We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Senat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Senat to your Saves list
Hotel le Senat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Le Senat and each time it has lifted it's standards. Others have made comments about the location, the decor, the room size etc and all of them for a Central Paris hotel are well above standard. For me the icing on the cake were the staff, from the maids to the manager everyone was focused on making your stay an enjoyable experience. I have stayed in too many big hotel chains where problems belong to you, any hiccups we had were dealt with swiftly by the reception staff.

We were upgraded to a duplex with a rooftop terrace, sitting sipping champagne looking over the Paris nighttime skyline was a moment we will always remember.

The next time we stay in Paris it will be in the Le Senat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

For my staff and myself, it is a real pleasure to read you review.
We are so happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay in Hotel Le Senat.
Of course, Hotel Le Senat is a small hotel but we definitly try to give a home feelings to all our guest, even if it is a hard way to reach.

I am happy that you have appreciated the Duplex Terrace room with its amazing view on all Paris.

We are already waiting you for your next stay in Paris.

Thanks you for your so great review.

Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    194
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
251
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 year old for 3 nights. The hotel is welcoming, clean and in a fabulous location, just off the Luxembourg Gardens. We had requested an extra bed for our toddler, which was a sofa bed. She was very comfortable, but it's pretty much the smallest room I've ever been in. We had to walk sideways to get past the end of our bed! Perhaps if a sofa bed is being used, they could do a slightly bigger room. Otherwise, very comfy, hot water, and excellent honesty bar downstairs. If you have a pram, leave it downstairs as the lift is teeny weeny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your nice review.

About room's size, I canno't say that rooms are large but rooms have a "good size" for our location in Paris. Rooms on left bank ( most of the time ) are smallers than on right bank, prehaps you were accommodated on the right bank before to come in our area.
Of course, when sofa bed is open, you lose space in the room and it is less convenient to move in.

We will be very pleased to welcome you in Hotel Le Senat when you will be back.

Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
DIrecteur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A small, modern, stylish hotel close to the Luxembourg RER and within walking distance of the city centre in a quiet location near the Jardins de Luxembourg. Entirely free of transatlantic standardisation or assertiveness. The staff are friendly and speak English, and the rates are reasonable by Paris standards, including effective air conditioning and wi-fi. The only disappointment is the breakfast room, which is cramped and airless. Since the rate excludes breakfast, better to find a pavement cafe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

My staff and myself are always very happy when we know that our guests have appreciated their stay in Hotel Le Senat.

About the breakfast room, we know that is not our strong point, but by this way we have a bigger lobby where our guests can stay t oread newspapers, check their emails in our business corner, or have an quick breakfast or drink a glass in our Honesty Bar, where it is always possible to drink a Nespresso Coffee.

We hope to see you back very soon in Hotel Le Senat.

Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Le Senat. To save money we opted for the basic room (superior room), which was cozy, clean, well kept, with a comfortable bed and upgraded bathroom.....but quite small. The professional pictures on their website are very accurate except for the size of this basic room which is smaller than any picture they have on their website. There is no where to store a suitcase and only a very small closet with 5 hangers so all of our clothes were piled on the desk. But this size is typical of Paris and who cares, you are in Paris, why are you in your room anyway but to sleep. The staff is quite friendly and everyone spoke English. Housekeeping changed sheets daily and the hotel was spotless. And the location can't be beat - safe, very quiet and in walking distance to parks, the restaurants of St Germaine, Notre Dame and the Louvre. For a clean, quiet, well maintained hotel with reliable internet in one of the best areas of Paris I would recommend this place. But bring an alarm clock, because there are not any in the room.

Room Tip: For extra money, there are larger rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your nice feedback.

Room's size in Paris is always a problem but it depends of our guests and what they want to do.

If you are accommodated for a long stay with a lot of suitcases, it should be better to book at least a Deluxe room.

Anyway, if you need to stay only few days, a Superior room could be convenient because less expensive than Deluxe rooms, of course each guest has some differents needings.

My staff and myself are always ready to help our guests to find the best solution for their stay.

With my kinds regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Le Senat in June 2014. The location next to the Luxembourg Gardens, and within a short stroll of numerous excellent restaurants and cafes, make this one of the most pleasant and convenient places to enjoy a Parisien break. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the spacious room (we were upgraded to a suite) was very well serviced/cleaned each day. With modern facilities, the Salnt Germain location, and many of the usual tourist destinations within walking distance, we would stay there again and consider it excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks your for your nice review.

You are right, Hotel Le Senat is located in one of the best area of Paris with many nice restaurants, museums, fashion shops, and just close to Luxembourg garden what is an historical park of Paris.
Hotel Le Senat is located in a very privileged area of Paris.

Thanks you for the staff who is always very happy to help our kind customers.

We hope to see you back very soon in Hotel Le Senat.

Sincerely Yours.

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel Le Senat was a nice respite from the busy-ness of the city. Location near Luxembourg gardens was easy. The rooms comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff was gracious and very helpful. Breakfast was tasty and satisfying. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: We chose the extra Terraced Suite. These have stairs within, with the sleeping quarters up, a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your nice feedback.

My staff and myself are always happy to have provided satisfactions to our great guests.

We all hope to see you back very soon in Hotel Le Senat.

With our best regards

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is situated very close to the Senate and the Luxembourg gardens. We found the hotel to be really charming. Good spacious rooms, with comfortable beds - very pleasant staff. We would stay at this hotel again. Very good value for Paris. It's a very modern hotel which we really enjoyed. Plus the Luxembourg gardens are only a few minutes by foot from the hotel so it was really great to be able to stop into the gardens for a walk throughout the several days we were there.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senat01, Directeur général at Hotel le Senat, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for your very nice review.

Hotel is very well located in Paris s' center, just few steps to reach Luxembourg's garden, what is very convenient and more for runners people.

We hope to see you back very soon in Hotel Le Senat.

Sincerely Yours

S.Peccatte
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Senat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Senat

Address: 10 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#140 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#206 Family Hotel in Paris
#461 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Senat 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Senat in hotel Paris is an elegant hotel for those with exquisite taste. Our hotel is located in central Saint Germain, on the leftbank ( rive gauche) close to the Seine river, a hotel in the Latin Quarter, close to the breathtaking jardin du Luxembourg. A central paris hotel, in the most romantic region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Senat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Senat Hotel
Le Senat Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Senat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.