We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good sized room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe Saint Severin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europe Saint Severin to your Saves list
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-40, rue Saint Severin, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
U.K
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A good sized room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights from 25/08. Last year stayed at the Albe just around the corner. Booked a superior double inc breakfast for £280 through active hotels, Room was much more spacious than Albe, a proper double bed ,lovely white duvet and 2 pillows each. Safe, Sky TV and B.B.C. World . mini bar. Had room 318 next to elevator but not disturbed. Breakfast ,we felt was good considering the prices elsewhere, a pot of tea each, orange juice, cereal, fresh fruit salad, ham , cheese , croissants, bread, jams, hard boiled eggs-enough to keep us going till 2-3 p.m.
Reception ,pleasant and good on security. Cleaners , very efficient and friendly / Room overlooked back and I wish that I had paid the difference to get a balcony- they are proper balconies with table and chairs and I could have watched the world go by whilst beloved had his 2hr nap (!)
Bathroom was small but with a shower screen - if you are more than a size 16 , check the size of the bathroom by e- mailing them- they speak english and will reply promptly. Smoking allowed! Paris very expensive- 4.6 euros for a cup of tea, wine 4-10 euros for a small glass, bring a bottle opener and get wine from a supermarket.
Two scams in Paris- Person stops you and asks if you have dropped a gold wedding ring- once you have stopped they ask for money- 2nd one person is giving out what looks like free advertising paper. if you take one they let you walk about 10 paces and then accuse you of not paying, they refuse to take the paper back and you end up giving them 2 euros

  • Liked — Location and roomsize
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    458
    87
    29
    5
See reviews for
153
514
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

we stayed here for 5 nights, the location is great, right bang in the middle of the Latin Quarter with so many restaurants and bars. 10 minutes walk from Notre-dam and 5 minutes from the Seine. Hotel was OK, we had a superior room with balcony on the 5th floor, to say it was small was an understatement, the bathroom was tiny and you definately couldn't swing a cat in it. But for the money it was clean and the sound proofing was really good considering the location and the staff were very friendly, especially the hotel Cat. The breakfast at 10 Euros wasn't worth it, we only took it one day and then went outside after that. It was really easy to get to from Airport, Metro straight to Saint Michel and then a 5 minute walk, but be warned it isn't very well signed and we spent ages finding it, we unfortunately went into the Latin quarter and should have stuck to Rue Saint Michel where it is one block from the Seine and about 10mtrs down Saint Severin. Good tip, you should do the L'open top bus for 2 days, at 32 Euros each it seems a lot, but it is worth every penny, there are 4routes you can take and they cover everywhere of main interest in Paris and you can jump on and off whenever you want, with full commentary, if you upgrade this ticket to the A la carte at 39 Euros you can also use the river boats. The buses run every 10 minutes and have various pickup and dropoff points all around the city.

On the whole we had a great time, very expensive as the £ isn't doing well against the Euos, our dearest cup of coffee was 5.50 Euros.

Coupe in 50's from Scoland

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room sizes
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Europe Saint Severin for three days towards the end of June in room 203, went south and then returned for a week in early July, staying in room 503. We loved the wrap-around balcony, delighting in watching the passing parade, and decided we preferred room 203, although both rooms are very similar.

The proximity to everything (at a reasonable price) is one of the real selling points for this hotel. I was amazed at just how close the hotel is to Boulevard St Michel. The station is extremely close, so we came by RER from Charles de Gaulle, although we used a shuttle service for our return to the airport. We walked to the Seine, the Louvre, to Orsay, to Notre Dame, to St Germain des Pres and we are not young or very fit! One day we even walked from the Arc de Triomphe down the Champs Elysees, through the Tuilleries right to the Latin Quarter.

We also availed ourselves of the three-day hop-on hop-off bus together with bateau mouche pass and thought this was an excellent way to see much of the city, including Sacre Coeur and Tour Montparnasse, both of which provide fantastic views of the city.

All people on reception were helpful, but we found Solene superb. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Admittedly, as other reviews state, the hotel corridors still need work and the bath could do with some sort of shower curtain or screen as my husband and I much prefer a shower to a bath and the water tends to go everywhere.

Whilst we might stay in another arrondisement on our next visit to Paris to experience another area, we would still be very happy to stay here again and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Close proximity and easy accessibility to many must-see sights in Paris
  • Disliked — Typical French bathroom facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Rented two rooms for my family of 4--a superior double and standard twin. Overall the hotel was much better than expected for a 2 star property! I also had 4 business associates that stayed here with me and they were all very pleased with the hotel. There is still some renovation going on so sometimes it was a little noisy during the day, but then we weren't spending the daytime in our rooms! The room's renovation seemed complete, and they were very nice--the double was very large for a typical European hotel room and the twin was a good sized. The beds in both were excellent. The location is outstanding--around the corner from 2 metro/RER lines, easy walking distance to Notre Dame and many other sites (we do a lot of walking, and even the Louvre was an easy walk). it is surrounded by an enormous number of restaurants--we found oursleves returning to the area for dinner very night just due to the broad variety and quality of restaurants. The streets are very active at night, providing a lot of entertainment, but the rooms were quiet enough to sleep well. The hotel staff were all courteous and extremely helpful too. Overall this is a very good hotel and great value!

  • Liked — location, location, location!
  • Disliked — General rennovations still underway, but minor disruption
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Great location in the Latin quarter - although can be noisy on a weekend night - into the wee hours. Our room was larger than most and we had a lovely oval bath tub (a rare find in Paris) with separate w/c. The bathroom was small otherwise. The staff were very helpful. The hotel seemed to be under construction which we were not made aware of, but it did not infringe our stay. The breakfast was expensive, but it was good!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — There was no where to hang towels in the bathroom!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Me and my husband stayed here a long time ago: December 2005! Ooopss....
Good things about this hotel: good price, small walking distance from the train and metro (Saint Michel station), very central (Notre Dame is very close), many budget restaurants around the corner. Bad things: the room and bathroom are very small, so if you need a lot of space for you and your luggage... forget it!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small size of the room
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

I am so glad to have found this hotel through TripAdvisor! This was my 7th time in Paris, and my best hotel experience yet. I have stayed in both fancier and crappier Paris hotels, but what made this average hotel great was the helpful staff and fun location.

Throughout the week, there was just one receptionist, so it was easy to establish a relationship with her. She was so patient with my French abilities - with other Americans and Brits she spoke English - and I got lots of conversational practice as she helped track my father's lost luggage from AirFrance! She advised a nearby inexpensive store to buy him replacement clothes, and kept me updated on the status of the luggage delivery. When it finally arrived, she remembered which of our two rooms was my father's and had the bag waiting for him in his room when we returned from siteseeing.

This was my elderly parents' first time in Paris, and I was nervous that the Latin Quarter location might be too loud for them. It was no problem, however, as the thick walls and windows kept out the noise. But actually they loved the bustling neighborhood anyway!

We didn't use the nearby subway, as it's not wheelchair accessible for my mom, but the location allowed for easy strolls to the Roman bathhouse ruins at the Cluny, the St. Severin church, and even Notre Dame and St. Chappelle. We used the neighborhood taxi stand to travel longer distances.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europe Saint Severin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe Saint Severin

Address: 38-40, rue Saint Severin, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Paris
#183 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#223 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europe Saint Severin 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and comfortable property located in the heart of the Latin quarter on a pedestrian street. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of the city's touristic sights, including Notre Dame, Saint Germain des Pres, the Luxembourg Garden, the Louvre and the Orsay Museum. Very easy to reach from both airports and railway stations, the establishment is the perfect place for a cultural or professional stay in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europe Saint Severin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Saint Severin Paris
Europe Saint Severin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe Saint Severin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.