We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mona Lisa Within Reach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Place du Louvre to your Saves list
Hotel de la Place du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mona Lisa Within Reach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend in Paris where i wake up and just stare outside my balcony at the Louvre Museum.. thinking Mona Lisa is just within reach.. this hotel is right at the Louvre square and with souvenir shops in every corner . Staff are very accomodating and charming.. food is great . Rooms cozy >

Room Tip: room at the second floor overlooking the Louvre museum is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
94
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Wake are just back from a four night stay at this hotel. While our room was a little on the small side, the hotel is so well located. It's in a perfect spot with access to lots of restaurants, shops, metro, rer
And the louvre of course. What really was great was the reception staff especially Sophie who were so helpful to us as our bang didn't arrive on our flight and we were kept updated by them on its progress. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and when we (hopefully) get back to Paris we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Small room and tiny lift.
Clean and comfortable bedding.
Excellent location if you are an Art Lover
Friendly English speaking owner and staff.
This is Paris and you will be out all Day so safety is more important.

They even allow us to leave our luggages for a day while we took a flight to another city and return to collect them.

Room Tip: It's better for couples or solo travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in January 2013. First impressions were not good. At our 9:30pm check-in the male clerk advised that the room type we had booked would not be available until the next day, and directed us to the Dufy Room on the 1st floor. I was very small with a tiny bathroom and an outlook onto the "inner courtyard" - which is really just a dusty light-well.
We endured it, and on enquiring of the day staff next morning as to a better room they were bemused as to why we hadn't been checked into a better room - there were in fact two available! We moved to the Chagall Room, which was larger with an outlook onto the Church St Germain l'Auxerrois and across to the Louvre - all round a far better room and in line with what we had booked.
The hotel is located within 5 min walk to two Metro stations on two different lines, there are a multitude of shops, cafes and utilities nearby, including a launderette, it is quiet at night and comfortably warm. The wifi service was excellent, and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

All the very good and excellent ratings say it all - great staff, perfect location, clean, quiet, outstanding value, have returned often - the only reason for withholding 5 stars is a concern that some travelers are so unaware of Paris hotels in general that they might expect large rooms, and this is a wonderful hotel, but not a chain, not large rooms. Walk out the door and you have the Louvre, Pont Neuf, Pont des Arts, Rue Rivoli, 2 metro stations within 3 - 5 minutes stroll, as well as cafes, and Fumoir, great spot for a drink and just watch the world go by. Musee d'Orsay 15 minute stroll. Left bank, Notre Dame, St Chapelle, winding streets of St Germaine 10 - 15 minute walks away. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Paris. Having stayed in one of the big chain hotels in Paris a month before, this hotel was a nice change as it has a more homey feel to it. Staff are nice and accomodating, the location is great (literally 3 min walk from Pont Neuf Metro stn and walking distance to Chatelet Metro stn). The room which was a duplex was really nice and clean. The duplex is Picasso on the 5th floor (even has a tiny balcony) which has magnificent views of the Louvre, Rue Rivoli and overlooked Saint Germaine church. For those who like to run, nothing beats this location where you can run by the Seine (Seine across the street) all the way to Eiffel... Breakfast room is small, but nice and breakfast a bit overpriced at 15 Euro. All in all, not a cheap hotel, but would definetly recommend it for its location, staff and rooms.

Room Tip: Picasso duplex on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location Location Location...You can't beat walking out the door of the hotel and looking at the Louvre. The building is eclectic so if you're looking for a western/US style room like a Hilton, keep looking. If you're wanting to experience a European style hotel, this is a great place to try. I have another trip to Paris coming up in a few weeks and am staying here again.

I've stayed three times over the last four years for several days each visit. The staff is always helpful and professional. The rooms are all named for artists and each has it's own unique charm. If it's critical that you have a stand up shower or bathtub, make sure to request it since many rooms have only one or the other. The only room that I'm aware of that I don't want to stay in is the one on the top floor with the bathroom at the loft level, up a ladder/stairs. I have stayed in other hotels in the area and have been disappointed and keep coming back to Hotel de la Place du Louvre.

I found the hotel in the Top 10 book and have stayed once during a personal vacation and twice when visiting on business. I'm heading back to the hotel in a few weeks for a personal vacation and I'm excited they had openings that fit my schedule.

NOTE: Taxis don't always know where the hotel is so I use the Louvre or another close location for my drop off point.

The elevator is small (two people, two rolling bags) but it's part of the charm. Breakfast is good and the rooms always comfy. Keep an open mind and enjoy the neighborhood!

Room Tip: If you have a preference re: bathtub or shower, you'll need to request it. I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Place du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Address: 21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Place du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Place du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Place du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.