We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Georges Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Georges Lafayette to your Saves list
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,117 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Podgorica, Montenegro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best staff ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I visited this hotel during it`s renovation so the mess and noise were only downside during my stay.

Members of the staff are absolutely amazing, incredibly kind so we had long night chats and they made me feel as I was home.

Rooms are simple but clean and I had everything I needed.

Location is great, near Moulin Rouge and Basilique du Sacre Coeur, there are many bars around, supermarkets and easy to reach metro stations.

Generally area around Moulin Rouge is more recommended for group of friends, couples than for families with small children.


Wifi was free and prices totally acceptable for this part of Paris.

I would come again definitely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    81
    87
    24
    19
See reviews for
34
117
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Specifics: 4 days/5 nights for study, very little sight seeing, 5 min walk to Pigalle Metro, standard breakfast
Minor points: small room, no luggage stand nor chest of drawers, used chairs as luggage stand, not enough desk space, studied on bed, could hear hallway conversation as other guests entered or left their nearby room.
Good points: excellent staff - friendly & helpful, great value - within my budget so I was able to attend Buddhist lectures!
Subjective: As a solo traveler, Saint Georges Lafayette was within my parameters. My room was more monastic than luxurious. It was clean, I felt safe. I had two breakfasts and the other two days, I left before breakfast, returned after dinner and stayed in at night. For myself and frugal friends, I'd highly recommend Hotel Saint Georges Lafayette!
Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

This is a perfectly nice hotel. The rooms are clean, and big enough. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast (6eu extra/day) is fine. The location is perfect -- close to just about everything you want to see as a tourist in Paris, with many nice restaurants and shops close by.

Just about the only thing I would add is a luggage rack, or bench, at the foot of the bed, to make getting in and out of suitcases easier.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

If you're a budget traveler, St.Georges is a nice hotel and is a good value for your money. The room themselves are small but nice (and why would you want to stay in a hotel room when you're in Paris?). The position is great - close to the metro, you can walk to Montmartre in 10 minutes and there's plenty of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. Pigalle has a bit of reputation, but the hotel is in a quiet area and we've never felt unsafe walking down Boulevard de Clichy in the evening.
Wi-Fi is free and you can ask for a blow-dryer at the reception (sèche-cheveux).
We didn't try the breakfast but just 5 minutes from the hotel there's a Brioche Dorée and a nice boulangerie. There's also a McDonald's if that's your cup of tea.
All in all, I would recommend it if you want to enjoy Paris and you're on a tight budget.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Good location in Montmartre, close to Pigalle subway station. Staff at reception was very friendly and helpful. Especially the polish guy, who gave us lots of information without having to ask for it. As most hotels i central Paris, its small and cramped when it comes to stairs and lifts. But rooms are newly renovated and very clean. Beds are good and gave us good nights sleep. Bathroom is also very good and in perfect condition. We felt safe at this place and the surrounding area. Got a great deal for this place and thats important in an expensive city as Paris.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed here for a few days after our marriage. The location is amazing and you cant get to all everywhere in Paris really easily. Rooms are tiny but that is to be expected in this price bracket, Breakfast was fine and the staff very friendly.

Our room faced a courtyard towards the rear of the hotel .. and on some of the nights when i was raining it was prefect to just fling open the huge windows and drink wine whilst watching the rain.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights when in Paris, I think the best thing about the hotel is its location, 5 minutes walk to Montmartre and moulin rouge and 15 minutes walk to most central attractions, if your not into walking much there are plenty of metro stations nearby. The hotel itself is average in terms of European hotels, tiny room, but enough, the window overlooking the street below was nice. Will we stay here again, if the price is great I see no reason why not, but at the same time there's nothing that pulls me back. Staff very friendly, beds comfy, clean.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Georges Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Georges Lafayette

Address: 11 Rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,117 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel St. Georges Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Georges Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Lafayette Paris
Hotel St Georges Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Georges Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.