouin, available to you for stays of a night, a week or a month... Welcome to Residence NELL ****, combining the luxury of a pied a terre with the carefully designed decor and comfort of a four-star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Nell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.