We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #857 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
pensacola
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, but average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location if you want to be close to the Louvre or Notre Dame. Rooms are small. Definitely no bells and whistles but I guess that is common in France. Shower was pretty bad. There was not a shower door which causes our bathroom to have water in it every time we showered. My main was complaint was they did not include breakfast for me even though it was listed on my confirmation email from them. I asked four different people that worked there and they would not even listen to me. They just thought it was strange that it said that with no further explanation. The elevator was extremely tiny. If location is not an issue then choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    90
    44
    22
    13
See reviews for
37
93
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our room was small at 11m2 (we knew when we booked and from reading reviews that the more reasonably priced rooms were on the small side) but we found the location more than compensated being just metres from two major metro stations, shops on Rue de Rivoli, and lively bars, cafes and restaurants just frequented by a younger crowd just outside the door. Its also well placed for walking to the Seine and then along to the Louvre and back to Notre Dame. The room itself while small was well equipped with TV, hairdryer, shower, shaver, walk-in closet and shower room and we had a room overlooking the courtyard which we asked for as we had read it was quieter than the rooms at the front which overlook the pedestrianised area and therefore more noisy from the bars below. All in all an ideal place to stay if you don't plan on spending too much time in your room, want to have nightlife on your doorstep and the tourist sights within easy walking or metro journeys.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and i along with my 4 year old child decided to pick this hotel for our short stay in paris. After a long flight, we arrived at the hotel around 7am. We were asked to wait till about 1030am to get our room. We understood that check in wasnt till noon but thought that the hotel would accommodate as most hotels usually would based on my experience. So we waited for about 3 and a half hours. The staff was beyond rude. They were not welcoming at all. They dont have any one to carry luggage up. My husband had to take the suitcases one at a time as the elevators would not fit more then one luggage. When we got into the room, i was shocked. It was smelly and disgusting looking. It didnt help that it was so small that we couldnt even fit 2 of our suitcases along with one carry on. They put a mattress on the floor for my daughter which she didnt use. The washroom toilet was dirty. The bathtub was equally dirty. We took pictures, but are having trouble uploading them. Will try to get them uploaded. The room was so bad that the AC didnt work, no iron, cracks all over on the wall. Its definetly not a 4 star. its a 2 star if anything. We paid about $1100.00 for 3 nights which was insane for this hotel. i dont even find this hotel to be central. Its a ghetto, trashy hotel with bums all around the hotel who beg you for money. Upon check out, they asked us what we drank from the minibar. We had two bottles of water which they charged us 8 euros. Usually water bottles r complimentary. If you want to enjoy your stay in Paris, do not stay here. You will regret it as the staff is horrible and on top of that the rooms are disgusting. It doesnt help when you have to lug ur luggage yourself on a vacation. On top of all of that, we had a small child who was sleepy and hungry and we were not accommodated to what so ever. If you want to stay in this location, There is a Novotel near by, it looked a lot nicer and staff seemed to me a lot more professional. But please dont waste a dime on this hotel. absolutely disgusting.

Room Tip: please do not book here. Absolutely terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel was adequate, and location very central. Kind of in a trashy and touristy part of Paris. Our room was at the back of the hotel and it was quiet. The staff were nice but did not really go out of their way to help. We were amazed that this is ranked 4 stars. We assume there must be a huge gap between 4 and 5 stars hotels! And this hotel was not as nice as another 4 star hotel we stayed in in Paris. Tiny room and tiny bathroom, with only a shower and 1 sink. Hard to believe the price we paid for what we got!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is located between the Halles and rue de Rivoli. You could hardly wish for a more central location. The rooms at the backside of the hotel are perfectly quiet and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom, good shower, large wardrobe, excellent bed and the high ceiling. I was especially pleased with the lights, both in the room and bathroom, as well as the possibility to open the window. The staff was attentive and discreet. A perfect place to stay in the hustle and bustle of Paris.although perhaps just a little overpriced.

Room Tip: If you appreciate quietness, ask for one of the rooms at the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Three of us stayed here in April for 3 nights, in 2 bedrooms (double and single). The first thing to say is that the hotel is really hard to locate by sat-nav or by asking local people (who were very helpful). The hotel is in a pedestrianized area so very difficult to even drop off luggage (and we were with a disabled man).

Once we found the hotel the Receptionist was very helpful (and spoke fluent English).

We used local car parks which can be quite difficult to locate (probably down to us) and expensive (Euro 59 for less than 24 hours).

Although the hotel boasts a 4* sign, the bedrooms are VERY small - don't try to swing a cat! This isn't too bad for one person but when there are 2 in a room... The bathrooms are equally tiny. Ours had a shower rather than a bath (at our request) and the toilet is so close to the sink that it makes using either of them difficult. The shower has no partition between itself and the rest of the small room so difficult not to get the ground wet.

We didn't eat here so I can't comment on food/service.

The Reception was manned 24 hours which was good as we returned late, having attended a wedding.

All in all, I wouldn't return here (because of the location and room size.).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Little room, not really clean, staff not really kind, too expensive in comperison with the service. The bathroom was clean but in a old fashion style. Located in a very strategic and central area of Paris

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.