We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Des Ducs d'Anjou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Des Ducs d'Anjou to your Saves list
Des Ducs d'Anjou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #875 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked a couple of nights in this hotel and pretty much got what I expected (and paid for) ... a small, clean and very conveniently-located hotel (for me, working nearby) without many frills and a style that might charitably be called minimalist ('stylish' is perhaps a bit of a stretch!).
My room was cosy, maybe OK for a honeymooning couple but a little more comfortable if there's only one suitcase. But it was spotless, everything worked and the staff were exceptionally and unusually helpful and friendly.
My room overlooked the Boulevard Of Midnight Babble at the end of Rue St Denis (which you should wander along during the day) ... I don't really mind, it's all a part of the Parisian atmosphere and I can nurture my cosmopolitan pretensions ... but you might want a rear room if you're a patchy sleeper.
Here's a wrinkle ... my shirts missed an iron!
And I'd be wary of channel-surfing - I got a hard-core surprise right next to BBC World News. Not a problem for me but you may want to track down the channel lock process if travelling with kids. Thinking this through, maybe porn lockout should be the default in hotels?
I think the price is probably appropriate, there's a huge Citadines just up the rue and it's certainly comparable ... and probably a little less generic.
I don't mean to damn with faint praise, it's certainly an OK hotel.
in summary therefore ...
I'm reluctant to recommend for a romantic rendezvous, it's bland rather than beautiful and a better booking for a brief business billet.

Room Tip: If you're happy to trade noisy gallic atmosphere and the view of an archetypal Parisian restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

It is really important for us to have your opinions and your feelings to improve our quality.

It is so sad for your shirts as we have iron and iron boards available at the reception.

I wish to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    96
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
39
96
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We lived at this hotel for 3 nights and it had really a great location. It was only some 100m from the metro station Chatelet des Halles (we took the train from the airport) and it was easy to reach many tourist attractions by foot. It was approx. 1h to walk to the Eiffeltower and Notre Dame was nearby the hotel.

Our room was not very big, but ok and we were happy that we did not have a window to the street outside the hotel, because it was a very lively/busy area. The bathroom was relatively small, and some days it did not smell so nice. But otherwise, it was fresh. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, since it was very expensive. Unfortunately it was not easy to find cafes/supermarkets in the vicinity.

The air condition was put 18 degrees when we arrived and since it was very hot outside, it was a large temperature change and I got a cold. Recommend to check the temperature in the room :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about the Hotel des Ducs d'Anjou.
We only have one wish ... See you soon among us!

Sincerely.
Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I agree with the review "Know What You Want" We were very pleased with the hotel but, we knew what to expect given the location (close to some great restaurants) which has no vehicular traffic and which by the way, we thought was a bonus. As a result there are many people out enjoying the evening. Location is fantastic - steps away from Chatlet RER which is on the line from Gare du Nord. If you purchase a book of 10 RER passes called a “carnet” [kar-nay], the trip in is very affordable, quick (10 min) and convenient. AVOID TAXIS AT GARE du NORD - they quoted us 100€ for a trip into Paris. Carnets are sold at a discount for 13,30€ (1,33€ each, a little over 20% off the regular fare).

As a family of four (two teens) we booked two rooms with a small connecting foyer that locked separately and each room had it's own door so we could either be connected or we could have our privacy as we wished. Rooms were spotless, beds comfortable, bathroom clean, modern with good water pressure and a hair dryer that worked! The rooms were perfect for our use with much appreciated air conditioning. We spent most of the day and evening enjoying Paris. If you want a hotel to spend the day in, this would not be a good choice because the rooms are just not big enough to lounge around in. The staff was helpful, courteous and pleasant.

We traveled using the Seine's Batobus boat Hop On/Off (21€ for 5 days unlimited use) which has a stop very close to the hotel when going to the attractions/places that are easily accessible by the river. There are many food choices right outside the front door and close by - stands where you can order savoury or sweet crepes, restaraunts for dinner, cafes for croissant and all serving delicious (albeit expensive) coffee.

Great stay for a reasonable price in the heart of Paris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

It is prevailing for us to have your feedbacks.

It is really important for us to have your opinions and your feelings to improve our quality.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location and Paris attractions.

Best regards
Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

By no means do I want this review to sound negative, but really know what you want from a hotel. My husband and I stayed here a few nights at the end of our two week trip and we had stayed on a referral. We found it was a ways away from most things, except the Louvre. We stayed in a room with a small balcony on the front second floor. This was not the hotels fault, but it was VERY noisy at night. In fact, we were not able to sleep and finally left a couple of days early. They were sold out and again this is not the hotels fault we could not change rooms. The hotel was clean and all the staff we spoke with went over the top to help. The breakfast was always very good and items were fresh. You will get the full European experience with very small room, but that is expected in Paris. It took more time to get around that we anticipated, so staying away from more expensive areas as we had in London did not work out as well. Stay closer to the areas you anticipate you will be sight seeing is my recommendation. I was a first timer to Paris and it was a little overwhelming to find a hotel. Take your time and select a hotel to meet your needs. This hotel would be great for visitors in their 20's or visitors who like very late night life.

Room Tip: Very good hotel for young travelers in their 20's who love a great night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you spent many time in the transport. We are close to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Beaubourg, la Seine, le Marais ...
Eiffel Tower and Montmartre are further but we really are in the heart of Paris.

In spite of this I hope that you have enjoyed your stay and to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards,
Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel, nice rooms but due to the district around Chatelet it is very noisy- The biggest advantage is that is so close to the station

Nice people at the reception desk- I have stayed there many times as it is the best place when you arrive with the RER from CH de Gaule and needs to go east or west i Paris

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudreyAnjou, Responsable réception at Des Ducs d'Anjou, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

It is important for us to have your feedbacks to improve our quality..

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location.

Best regards

Florence Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having read other reviews I decided to make up my own mind about the hotel. This room was what we needed for our stay in Paris. The room we used was one of the cheaper rooms. The room was clean and modern. It looked over the street below which was lively between 10am and midnight, but we did not hear any noise from the people on the street. The bed was comfortable and clean. There were extra pillows available in the wardrobe. The airconditioning worked well and kept the room at the temperature we wanted. There was a welcome book provided on the good sized desk. There was a fridge in the room with soft drinks available at three euros each, but we used it for our own drinks. Whilst the bathroom was on the small side the shower was easy to use and drained well. The hairdryer was powerful and dried my hair, which usually takes a while to dry very quickly.
The housekeeping staff knocked on the door to check if anyone was in the room and came back later if the room was occupied.
On one occasion we could not remove the plug from the sink, but this was sorted whilst we were out of the room for the day.
The lift was small but adequate for our needs. Although we often used the stairs to the 3rd floor instead.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and faced out onto the street.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Des Ducs d'Anjou is rated four stars and gets several good reviews on Tripadvisor. There are also a significant number of reviews that give Des Ducs a poor rating, however, and I am among the guests that didn't like it. I've been lucky enough to stay at several 4 and 5 star hotels and Des Ducs doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel. Stars are earned by factors like lobby size or the availability of a breakfast room, but to me true 4 and 5 star ratings should reflect how well a hotel sweats the details. Des Ducs doesn't. For instance, Des Ducs has no one to help you with your luggage (a significant factor since Des Ducs is on a walk street and taxis will drop you off 30 or 40 meters from the front door). Other details like bathroom amenities are lacking (a cheap body wash/shampoo combination is provided and nothing else, no shower curtain on the shallow shower space, etc.). The room I had was small but typical of an older central Paris hotel. What made it bad was a poorly thought-out arrangement. The side of the bed was just inches from the wall and the foot of the bed was equally cramped because of a large table squeezed against the wall. The rest of the room was fairly open (although the wardrobe there was a very shallow and cheap thing that a Goodwill Thrift Shop would have been embarrassed to sell). Not the best use of space. Yes, the location is very good but the area is full of hotels both big and small, some with even better locations. The two ladies at the desk are friendly and very knowledgeable, but the male desk staff, while friendly, did not know the area or Paris very well. And, something mentioned in other reviews, the hotel staff burst into the room, scaring my wife half to death. Really, it's Hotel 101 to train staff to knock even when they think a room is empty and to open the door slightly and announce yourself before entering. Since this is something mentioned in other Tripadvisor reviews, Des Ducs management must not read these reviews or can't train its staff not to do this. I'm glad other people seem to like Des Ducs but we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Des Ducs d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Ducs d'Anjou

Address: 1 Rue Sainte Opportune | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#428 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Des Ducs d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Paris's cultural and historic centre, the capital's finest attractions can quickly and easily be reached. 24 Hour reception - Our friendly, helpful team are available to assist you in the bright, spacious reception area with its delightful thirties decor. Our 38 air-conditioned rooms and suites have recently been renovated, each one has its own individual style and all the comforts you need for an excellent night's sleep... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Des Ducs d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs d`Anjou Hotel Paris
Des Ducs d Anjou Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Des Ducs d'Anjou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.