We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #879 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Oakland, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had two connecting rooms (25 & 26) for ourselves and two teenagers, which were very convenient. You cannot ask for a better location. The Metro is just a few steps away, and shopping and restaurants are beyond plentiful right outside the door. Also, the Louvre and Pont Neuf are within walking distance. Every day we found a different street or section of Les Halles that we hadn't seen. The rooms were small (our kid's was a little bigger than ours), but efficient. There is a European shower in each (only tub with handheld shower). Staff was extremely helpful in giving directions, and when my son had an allergic reaction to the sheets, they very kindly rewashed them in the hotel (as opposed to outside service) that day, and he was fine. My only complaint about the hotel was the a/c in our room seemed to be barely working. Also, it can get loud in 25 as that room is outside a lively area, but the only time it really bothered me was on Bastille Day. On the flip side, you have an interesting option for people-watching.

We arranged taxi pickup to and from airport with the hotel, who answered our e-mail immediately. I highly suggest doing this, as when we used other cabs around town, they said they couldn't drop us off in front bc it's a pedestrian area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    44
    22
    13
See reviews for
36
92
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a nice Parisian hotel centrally located in Paris - a great place to stay if visiting the main sights.
As an American you may be surprised by the small room size and lack of a good shower but once you get used to that you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Being on a thriving street it can be a little loud... so higher up is better, but my room had excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Second time of staying here, and will stay again.
Travelled to Paris via Eurostar this time, and Gare Du Nord is just a few stops from Chatelet on Metro Line 4. As you emerge from underground, the hotel is a few metres in front of you.
Hotel is very close to the Louvre, and just very handy for a lot of the touristy places.
We had a room with balcony overlooking the street - which is much better than no view!!
Staff are excellent and very friendly (and I didn't need to try my schoolboy French).
All-in-all very satisfactory.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a view/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location if you want to be close to the Louvre or Notre Dame. Rooms are small. Definitely no bells and whistles but I guess that is common in France. Shower was pretty bad. There was not a shower door which causes our bathroom to have water in it every time we showered. My main was complaint was they did not include breakfast for me even though it was listed on my confirmation email from them. I asked four different people that worked there and they would not even listen to me. They just thought it was strange that it said that with no further explanation. The elevator was extremely tiny. If location is not an issue then choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our room was small at 11m2 (we knew when we booked and from reading reviews that the more reasonably priced rooms were on the small side) but we found the location more than compensated being just metres from two major metro stations, shops on Rue de Rivoli, and lively bars, cafes and restaurants just frequented by a younger crowd just outside the door. Its also well placed for walking to the Seine and then along to the Louvre and back to Notre Dame. The room itself while small was well equipped with TV, hairdryer, shower, shaver, walk-in closet and shower room and we had a room overlooking the courtyard which we asked for as we had read it was quieter than the rooms at the front which overlook the pedestrianised area and therefore more noisy from the bars below. All in all an ideal place to stay if you don't plan on spending too much time in your room, want to have nightlife on your doorstep and the tourist sights within easy walking or metro journeys.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and i along with my 4 year old child decided to pick this hotel for our short stay in paris. After a long flight, we arrived at the hotel around 7am. We were asked to wait till about 1030am to get our room. We understood that check in wasnt till noon but thought that the hotel would accommodate as most hotels usually would based on my experience. So we waited for about 3 and a half hours. The staff was beyond rude. They were not welcoming at all. They dont have any one to carry luggage up. My husband had to take the suitcases one at a time as the elevators would not fit more then one luggage. When we got into the room, i was shocked. It was smelly and disgusting looking. It didnt help that it was so small that we couldnt even fit 2 of our suitcases along with one carry on. They put a mattress on the floor for my daughter which she didnt use. The washroom toilet was dirty. The bathtub was equally dirty. We took pictures, but are having trouble uploading them. Will try to get them uploaded. The room was so bad that the AC didnt work, no iron, cracks all over on the wall. Its definetly not a 4 star. its a 2 star if anything. We paid about $1100.00 for 3 nights which was insane for this hotel. i dont even find this hotel to be central. Its a ghetto, trashy hotel with bums all around the hotel who beg you for money. Upon check out, they asked us what we drank from the minibar. We had two bottles of water which they charged us 8 euros. Usually water bottles r complimentary. If you want to enjoy your stay in Paris, do not stay here. You will regret it as the staff is horrible and on top of that the rooms are disgusting. It doesnt help when you have to lug ur luggage yourself on a vacation. On top of all of that, we had a small child who was sleepy and hungry and we were not accommodated to what so ever. If you want to stay in this location, There is a Novotel near by, it looked a lot nicer and staff seemed to me a lot more professional. But please dont waste a dime on this hotel. absolutely disgusting.

Room Tip: please do not book here. Absolutely terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.