We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #875 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is my third stay at this lovely little Hotel....We just love it...it is quaint and very comfortable.
It is set right in the heart of a busy pedestrian mall...with the Chatelet Metro really close by however when you shut your windows it is peace and quiet.

The beds are beautifully comfortable and clean for a great nights rest...and if you need a tea and coffee tray for your room ...just ask.
I find the breakfast room pretty and there is plenty of choice for a good breakfast
All of the staff here are very welcoming and on Reception Desk... Isabelle cannot do enough for you..

There is a huge selection of cafés and restaurants close nearby to choose from for lunch or evening meals and so many wonderful sights all within walking distance

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Blue Suite on the last two occasions.This has a long verandah on the front ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    96
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
39
96
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very comfortable stay. Slept like a baby. Older property that is affordably chic. The scene outside my French window made all my FB friends envious. Really close to everything. Handy stores, coffee, shops nearby. Staff was great and helpful. WIFI worked great. Would recommend and stay again. So central and yet a little tricky to find. Just off St-Denis and Rivoli. Cab driver's GPS gave poor directions based on address on St. Opportune.

I read with concern the recent posts on Trip Advisor about a theft. I found the hotel to be very safe. Entrance was watched at all times. At night when front desk clerk stepped away for a few minutes, they locked the front door - I had to ring the buzzer. All the staff was helpful and responsive to all my questions and concerns. I found these people to be ethical and trustworthy in every way. I'm picky. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

I'm from Canada. I stayed December 18 and 19, 2013. My stay in verified on another major online site. I say so to reassure people who may read about the theft. It shook me, but I found the hotel to be as safe as can be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Ducs d'Anjou is very centrally located and in a pedestrian area close to the Chatalet Metro. The room offered no luxury but it was adequate and clean, as was the bathroom.
I travel for business and absolutely need to be connected to the Internet, but despite all efforts on my part and on the part of the (quite helpful) reception desk I could not log on to the hotel's wi-fi. I ended up frequenting a cafe around the corner (in rue des Lombards) which offers free wi-fi access.
Also, at night-time the street outside the hotel is populated until very late with hordes of young and boisterous revellers, and the ensuing noise can be annoying if one needs to sleep. I was in room 41, on the fourth floor and facing the internal courtyard. I pity anyone sleeping in a room facing the street!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the internal courtyard, unless you're prepared to put up with street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was robbed in this hotel. all my valuables were stolen from in my room on November 19, 2013. there is no safety box in the tiny room. i left with DO NOT DISTURB sign on door. i am 100% sure the door was closed because i double checked it when hanging the sign on the door handle. I came back and DO NOT DISTURB sign was inside on the desk and all my valuables were gone. stay away from this place.

Room Tip: don't leave ANY valuables in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well, I just arrived today. I am jet-lagged and want desperately to take a bath and go to bed, but I am waiting on the police and on someone to fix the heat. The heat wasn't working when I got here, so I asked the front desk staff on my way out to dinner to kindly do something about it. The gentleman admitted that they had been having problems with the heat on my floor but promised to take a look when his colleague arrived. (If they've been having problems, they should not have put me in the freezing room.) When I came back from dinner, I immediately noticed two things. The first was that the room was still freezing, and the heat was off entirely. The second was that my PacSafe was dangling from the desk to which I had attached it, apparently having been fiddled with. The opening was wide, which shouldn't be. I reached in, and sure enough, someone had taken the more than $450+ in American and £150+British that I had had in there. I am eternally grateful (and shocked) that the thief left my passport and spare credit cards in the PacSafe and left my iPod and laptop on my bed. Still, I had left my room locked, and there were no signs of forced entry. This means that the thief either had access to the room or that the staff left the room ajar when they were checking the heat. And yes, my PacSafe is apparently not as awesome as I thought, but I have used it without difficulty in so many other countries.

I am meant to stay in this hotel until Sunday. That's not happening. If I were not so exhausted, I would check out right now. Instead, I will just have to leave a chair propped in front of my door tonight and check out tomorrow. I have experienced coup d'états in third world countries and felt safer in those places than I do at this four star hotel in Paris. In all seriousness, WTF?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Small hotel in the heart of Paris.
Small rooms quite clean and recently renovated. Clean bathrooms although my bathroom was quite noisy when the neighbors were taking a shower or flushing the toilet.
Quite expensive for what you get, but in the neighborhood I did not find anything cheaper .
The breakfast costs 17Euro and I would advice to go out and have coffee and croissant in one of the many cafes in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location and Paris attractions.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#428 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.