We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modern to your Saves list
Hotel Modern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121, rue du Chemin-Vert | 11 Arr., 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1,335 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paying for breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for the second time. everything went fine until I went to check out and was accused of not paying for a breakfast. I had taken two, on the Saturday and Tuesday and had paid in cash for both only to be accused of taking breakfast on Sunday and not paying for it. I made my protests and was grudgingly believed. It leaves a sour taste and one can only aime that some öffnet guest left my room number.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
11
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is an OK hotel ifyou take the low price into account. We paid 634 euros for 7 nights, which was a good compared to alternatives.

Average friendly staff. The room and bathroom was clean, nice and renovated. But there were also quite a few disadvantages.
- Inner walls were not sound proof at all, isolated like paper walls. We could also hear water that flowed from the bathroom above (loud), both shower and toilet. The windows stopped most of the noise from the street. Noisy with open windows, especially weekends.
- Only one wifi account pr room. One PC/mobile online simultaneously. There is also a maximum limit of total users at the hotel. 2-3 of 7 nights, we could hardly get online in the evening.
- Very small rooms. With 2 suitcases on the floor, there were almost space left. And we had a Superior (twin) room according to our order.
- No elevator, many floors (6) and narrow staircase. If you arrive late you, make sure you don't wake up all the guests with your suitcases.
- Deposit for remote control. Ten euros. The TV is very small.
- No equipment like glasses, fridge, wine opener. Only TV and hair dryer.

Other things: Near metro stop (Pere Lachaise), supermarkets (Lido and Monoprix), cafés, bars etc.

From CDG Airport, use RER B to Gare du Nord, and metro line 2 from Chapelle to Pere Lachaise. Less than 5 mins walk from metro to hotel.

I will recommend the hotel if you can live with the drawbacks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place if you just need somewhere to rest your head. Here is why: It's really really small. There is no air conditioning. Customer service? Not great. One wifi device per room. Very few towels. No elevator for your luggage (tons of stairs)

When we came July 2013 they were in the middle of renovating so maybe it will be a lot better when they finish.

Helpful tip:
If you are trying to get their from the airport, take the RER B and at Gare du nord change.
There are two metro stations by chermin vert. Take the 2 line which is blue to Pierre lachaise. I believe I'm spelling that right. It's closer to the Eastern end of chermin vert. It will save you time and luggage dragging.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great place in an easily accessible area made even better by the daytime concierge. A really helpful gentleman who was great with recommendations. We found it easy to get to as the walk from the station was straight forward.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Rooms were small, our double cost 104.90 and it's location was convenient for the Latin Quarter of Paris.
The hotel allowed us to store our bags during the day after we had checked out.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modern

Address: 121, rue du Chemin-Vert | 11 Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,335 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Modern 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.