We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion

Albion
80 rue du Faubourg Poissonniere, 75010 Paris, France
0142460244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 13,462 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, OH
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It had been a terrible day with many frustrations and so a good dinner seemed to be the way to salvage it and this happened in Spades! I had stopped in well before dinner and the friendly and knowledgeable proprietor told me of a place I could have a little food and glass of wine if I wanted. I was there until 7 so went back. Best decision of the day! The welcome is warm, the wines and food wonderful. There is an interesting and imaginative wine list of all small, many organic producers that were wonderful to explore matched by wonderful food. My only caveat is that my dishes seemed to be whisked away before I was done, and I wanted to savor every morsel. But otherwise a great experience and made for a happy ending to a very bad day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    43
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a very good restarant, it is a mix between a wine cellar and a restaurant, the atmosphere is layback and the staff are very friendly. The star is the food it was fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first meal in Paris and what a treat -OK after a few years in Rome I'm ready to cut anyone a lot of slack if there's not a pasta dish in sight - but this was seriously tasty. We had reserved a table as it was Friday night - this may not have been absolutely necessary but the place was full by the time we left.

I started with tuna and beetroot - which was perfectly combined - not a huge portion but the taste was so good that one savoured each mouthful so the brain and stomach were quite satisfied. We both had fish mains (it was Friday) which were beautifully cooked and perfectly sauced then shared a very well-judged cheese plate and some quite delicious armagnacs. Service throughout was attentive but never intrusive. As an introduction to French food this was terrific - tasty, fresh, beautifully presented but not overly fussy and pretentious. We thought the value - under €100 including wine but excluding the armagnacs - was also pretty good for dinner for two in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Dishes with Passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Reservations are a must for this neighbourhood establishment frequented by the locals. It gets quite busy and very animated. What a find.

Any wine enthusiast will find happiness here because there is a well-stocked wine cellar that can be viewed through the glass doors found in the floor of the dining room that also has a full wall of wines on display and waiting to be selected.

Beside the fish and the rabbit that we had, I must say that the sweet bread and the black pudding were out-of-this-world.

The kitchen is a semi-open concept and the dishes coming out of it have a passion; this is a fun and youthful kitchen. We enjoyed the ambiance, the food, the service, all of it and will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Triumphant find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wonderful restaurant, One of those places where they get everything right, the decor, seating, and most importantly, the menu. Some unusual combinations (pureed black pudding and squid) but all worked to perfection. Particularly enjoyed the pickled strawberries with mini meringues and mascarpone sorbet - great place to have our last meal in Paris before we walked up the road and hopped on the Eurostar at Gare du Nord.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albion also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.