We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Balancoire

La Balancoire
6, rue Aristide Bruant, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
+33 1 42 23 70 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Description: Small bistro located in Montmartre, in the Abbesses / Lepic street area, we offer a seasonal cuisine. The presence of available candy jar and a swing will allow you to return to childhood for a moment.
Bromma, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

A nice restaurant in the Montmartre area. You got the feeling of enthusiasm you only get in rather newly established businesses. It's more heart and soul than focus on quality! That's nothing negative if you know it beforehand. The price performance was very good for Paris. However, the portions could have been a bit smaller and having a bit more quality going into it. But it's hard to complain given the price and nice atmosphere...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    102
    35
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked a reservation here for our first night in Paris based on TA reviews and were VERY, VERY impressed. It's a tiny little place in the Montmartre area (lower) on a quiet side street. It's very snug and cozy, but the staff was fun, helpful, and very attentive. I had the Onglet de Boeuf and it was tender, cooked perfectly and well accompanied by roasted potatoes. The steak tartare was excellent, too, Everyone in our party (of four) was happy with the meal. It was a great intro to Paris for our two friends that had never been to Europ before.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I love restaurants like this - it's what Paris is all about. Small (less than 30 covers), intimate, with an interesting menu & great wine list.

We all went for the 35 euro menu with included a mixed starter (3 of), choice of main dish & 3 different desserts.

Starters were a cold green bean velouté (hint of curry really enjoyed it!), a beautiful chunk of foie gras with dried figs & creamed goats cheese with beetroot - all really excellent.

Mains I chose the onglet (flank or skirt steak) which most English butchers use for stewing meat but cooked rare its ace. My wife had a Mexican chicken skewer with mixed salad - she enjoyed it but wished she'd had the onglet.

Desserts were a trio, water melon soup with mint, chocolate brownie tiramisu (ace) and a carambar moeullex (a bit like a sticky toffee pudding).

Great wine choices all served by the bottle, carafe or glass. Finished off with a very nice coffee and 3 complimentary flavoured vodkas. Very happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unpretentious - great value 4 money - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This small hotel - maybe 30-40 places - distinguishes itself by its unpretentiousness.
It is owner-run, staff is very friendly, service excellent.
The place is simple, no fancy deco, but cosy.
The menu is very creative and changes frequently, and there are about 5-6 choices of entrees, mains and desserts. The food itself is carefully chosen and creatively prepared. There are vegetarian, meet and fish dishes every night.
Despite the tiny kitchen there are no long waiting times- amazing.
The wine selection is reasonable - the main French regions are on the menu.
The price is really affordable - from 40-50 Euros incl. wine.
A definite recommendation. Obligatory to make a booking to get a table!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent and creative food for the price. Attentive service. Disclaimer: we are very picky about food, so I don't give 5 stars lightly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balancoire also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Balancoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Balancoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.