We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Chance at Chatelet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris

Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris
1 pl du Chatelet | 1st, Paris, France (Les Halles)
01.40.28.28.40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bon Chance at Chatelet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was unable to get tickets for performances at the Paris Opera but easily got tickets at the Chatelet. The theatre program's musical theatre but also presents dance and music especially during spring and summer. Best seats probably front of circles of balcony. Front 7 rows a little flat and forward boxes would have restricted viewing. Plenty of variety of prices for tickets. At interval make sure you go out to one of the reception rooms or balcony with view over Paris.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Sunday in The Park with George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My first visit to this theatre, and to a Sondheim show. How lucky can you be? The evening was warm and the house full, but the theatre was cool and pleasant. Staff were extremely helpful and even offered assistance to a disabled person without being asked. How unlike theatres in the UK. There was not the mad interval rush for drinks, as in the UK and one suspects that the French have a much healthier relationship with alcohol than we do. The production was faultless, with Julian Ovenden making a very convincing Georges and Rebecca de Pont Davies stealing the show for me with the quality of her voice and acting. I look forward to going to other productions since values are high and the assembled cast faultless.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“finest musical in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went so many times to this theater to see musical, concert fo me and my wife. You have also some show for child from 6 to 14 called "concert tôt" at 11.00 am o "concert tea" at 5.00 pm. You will encounter great place, artists with fantastic lights and very best sound: the state of art.
When the show ends, we take some cold or hot drinks at "Zimmer" just on the left when you're going out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“West Side Story in Paris - Chatelet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Loved the show. The acting, singing and dancing were great. Its a great night out in Paris. The cast is young and full of life and energy. The main characters are wonderful and the ensemble puts on a good show with the traditional West Side Story choreography performed beautifully. The Theatre is an old style theatre and is stunning in itself to see. Just beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“West side story in Chatelet Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Theater is very nice & comfortable. Public is coming in-time so the show starts precisely intime.
West Side Story is a Broadway musical shown at te parisian stage. Young actors. Nothing special as the show. But as if there is nothing alse in Paris in the beginning of November as alternative so it was ok to spend one evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatelet - Theatre Musical de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.