We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars but central” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #891 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not 4 stars but central”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel was adequate, and location very central. Kind of in a trashy and touristy part of Paris. Our room was at the back of the hotel and it was quiet. The staff were nice but did not really go out of their way to help. We were amazed that this is ranked 4 stars. We assume there must be a huge gap between 4 and 5 stars hotels! And this hotel was not as nice as another 4 star hotel we stayed in in Paris. Tiny room and tiny bathroom, with only a shower and 1 sink. Hard to believe the price we paid for what we got!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
38
96
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is located between the Halles and rue de Rivoli. You could hardly wish for a more central location. The rooms at the backside of the hotel are perfectly quiet and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom, good shower, large wardrobe, excellent bed and the high ceiling. I was especially pleased with the lights, both in the room and bathroom, as well as the possibility to open the window. The staff was attentive and discreet. A perfect place to stay in the hustle and bustle of Paris.although perhaps just a little overpriced.

Room Tip: If you appreciate quietness, ask for one of the rooms at the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Three of us stayed here in April for 3 nights, in 2 bedrooms (double and single). The first thing to say is that the hotel is really hard to locate by sat-nav or by asking local people (who were very helpful). The hotel is in a pedestrianized area so very difficult to even drop off luggage (and we were with a disabled man).

Once we found the hotel the Receptionist was very helpful (and spoke fluent English).

We used local car parks which can be quite difficult to locate (probably down to us) and expensive (Euro 59 for less than 24 hours).

Although the hotel boasts a 4* sign, the bedrooms are VERY small - don't try to swing a cat! This isn't too bad for one person but when there are 2 in a room... The bathrooms are equally tiny. Ours had a shower rather than a bath (at our request) and the toilet is so close to the sink that it makes using either of them difficult. The shower has no partition between itself and the rest of the small room so difficult not to get the ground wet.

We didn't eat here so I can't comment on food/service.

The Reception was manned 24 hours which was good as we returned late, having attended a wedding.

All in all, I wouldn't return here (because of the location and room size.).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Little room, not really clean, staff not really kind, too expensive in comperison with the service. The bathroom was clean but in a old fashion style. Located in a very strategic and central area of Paris

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was lucky enough to come across this lovely boutique hotel after my first day in Paris started off on the wrong foot with another online reservation gone so horribly wrong that I didn't even stay the night. At Hotel des Ducs d'Anjou, the receptionist (Isabel) was friendly and welcoming and set up my accommodations very quickly. I enjoyed one of the suites on the 6th floor of the hotel with a beautiful sitting room with charming French decor, plush bathrobes, a super comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The rooms were warm, exceptionally clean and everything I had envisioned a hotel in Paris to be. It is also steps away from many of the city's main attractions (the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, The Siene, and plenty of eateries. I did not take advantage of the hotel's breakfast, but the common areas (lobby and breakfast lounge located on the bottom floor) were tastefully decorated and inviting. I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat! Thank you for making my first stay in Paris one I will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have just got back from a weekend stay in Paris at this hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to many of the major areas and right next to a metro station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was very small but it was clean and had everything we needed. We stayed in a room with a balcony which was fantastic. The street noise is a little loud when we had the doors open but the sound is almost completely blocked with the doors shut.
Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: Only 2 of their rroms have balconies but it is worth asking for one as you may be lucky like we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

To be honest I was a little bit disappointed by this hotel. Looking at his website and the pictures on Tripadvisor I thought it was bigger, more beautiful and, first of all, with bigger bedrooms.

I was in the 13th room and my colleague was in 17th: two double bedroom and in both there was not enough space to walk around the bed! The living room zone was absent and the wardrobe depth was not sufficient to put my clothes (without folding them too much) and my suitcase.... and at least there was one in my room; in the other room there was only a (small) storage room with some hungers. Even the furniture were small and on the tables near the bed there's only the space for the room phone (if you want to place a book, a cellphone or a tablet near it then space is over so you should use the free one).
Lastly bathroom was small too, but I've notice that bathroom usually are small and without windows/ventilation in France. At least here there is a big window to open if needed. By the way there wasn't the shower tent, no space to place your stuff and you better mind the step in the shower because it's easy to slip.

Good things in the hotel: cleanliness (considering that there is moquette in the bedroom floor cleanliness was a must); free and powerful Wi-Fi connection (you can also ask for different device connection), staff kindness, breakfasts choice and quality (but for 17€ I expect it!), the overall old style design, the bed comfortness (with soft pillows and also two more pillows in the wardrobe) and the free bathstuff (nothing to be exited but also nothing to argue of).

Just choose this Hotel for the really good position and for the cost (quite good for Paris), but I think that you can find something better (or larger) for similar price and more or less in the same position.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.