We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montpensier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Montpensier to your Saves list
Montpensier
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #773 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Jonkoping, Sweden
1 review
“Recommended hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was very nice to stay in this hotel. It seemed like little bit expensive for two stars hotel but it's worth it since it's located in the heart of Paris. You can easily walk to the city center, finding restaurants (from five stars to food stalls) and shopping centres. Even Louvre is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The staffs were also very helpful and friendly. The only disadvantage was just the elevator is too small. It's just only for 1 person. And perhaps a bit tricky to use the room key because it had unusual way to open the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    307
    137
    26
    16
See reviews for
160
203
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Where do I begin? I looked at the ratings this hotel had and it looked ok, there were some negative reviews which I chose to ignore - big mistake. Ok the location is excellent, but cabs and the metro in Paris is so cheap, who cares?

1) My room (31) smelt like a cheap chinese take away
2) The walls are paper thin, the chattering of the Spanish in room 32 was as if they were in the same room.
3) It was a building site with building material stacked on the stairs.
4) It was very shabby with missing roof tiles in the false ceiling.
5) The decor was from the 1970s
(I took some pics so can prove points 3-5)
I was staying for 2 days on my own and then joined by my wife and daughter for a further 3 nights - as soon as possible we checked out and went to another hotel which cost €15 per night more and was paradise - Hotel Alison.

Put simply - do not stay here, you have been warned

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a short city break in Paris and found the hotel to be of a good standard of quality.

We had the deluxe family room even though there were only two of us staying here and found it to be very spacious,clean,well equipped and quiet in the evenings/mornings.

The hotel did appear to be undergoing some sort of renovations at the time of our stay so some of the decor in the hallways was a bit shabby but that's no reason to decide to stay elsewhere.

The location was perfect being literally a stones throw from the Lourve and a few minutes walk from the gardens and a metro stop.

The staff were typically French and not very welcoming but I wouldn't go as far as to say they were rude they just wouldn't win any prizes for charisma of the year.

I would go back here if I was in Paris again providing that I could get the room for the same rate of cheaper as the price was a little on the steep side when compared to other cities but this is to be expected in a place like Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents and visited their room a number of times while we were in Paris. It is literally a 5 minute walk from the Louvre and the Louvre's metro stop. Excellent location and a phenomenal price for this location. Some of the reviews indicate complaints about the quality of the facilities. We must have received a renovated room because there were zero issues with the room. Hallways were being improved while we were there in late September, so work is still going on at the property. Definitely a recommendation. Free wifi in lobby too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel photos are better than in real life, the lift is very interesting, 1 person and a bag if you can fit it in with you. Have never seen a lift this small, it states registered to take 3 people. They must be 5 year olds, normal sized people would not have any chance. They charge for coffee, tea and chocalate, no soap or water in your room. We have a room at the 5th floor, beware the ceiling slops and is very tight in places. The rooms are clean and the shower works well. If you can, use the stairs. It will keep you fit and away from the lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montpensier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpensier

Address: 12, rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Montpensier 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montpensier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpensier Hotel Paris
Montpensier Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montpensier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.