We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savour the flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flavors of Paris Walking Tours

Flavors of Paris Walking Tours
Marche St. Germain, 75006 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)
877-812-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 335 Tours & Activities in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We will introduce you to a representative sampling of food shops in the charming quarter of St-Germain-des-Prés, with all the tastings included.The Flavors of Paris tour is a guided experience, in English, which lasts about 3 ½ wonderful hours, ranging from exquisite cheeses and charcuterie to heavenly chocolate.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Savour the flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Took the Flavors of Paris tour with Lisa last Friday and can recommend the tour to anyone interested in an entertaining and delicious taste of Paris. The tour focuses on the St Germaine des Pres area with a combination of its history and food highlights. We visited a boulangerie, patisserie, chocolatier and market, among other places. The tour moves at a comfortable pace and Lisa is a most agreeable guide. A lot of fun and a memorable feature of our visit to Paris.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    11
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of St. Germaine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Get to know Parisian culture by walking its streets and tasting its foods. "Meet me by the red door of the church around the corner from St. Germaine Metro," Lisa told us. It had been raining lightly, but the tour went on past some of Paris' finest shops and along historic boulevards, as Lisa introduced us to the historic left bank area just west of the Sorbonne. On rue de Seine Gerard Mulot’s Michelin starred patisserie is a feast for the eyes, nose and mouth. The staff welcomed us, a tribute to the rapport Lisa has established here and at other stores we visited. Lisa purchased a selection of macaroons and other memorable prized treats. Then a turn onto rue de l’Ancienne Comedie brought us to Paris’ oldest café, Procope where Voltaire, Napoleon, and Franklin drank, played chess and plotted the downfall of aristocracy. Through the alley you enter a hidden heaven: Un Dimanche a Paris, the most amazing chocolatier imaginable. Chocolate everything. Our two hour tour turned into a three hour feast that captured Paris in the 20s at Les Deux Magots and Brasserie Lipp and ended in the present with a thorough tour of the remarkable Marche St. Germaine, ending with wines and three flights of three cheeses.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much more than just a tasting tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

So much more than just a tasting tour. Our guide was extremely knowlagable, friendly and passionate about Paris. You don't just taste the food, you experience it. You learn how to tell the quality, the best way to enjoy it, how to pair the right wine, which famous writers and artists ate at which cafes, and soooo much more. This is my third time in Paris and I can't say I've enjoyed anything more. This tour is a must.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great tasting and guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our time with Lisa in the St. Germain des Pres area of Paris. We had samplings of pastries, baguettes, chocolate, olive oil tasting and even nut oil tasting! We finished up the tour in a market and tasted cheeses and wines. All of this as well as history of the area as we went along. Lisa is really sweet and did a wonderful job making us feel the wonders of Paris.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG What a Taste Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My sister and I were fortunate enough to take this tour while on our first trip to Paris. Our tour guide Lisa took us to charming little shops where we experienced flavours that were out of this world. There were melt in your mouth treats from the bakeries, hot chocolate so rich and thick I almost didn't come back from my minds' happy place, olive oils, cheeses and wine that topped off the tour. Lisa also entertained us with her stories of the area, along with historical information. If your highschool French is as rusty as mine, no need for concern. Lisa is able to speak with the vendors in their native tongue and provide any translation you need. This was an awesome tour - tres yummy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of Paris Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Flavors of Paris Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavors of Paris Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.