We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location at Value Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Place du Louvre to your Saves list
Hotel de la Place du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #431 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Superb Location at Value Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Across street from Louvre with two metro stops nearby. 5 minutes from Seine with Tower views. Walk everywhere
Excellent service from several gals and guys at front desk. Breakfast downstairs at extra cost or at nearby locations. Don't expect 4 star rooms but roomy. Why waste money on expensive hotels when you can stay here. Very comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    117
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
100
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this charming hotel and loved our stay. The staff was exceptionally helpful and accommodating; They spoke impeccable English and worked hard to make us feel welcome and to take care of our every need. The location was fabulous - just steps from the Louvre and the Siene River. The room was actually not as small as we expected, given the reviews - we felt it was adequate for our needs. We had a charming view of the Louvre and the cathedral across the street which marked every hour and quarter hour with lovely chimes. Our room had been recently updated; the bathroom was small but modern, spotless and shining. The tub, though narrow, was long and deep, providing a relaxing soak at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff, no frills, but great location for Louvre etc. Well priced and surprisingly quiet for its location. Hotel breakfast expensive but there are plenty of cafes nearby, so take a stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just came home from 6 days in Paris. All of the things other reviewers are saying are true about this hotel - room size small, location excellent, very quiet, beds very comfortable) I would like to add just a few things. My room - 503 - was kind of odd and wouldn't work for everyone. There were a dozen steps up to a loft area and bathroom - kind of treacherous narrow slats on the stairs. Inexplicably, the closet was up in the loft - as if you would make trips up and down to unpack and pack your suitcase. A weird configuration for a room. If you are up during the night, the climb to the bathroom is a little unwelcome. Also, this bathroom did not have a stand up shower and as an American, this was a little awkward. The person I traveled with had a different room on the same floor with a normal walk-in shower. Also, my room did not have a safe so if that is important to you, make sure you ask. I put my passport, etc. in my companion's safe while we were there. The internet connections from the rooms are very hit or miss. The staff was friendly, but when we were there they seemed to have some "fill in" type of staff and they couldn't always answer our questions (although they were nice). The elevator is REALLY TINY - only room for two average size people. My companion gets a little freaked in small elevators, so she ended up walking up every time. I also had to go up and down with our bags coming and going (there is no bellman). The hotel doesn't really offer any extras at all, so if you are looking for a more "hotel'y" kind of experience, this is not for you. If you just want a quiet clean place close to everything, than you will be satisfied. People mention a view of the courtyard - not sure where that would happen. I left my windows open every night, but my view was very limited as another building was right beside this one.

Room Tip: Make sure to clarify if you need a safe and also, ask if the room has a loft. That might not work f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I love this place, I always stay here when I am in Paris. The rooms are small but for a solo traveller, this is fine. The location is what I really appreciate, it is a quiet street, but being next to the Lourve makes it very convienant. With the little french door windows overlooking a courtyard, I dream that this is my own little Parisian apartment. The staff are helpful on all matters.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

It's amazing to find a hotel on a quiet street that sits practically next to the Louvre, but here it is. I stayed here two nights, March 22-23, in a larger-than-average European room with a large, sunny bathroom. I was able to get a decent rate on the hotel's website, but I wasn't traveling during a peak time either. Everything was clean, comfy, modern, and well-maintained. While the location is convenient for the Louvre and to shopping on the Rue de Rivoli, you will need to walk a bit further to get to interesting cafes and restaurants, but not more than 5-10 minutes. That said, I would stay here again. And it was great to be able to walk to Les Halles to catch to train to CDG.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent three happy days in Paris and loved staying at this hotel. It's a narrow building in a quiet street in a great area - right next to the Louvre and very close to the islands, the Marais and Les Halles. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and my double room for single occupancy was light, bright, cosy and welcoming. I saved money by choosing a room that looks out onto the rear of the hotel (a courtyard open to the sky) and it was just fine. Breakfast was beautifully presented with high quality croissants, bread, yoghurts, cereals and juices and extremely good coffee! I look forward to staying here again.
PS Tip - if there's a long queue at the Pyramid entrance to the Louvre, walk over to the Porte des Lions entrance (at the end of the part of the building nearest the river). There are usually no queues at all here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Place du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place du Louvre

Address: 21 rue des Pretres St Germain l'Auxerrois | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Place du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Place du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Place du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.