We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not 4 Star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #861 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location but not 4 Star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We had two nights here for a whopping €540 inc. breakfast (which we thought was included but got told at the end of our stay that it wasn't). The locations is nicely central, and the staff acceptably helpful. However, the rooms are small (admittedly common in central Paris, but even by those standards), and they are only modestly appointed with a tiny shower room. The finish & fittings are definitely not 4 star standard; no higher than 3 at best, and we left with the feeling we'd paid considerably more than we should have done. If you manage to get a room for €135/night, this hotel would be a good choice given the hotel is in central Paris, but at twice that it's simply overpriced and best avoided.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    90
    44
    22
    13
See reviews for
37
93
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Really close to lots of attractions, easy walking distance to most attractions and to underground. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The only bad thing I can say is that late at night the area has lots of homeless people and young people drunk from the nearby bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

First of all, you can't really get to the hotel by car even if you could, the driver has to drive around so it's definitely not an ideal hotel when you are traveling with lots of luggage.

Neighborhood: It's surrounded by restaurants & bars so you can imagine it's quite filthy there so I wouldn't recommend any single female traveler to stay there. When I checked out in the morning on a Saturday - the street smelled like urine, it was disgusting and I just couldn't wait to get out of there. Shopping is convenient (high-street brands) so it depends what you are looking for.

Cleanliness: average, the room i stayed in was ok.

Service / Staff: They were pleasant but the guy who checked me in / out was obviously very new and inexperience and he tried to charge me twice as he insisted my online booking hasn't been paid. It's quite ridiculous actually. Don't expect any additional service as there's no porters or any kind of service. the elevator was the tiniest elevator I have ever seen in my life, you can only fit 2 people in there WITHOUT any suitcases or luggage.

Overall, I would not return there and much rather stay in other hotels with the same budget.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great location, close to everything and walkable to all the major sites. The staff was outstanding and sooo helpful and friendly. Our room was super cute and perfect for our 5 night stay with two kids. They loved the adorable elevator that holds three people.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Very nice hotel in the centre of Paris close to the Chatalet Metro station. Get the Place St Opportune exit and the hotel is to your right a few steps away. Boutique style and (as the hotel site states) the rooms are on the small size, but well laid out, clean and air conditioned. There were some signs of wear and tear. But the people were very pleasant and when asked spoke English. A present of Macaroons on arrival was a nice thought.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Firstly the hotel is so well placed for restaurants and Paris street shopping perfect !
Metro nearby And lots to see and do
The room we had was fab , great - perhaps room instructions would have been good as I couldn't get anything to work
The lift is small but heh character
The downstairs should be a bar it's so nice
Staff really helpful so all in all a v nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We booked and paid for this Paris hotel eight months before arrival. Unfortunately two weeks before our trip my partner broke his ankle so was unable to travel. We asked the hotel if they would help us and change our reservation for another four night stay later in the year at a date to suit the hotel. They refused to help or refund our payment. We will definitely be visiting Paris again but not at this hotel where customer service doesn't exist.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.